We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Grand
Nearby Hotels
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Bengal Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$183
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peerless Inn(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Kolkata Ballygunge(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sapphire Suites(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (2,325)
Filter reviews
2,325 results
Traveller rating
1,860
364
77
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,860
364
77
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantan oasisla terrasseold world charmthe heart of the citybusy cityindian museumthe general managerpool sidein room diningvictoria memorialcoffee shopvisit kolkatahousekeeping stafffront officebaanmarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,678 - 1,683 of 2,325 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The Grand Dame of Kolkata, that was build over 120 years ago, has still nice touch. I spend one week there when I had my business trip to Kalkuta. The rooms were huge and furnished according to colonial style: dark wood and heavy furniture. I liked the atmosphere, but I would hope to see some carefully planned improvements and renovations so that it would be more suitable for modern travelers without loosing the old world charm. The service was excellent, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Your kind words of appreciation for the team, services and facilities of the go a long way in encouraging us to achieve higher standards of excellence.

I thank you for your suggestion of further modernizing the facilities of the hotel to better suit a modern day traveller. We assure you that we continuously make efforts to upgrade the facilities and services to be in line with the best luxury hotels globally.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

It goes without saying that the Oberoi Grand has all the facilities that you would expect from a five star hotel but what made our stay so memorable was the quality of service. The staff were very good at their job all the time. They addressed us by our name, with always just the right level of friendliness and respect. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff have clearly been trained very well and the standards they set themselves are the highest. The standard of service matches and beats five star hotels the world over. The location is right in the centre of Kolkata, just a ten minute walk to Eden Gardens and BBD Bagh and next door to New Market.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we could be of assistance to make your stay comfortable. The Oberoi Grand is centrally located with famous shopping area New Market, sightseeing locations like the Victoria Memorial, Indian museum and monumental cricket stadium Eden Gardens, all being at a close distance from the hotel.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

At least my fifth visit to The Grand. And it is Grand in every way. Room, food, service, all really grand.

Calcutta is a challenging city and staying at the Grand is a real oasis. I fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinFitzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoy your stays with us and the facilities offered in the room and at the restaurants meet and exceed your expectations on your regular visits and stays at the hotel.

The hotel offers a calm oasis from the chaos of a bustling city of modern day Kolkata.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

A superb hotel with care for details, lots of taste, and excellent service. What else to say for a perfect establishment in the middle of Kolkata. It certainly provides a sense of grandeur, and it is a frst class retreat from the buzz of the city. Has a siperb garden and pool, and all sort of services. Located two blocks away from the museum.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room that views the garden/pool, as looking outside should be pretty noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Arriving from the airport to the hotel proved stressful; given the way road conditions are in India. We passed a myriad of different sights along the way, which makes it an interesting ride.
Once arrived and into the gates of the Oberoi Grand, all senses changed. It was like stepping back into times and the hotel grounds somehow omitted a sense of calm and peacefulness.

All staff were way way too polite, with each and every staff member greeting you with smiles.

Hotel ground was nicely kept and everything was prim and proper. Although there is a bustling market street just right outside the hotel gate and with a busy road to add, it was surprisingly calm and quiet within the hotel.

The room was woody styled, and gave a antique feeling to it. The bed was standard sized with a choice of comfy pillows to select. I had a very very comfortable sleep. Also, there was a good choice of cable TV channels to select from.

I had a try at the spa. It was costly comparing against Indian price standards and conversion, however, it definitely worked wonders on me, putting me into a deep slumbering sleep.

Overall, this hotel has met my and possibly every traveler's needs of providing good service and accommodation after a hard day work of exploring the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlvinTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words of appreciation for the team go a long way in encouraging them.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return visit to Kolkata.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews