We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #4 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I love staying in this hotel. The ambience is wonderful, the food is awesome and excellent customer service. I particularly liked the service at the breakfast Buffett. The choice of cuisine available is great and room service is quite fast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hariharankrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you an enjoyable stay with us. We are truly motivated to ensure we live up to your expectations always.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    366
    85
    35
    34
See reviews for
309
161
177
1,226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Pros
1. Excellent ambience
2. Outstanding service
3. The ground floor is surrounded by a lily pond, which gives a cooling effect from the sultry heat
3. Close to Science City if you are going for a seminar (walking distance, but make sure the subway is open since it seems quite dangerous to cross the busy main road)
4. Good variety in the breakfast buffet at the Eden Pavilion restaurant. Maitre d' is quick and efficient
5. Try their car service for sightseeing.
6. Good room service
7. 45 mins drive to the airport
8. Separate floor for lady travellers, with lady security guards
9. Excellent housekeeping

Cons:
Far away from the city centre and all the shopping/touristy spots

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view. For lady travellers, ask for a non smoking room on the Eva floor ie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poisonnpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your responses on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note your experience and are happy to learn that you had a memorable time at ITC Sonar, Kolkata.
Your recommendation is deeply valued and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I had a convention to attend at the ITC and was offered few options to stay in Calcutta by the organizers but I chose the ITC since I had seen positive reviews and some great pictures on the TripAdvisor site. And I was not disappointed at all. They have the most wonderful staff that go out of their way to assist you in every way. The concierge is very knowledgeable about every nook and corner of the city and do take their advise before heading out. The food options are terrific and they have almost 6 restaurants. The gym and spa is best in its class. The entire feel of the hotel is luxury. Its just that the exterior of the hotel needs a coat of fresh paint and polish and the access road needs to be spruced up with trees and flowers as lot of digging work at the entrance is a bit of let down. The hotel is at least 5- 6 km away from any point of interest and getting local cabs is a bit of a challenge so make sure you call the mega radio cab who need 1 hours notice and those are air conditioned,comfortable and drivers knowledgeable unlike local taxis. The hotel taxis are very expensive so avoid. We were first given room on the first floor and though rooms are all nice in terms of size there were lots of smaller issues like cleaning, bathroom lock not functioning and no jet spray in toilet so we were then shifted to the 4th floor and they seem to be the new refurbished rooms and we did not have any complaints. The hotel should ensure that all rooms are same in terms of quality. But otherwise we had a wonderful stay and will certainly stay again the next time we visit the city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ajay_israni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay at the hotel.

Being rooted to the soil, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty and the golden era of Bengal.
ITC Sonar name has been synonymous with good eating in all the years that it has been in operation. It offers 6 internationally acclaimed brands and cuisine

Kindly note that refurbishment of the hotel is carried out in a phased manner to keep the property contemporary.

We have arranged for local meter cabs to be parked outside the hotel, the same is subject to availability; in addition we have a fleet of cars offered by our Travel Desk, which have several packages of great value.

We look forward to welcome you back and hope you would visit us soon.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel whenever I'm visiting Kolkata on work.

This is a well furnished and well managed Itc property. The hotel has all the standard amenities of a luxury 5 star hotel and more. The enthusiastic staff add warmth to your stay., the staff have always ensured that we get a homely atmosphere. The restaurants offer a variety of mouth watering cuisine., Watch out, you may end up on a binge spree ;)

The hotel is well recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horizonseaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay at the hotel.

Being rooted to the soil, ITC Sonar pays tribute to the beauty and the golden era of Bengal.
We look forward to welcome you back and hope you would visit us soon.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The ITC Sonar remains my most favourite Hotel in India. Every stay here is a pleasurable experience. Not only are the facilities the most elegant in the city, the hospitality is awesome and in the best Indian tradition...

ITC Properties stand out for their culinary excellence and the Sonar probably outshines them all. This time we had the traditional Smoked Hilsa with a authentic Bengali flavour, a creation of Chef Bidhu Bhusan Das, followed by a mouth-watering Salmon Steak which was quite outstanding.

To work out the calories the Hotel has a very well equipped Gym and Trainer Chetan is probably the best in the business!

A memorable stay, once again....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your comment on our Food & Beverage. ITC Sonar name has been synonymous with good eating in all the years that it has been in operation. It offers internationally acclaimed brands and cuisine - an array of award-winning culinary experiences range from the northwest frontier to traditional Indian delicacies, continental grills, to flavours of East Asia and a Gourmet Shop.

We hope you plan to visit Kolkata again and I look forward to welcoming you back at ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Everytime I visit Kolkata I stay at Sonar as the staff make you feel privileged. Itc one rooms overlooking the pond are wonderful. Never miss breakfast here not just because food is great but every member of staff there go out of the way to please; Chef Subhankar needs special mention. Club hours in the evening is relaxing and Clinton certainly needs special mention. By the way if ordering dinner in the room try the Welcom meal - it's like having dinne at home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalgudiRaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We deeply appreciate your recommendation and thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Celebrating the local region through traditions blended with modern day comforts, ITC Sonar is a LEED Platinum rated hotel. It is also the first hotel in the World to be registered by the UN body on Climate Change for carbon emission reduction. This is reflected in the layout of the Hotel, with Responsible Luxury at its core. Along with our six internationally acclaimed Food & Beverage outlets and award winning Kaya Kalp - The Spa, we offer a resort experience in the middle of the city.

We thank you for your comment on our Breakfast offering which is one of the most extensive offering in the city and Luxury Hours at our exclusive Darjeeling Lounge.

Hope that you had opportunity to also experience our other celebrated restaurants and rejuvenating treatments at our award-winning Kaya Kalp-The Spa.

Your patronage is deeply valued and I look forward to welcome you back at ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Kolkata was a place I was wanting to visit for a long time !
ITC Sonar was highly recommended to us by friends so we combined the two. We reached Kolkata on a rainy day and drove to the Hotel. The approach or Hotel site was not very attractive but when we stepped into the Hotel it was a door to another world which was LUXURIOUS , AESTHETIC AND BEAUTIFUL.
The Water bodies teeming with Lotus and fish , and layout give a sense of peace and serenity .
We stayed at the Towers where the staff is all out to pamper you .
The evening Cocktail hours at the Lounge were very interesting
Do try out the Gym and Pool . Staff is courteous all over and ever ready to help . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay !

Room Tip: Tower rooms facing the water body have beautiful view . I think there is construction going on outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeeta64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor and we are delighted to note that you had a comfortable stay at the hotel. Acclaimed as a luxury business resort, ITC Sonar captures the essence of Kolkata through its greenery and lily laden water garden.

Our internationally acclaimed signature restaurants and Kaya Kalp, our award winning Spa are true to the essence of Bengal while offering a truly international experience. We hope you will return to ITC Sonar soon.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,053 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#7 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,265 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Starwood APAC and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing