We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent!”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #3 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here 1 night from 24th to 25th July for official work. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in Kolkata. As the property is from ITC, so you can expect the best services always.
The room I stayed was very cozy and I found every amenities I needed for 1 night stay.
Overall, it is a superb hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MountainLover365days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your responses with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note your experience and are happy to learn that you had a memorable time at ITC Sonar, Kolkata.

Your recommendation is deeply valued and we look forward to welcoming you back to create many more great memories together.

Warmest regards
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,340)
There are newer reviews for ITC Sonar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

After having seen great reviews of the property on Trip Advisor, decided to stay here for a 3 nights. And I must say - the property is fabulous and service is outstanding !! Believe me, you have to stay here to experience it. Rooms are spic and span ! Every single staff member greets you with a warm smile. Service at all their restaurants is amazing ! And the food...trust me its to die for !! With various options like Dum Pukht, Peshawari and Pan Asian (my favourite), one gets to try out several options. The breakfast has a huge spread and you are literally pampered with world-class hospitality. Its one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at ! Hats-off to the entire team !

A special thanks to Mr Tumasp, who helped us a lot during our stay and was very warm and courteous. At the restaurant, Irfan was very efficient, polite and helpful. Also thanks to Debayan and Santunu for their prompt service.

Simply loved the stay and can't wait to get back there !

Room Tip: The best room category is undoubtedly ITC-One ! Its super luxurious !
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ashm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

We appreciate your recommendation on our rooms, cuisines and services and hope to welcome you back in your future visits.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I am an Airline Cockpit Crew & I stay in this hotel quite often & every time I stay here its a different experience. Right from the property , the rooms , the gym & the pool and last but not the least the warm & friendly people in the restaurant EDEN PAVILLION. A special mention goes to Chef Varun Kinger , Chef Shubhankar and Irfan who go out of their way to make your visit complete and far exceed your expectations. The service of the staff in every department also is commendable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank punja_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay at ITC Sonar and thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor.

Your kind recommendation on our services, rooms, gymnasium, pool, food & beverage and staff are deeply appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you in your future visits.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Hotel is beautiful, it has amazing infrastructure, excellent man made lake and good choice of restaurants. It was a business trip and hotel served us what we wanted.

What was lacking is cleanliness inside the room. Accidentally I rubbed my hand on the granite and realized that it had a layer of dust on it, so much that I had to wash my hands.

The food was good, however don't expect to get what you order, they manage to serve exactly what you never ordered. if you want what you order, you need to be precise and repeat the order more then once.

Over all a good experience and I would not mind staying there again. Especially because its available at half the price of Hayatt.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room, as the other rooms are not renovated as yet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akhilbhansali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay.

We have noted your comment with great concern, and regret your experience. We assure you that such anomalies would not be repeated.

We appreciate your recommendation on our food and beverage, and the natural beauty of the Business Resort, ITC Sonar.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights on 27 & 28 July, 1014 in Executive Club room in the Towers. The stay was pleasant and comfortable except on the 28th. I visited the lounge in the evening. There one Mr. Clinton, who I think was the Captain was rather curt, or I can even say rude, saying that it is 8.30 pm and we are closed. It left a bad taste in the mouth after a pleasant stay. Not expected of a good hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SomeshSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback carefully especially the areas you have highlighted for improvement. It has been shared with the concerned teams to ensure effective training at all levels.

Apart from five award-winning signature restaurants we also offer the internationally acclaimed Kaya Kalp - The Spa and we do hope that you had the opportunity to experience the same during your stay.

Your patronage is highly valued and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at this property in the year 2011 while conducting an event for my office. The property is beautifully maintained and service is commendable. I totally loved their rooms since I felt the sleep quality was great. We used to be working on field getting event setup ready, hence exhausted and the room was a heaven to return to. There were these sleep inducing aroma oils which act like magic.The business rooms of the hotel are well equipped and sound proof allowing no disturbance during meeting. Our event was held at the lawns and the setting was perfect. The only issue we had was mosquitoes which the hotel took care of.
The food at the hotel was outstanding. You must try the rosgullas made of jaggery.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SaaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your comfortable stay at ITC Sonar. Uniquely created as a Luxury Business Resort, ITC Sonar relaxes at the end of a long tiring day specially our in-room WelcomSlumber program which aids our guests for better Sleep.

We hope you had occasion to enjoy the rejuvenating treatments offered at Kaya Kalp – The Spa, influenced by local history and culture pays tribute to the beauty of Bengal through its unique landscaping.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A Nice hotel and staying here on vacationing in Kolkata for last few years with my family.Everything is very fine specially staffs of EDEN PAVILLION restaurant .Everything and everyone here is Nice except the reservation and reception desk .

Room Tip: Rooms with lili-pond view are nice
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPC555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

While I have noted your compliments, I have also noted with great concern the areas you have highlighted for improvement.

We have already addressed most of these issues and through our ongoing learning and training initiatives, have refocused on the same immediately.

Your patronage is deeply valued and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,102 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,912 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
448 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,302 reviews
6.4 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#9 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £79 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing