We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #5 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights on 27 & 28 July, 1014 in Executive Club room in the Towers. The stay was pleasant and comfortable except on the 28th. I visited the lounge in the evening. There one Mr. Clinton, who I think was the Captain was rather curt, or I can even say rude, saying that it is 8.30 pm and we are closed. It left a bad taste in the mouth after a pleasant stay. Not expected of a good hotel !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeshSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback carefully especially the areas you have highlighted for improvement. It has been shared with the concerned teams to ensure effective training at all levels.

Apart from five award-winning signature restaurants we also offer the internationally acclaimed Kaya Kalp - The Spa and we do hope that you had the opportunity to experience the same during your stay.

Your patronage is highly valued and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,212
    346
    79
    33
    33
See reviews for
246
138
147
1,039
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at this property in the year 2011 while conducting an event for my office. The property is beautifully maintained and service is commendable. I totally loved their rooms since I felt the sleep quality was great. We used to be working on field getting event setup ready, hence exhausted and the room was a heaven to return to. There were these sleep inducing aroma oils which act like magic.The business rooms of the hotel are well equipped and sound proof allowing no disturbance during meeting. Our event was held at the lawns and the setting was perfect. The only issue we had was mosquitoes which the hotel took care of.
The food at the hotel was outstanding. You must try the rosgullas made of jaggery.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your comfortable stay at ITC Sonar. Uniquely created as a Luxury Business Resort, ITC Sonar relaxes at the end of a long tiring day specially our in-room WelcomSlumber program which aids our guests for better Sleep.

We hope you had occasion to enjoy the rejuvenating treatments offered at Kaya Kalp – The Spa, influenced by local history and culture pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal through its unique landscaping.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A Nice hotel and staying here on vacationing in Kolkata for last few years with my family.Everything is very fine specially staffs of EDEN PAVILLION restaurant .Everything and everyone here is Nice except the reservation and reception desk .

Room Tip: Rooms with lili-pond view are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPC555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

While I have noted your compliments, I have also noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement.

We have already addressed most of these issues and through our ongoing learning and training initiatives, have refocused on the same immediately.

Your patronage is deeply valued and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

ITC Sonar is always a great and memorable experience. Right from the Ambiance, Decor, Space, Staff, Quality of Service, rooms and Food,,, everything is great and perfect. They do not leave anything to ask for. Staff which, according to me the greatest differentiator, is always available to help you and ...they always help you better than expected.

The variety and quality of food in ITC is exceptional and very good across all the hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms with Windows Facing the Central Pond of the hotel are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunilme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. We deeply appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had... a great experience during my stay in ITC Sonar in Feb... first of all close to my needs....again will rate this hotel high....as all standards meet upto my own personal experience... spa was amazing...the best ever spa had in my life after Ananda in Rishikesh....Meals were simply awesome.........Toileiteries...were amazing....me now fan of this hotel... will return back soon.....Cheers :)

Room Tip: Highly recommended....specially Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravinetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have noted your appreciation on our Kaya Kalp-The Spa

It is our endeavour to offer quality services and recommendation such as yours motivates us to excel further.

We look forward to welcome you back and hope ITC Sonar remains your preferred destination in Kolkata.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014. I have really been bowled over by the very personalised attention that the hotel has rendered to me. It starts with the front office staff and stays with you throughout your stay. The smiles that you come across from the ever friendly staff do not smack of artificiality. The smiles are genuine and full of warmth and care. The food and the Happy Hours experience is indeed very very special. And I am a teetotaller. And I cannot but praise housekeeping. The rooms and every nook and corner is spic and span. The housekeeping staff attends to all your possible needs. I suffer from a low back pain arising out of an accident. Therefore, I need a hard bed which this hotel marvels in and I always get a refreshing night sleep. The General Manager and his team deserves all the accolades for churning out such wonderful experience to a business traveller like myself.

Prosenjit Sarkar

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishabhritam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay at ITC Sonar.

We deeply appreciated your recommendation on the hotel, food, staff and our services.

Look forward to your future visits

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent hotel with lovely fish ponds (& you can feed the fish!). They place scented sticks along the doors etc which help create a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are very good and the staff excellent and really helpful, no task is too small.

This can be a busy hotel with weddings, fashion shows and conferences taking place but nothing to detract from a good stay - in fact it's nice to see. There's not very much around to walk to but there are several large malls a car ride away as is Kolkata (worth a visit to Mother Theresa's house and the kali temple).

The business lounge isn't particularly well organised especially when the main manager isn't there, lack of staff, snacks, service is quite frustrating at times. So this could better. There is a good selection of different foods available for breakfast in one of the restaurants.

There are about 5 restaurants within he hotel and one of our favourites is Pan Asia, which serves different Cuisines (eg Chinese, Thai, Mongolian, Asian, Japanese etc). There is also a nice spa and a gym section (although we didn't visit the gym).

I can't remember all the staffs names but they are all special and so helpful (even trying to help me to learn Hindi!). Special mentions go to the guest relations girls who made my stay so welcoming and taught me how to drape my saries (Sonia, Kunju, Namita, Mary). Also thank you to the Pan Asia manager (at that time) Anurud - such a lovely young man.

We always prefer to stay at this hotel when in Kolkata, and look forward to our next visit :-)

Room Tip: Don't have a room with a connecting door as you can hear people next door (and if there are chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay at the hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Being “rooted to the soil”, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal through its unique landscapes and is a quintessential Baganbari (farmhouses owned by Zamindars or feudal landowners of yore).

Hope ITC Sonar remains your preferred destination in all your future visits.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#10 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing