We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #2 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Luxurious stay. Great food choices available... Good recreational facilities. The rooms are spacious and the hotel interiors are just awesome. Overall, one will have a satisfying experience. The response time of service staff can be improved.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank kulkarniaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,682 - 2,688 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2009

ITC Sonar is next to none. The best in the class & definate Gem of Kolkata. Travelling Kolkata is in-complete for an outsider if he/ she hasnt stayed in ITC Sonar....

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayantkhamesra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed here for 5 days. the best thing was the food, being vegetarians we found the food amazing.
The staff of the restaurants were very courteous and charming, ( exceptions excluded). this is the only thing that lets me write this as i want to thank their effort for our stay.
The rest is, in one word stiff, the reception desk people never even smiled. There is a distinct feeling that you ( esp an Indian) is looked down upon here.
You are given one security card, if you take out and go your spouse will have no electricity. if you don't the unmanned security doors don,t let you in. So no one is bothered about it.You will be subjected to body check even if you go out for a smoke and return. And this can be irritating if you plan to stay here for a few days.
there is a coffee percolator in the room, you can at the most make one coffee per day. And this is given as a luxury item in their hotel advertisement " for the discerning traveller"
Why only tissue papers in the toilet? i am sure no one discusses this? But then how many Indians use exclusively tissue papers in their homes? . Remember no self respecting Westerner ever mimics other peoples culture. Look at hotel rooms even in Dubai.
You can't smoke anywhere in the hotel, oh yes there is a cubby hole for that i forgot.
Overall you get the feeling that the staff are under pressure here, behave like robots, perfect so as to put their guests ill at ease. But then we Indians like humans I presume still.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karnalakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Wonderful property. It was a pleasure staying there. Rates are premium but at par with other 5star hotels. The glass bathroom in the room was a great extension to the room. Overall, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GarfieldMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

- Excellent location.
- Very close to the airport.
- Lovely outdoor sitting areas with the artificial pond created

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scoutfinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I was surprised to read the negative reviews about ITC Sonar as my experience with this hotel (I've stayed a number of times) has been consistently great!
The service is absolutely fab & very warm. The food here is pretty good, the breakfast especially is awesome! The standards of hygiene in the rooms is really nice.
Probably the only dampner is the in-house Pub- Dublin which doesn't stand a patch against the popular ones in the city.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank siddharth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

The Hotel has a distinctive design. Its got a central garden and pool, and has low rise rooms and a tower floor. The swimming pool is a beutiful open air pool. The rooms are large, and so are the bathrooms, but in comparision to other ITC Hotels the maintenance is a tad lower. The expanse of the hotel completely calms the mind after a long day at work. Like all other ITC Hotels the food at the restaurant is distinct and service impeccable

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Himavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,344 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,264 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,384 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,994 reviews
6.3 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Address: 1 Jbs Haldane Avenue, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700046, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £110 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing