We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still lacks that charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Ranked #11 of 235 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is built amazingly, the staff is also nice but considering tge fact that u pay through ur nose to get a room
Well that sounds lil off the track, it lacks that grand feeling
Bt I am sure they will improve with time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Peeyush26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Peeyush26,

Greeting of the day from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. Hope you had a pleasant stay during your recent visit. We respect your concern. We would request you to visit the offer section of our brand website for various offers. Hope next time you don't face any challenges in booking your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you to the hotel during your next visit to the city.

With best regards,
Management team,
Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is my favourite hotel in Kolkata. I booked into a club room as usual and was put in a corner room (619) which was up to the usual high standards apart from the fact that the laminate flooring seemed to be coming off the floor and bounced disconcertingly when you walked on it. In addition the wall against the window looked as if somebody had forgotten to paint it. These would be insignificant except for the fact that the Hyatt's standards are usually so high that these decorative slips were an unusual omission. The food was good as usual and the Club Lounge is a definite bonus. All in all a good stay but I hope the rooms are back up to scratch for next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pommybattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear pommybattler,

Greetings of the day from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing the experience regarding your stay with us recently. It gives us immense happiness to know that Hyatt Regency Kolkata is your favorite hotel in Kolkata. Thank you for your appreciation about the food and the club lounge. We are sorry to hear that you found some issues with flooring and the paint on the wall. Your feedback is deeply valued and communicated to the respective team to look after. Thank you for choosing us and look forward to welcome you to the hotel during your next visit to the "City of Joy"

With best regards,
Management team.
Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was told many good things for their buffet, specifically invited few of my friends for Buffet Lunch at Hyatt, Kolkata, we had gone with a reservation but same was denied on arrival but we were seated within 10 minutes, buffet food looked lousy but options were plenty, had many live counters but they are un manned, we had to literally draw their attention towards that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dpankaj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear dpankaj20,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Thank you for your feedback regarding dine in at our restaurant. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. You feedback is deeply valued and shared with respective team to improve guest service. We are looking forward to welcome you again to our hotel.

With best regards,
Management team,
Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Hyatt as a big brand and the amount they charge, it is obvious that expectation would be high but sad service was week this time with negative attitude, room was average and room amenities were below average, linen had marks and the room had damp smell all over.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Nanie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Nanie1963,

Greetings of the day from Hyatt Regency Kolkata!

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not so pleasant and comfortable. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. Your feedback is deeply valued and shared with other team leader to improve service. We hope to provide you improved service during your next visit. Looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to the city.

With best regards,
Management team,
Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in several 5 star hotels in India and always thought the star system must be different to the one used in Europe. This is the first truly five star place I've experienced in India.

The service is impeccable, from the orientation to your room (there is a travel adapter in the third drawer of the desk, for example), to the waiting and concierge staff.

I didn't feel staff lingering to get tips, as in other hotels but everyone cared and could not have been more helpful.

The Indian restaurant was fabulous as were cocktails and canapes in the lounge which were part of the package we got.

This is my place of choice in Kolkata and India.

Well done guys, keep it up. What a refreshing change.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank S-ABSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear S-ABSussex ,

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay recently. We are please to know that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay at Hyatt Regency Kolkata. Thank you very much for your appreciation about the hotel and the services. We hope that Hyatt Regency Kolkata will remain your preferred address during all your future visits to the city. We are looking forward to welcome you to the hotel during your next visit to the "City of Joy"

With best regards,
Management team,
Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Its a nice Business Hotel with great rooms (especially the King Size rooms) with complimentary Internet and Breakfast. I have always felt Hyatt should have better spread in their Breakfast buffet though it isnt bad either. Rooms are rather smaller compared to the Marriot's, Leela's, Hilton's, Taj's and Shanngrila's. Having said all that it is still a superb hotel

Room Tip: Take the King Size rooms which are more roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ajay0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Ajay0680,

Greetings of the day from Hyatt Regency Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us in July. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your appreciation about the hotel. Regarding the room size, our standard rooms measure 36 sq-mt in area which is biggest in the city in this category. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you as our guest and looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to the city.

With best regards,
Management team,
Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in hyatt kolkata in december 2013. A perfect for everything, i should say. The staff was friendly. The restaurent and waterside cafe were good places for mouthwatering meals. The ballroom was very well decorated for offficial gatherings. The area around the pool was really a happening place to relax. The rooms were good especially bathroom and interiors.The best part really is the reception area..ohh..mesmering.. gives you the feel of a luxurious 5 star. Hope to stay again..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rockey234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattRegency_K0lkata, Manager at Hyatt Regency Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear rockey234 ,

Greetings of the day from Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Thank you for taking some time to review us on Tripadvisor. It gives us immense pleasure to know that your stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. Thank you for your appreciation about the food and other services at the hotel. We hope that Hyatt Regency Kolkata will remain as your favorite address during all your future visits to the "City of Joy". Looking forward to welcome you again to the hotel during your next visit to the city.

With best regards,
Management team,
Hyatt Regency Kolkata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,183 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,974 reviews
1.9 mi away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#3 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,946 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#4 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
553 reviews
4.6 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 235 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kolkata

Address: Ja - 1 Sector Iii | Salt Lake City, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#7 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £87 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Kolkata is a luxury business hotel in Kolkata (or “Calcutta”), India. Being the first five-star hotel in Salt Lake City, it is also acclaimed as one of Kolkata’s favourites. The hotel creates the feel of a private cocoon away from the complexities of modern living without giving up any of its luxuries. Saddled between Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Airport and Howrah Railway Station which lie just 11 km (7 miles) to either side, Hyatt Regency Kolkata enjoys a prime location near the city’s IT hub and is a preferred business destination of East India. A tranquil retreat amid spectacular landscaped gardens, featuring 233 luxury guest rooms and suites, the hotel allows guests to relax and rejuvenate while staying in Kolkata. Apart from all rooms having access to Wi-Fi Internet, guests on the Regency Club Floor enjoy access to the luxurious Regency Club Lounge and evening cocktail hours. Specialty restaurants like Guchhi, La Cucina,and the 24-hour Waterside Café offer a selection of the finest cuisines. Sink into a range of premium spirits and cocktails at The Bar or at Poolside. Pamper yourself at the holistic spa – Club Prana – featuring a 24-hour gymnasium, squash and tennis courts and a landscaped pool.Being one of the most popular business hotels in the city, Hyatt Regency Kolkata provides extensive banqueting facilities for meetings, incentives, conferences, exhibitions and weddings. The hotel also offers great value meeting packages and personalized catering services.This Kolkata hotel has several interesting tourist attractions nearby. The Science City, an impressive science museum complex, is only 4 km (2.5 miles) away. Nicco Park, an open-air amusement park with an attached water theme park, is also nearby. The Missionaries of Charities is one of the prominent sites for all who visit this cultural capital. Hence, while staying at Hyatt Regency Kolkata one can enjoy many of on-site and off-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hyatt Regency Hotel Kolkata
Kolkata Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing