We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British hotel in Kolkata!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Ranked #24 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is run by a British family who never went back to England after india's independence!so breakfast here is da best in India-ham,bacon,egg n bread!room is so cozy n service is impeccable!bar,night club n movie hall is around da corner!many Chinese,Indian n continental restaurant r aplenty near da hotel!new market is not far away where u can do shopping for Kashmir carpet n pashmina stole at Kashmir corner!many handicraft n handloom shop also u'll find there!Astor hospitality is awesome u'll get 5 star treatment at 3 star price!if u wanna try exotic food then go to Nagaland house for dinner which is just da adjacent building!dinner is damn cheap-cost u only 1dollar-rice n meat curry(pork,beef n chicken)!their meat curry has no spice n oil- just boil n flavour with exotic herb!really a comfort food to wash down with rice beer(u find there only)!the best dish is smoked pork fry n soup with dollops of chilly sauce!beware of this chilly sauce-it's really like a dynamite-naga chilly is da hottest chilly in da world!it grows abudantly at north East Indian state like Assam,Nagaland n Manipur!bon appetit!!

Room Tip: Best room is the front one of da bldg!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibotombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudip M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015

First of all , let me thank you for taking out time to review us and at the same time be a window for the travelers from the North East to come to know about our hotel .At the same time we had all come to know quite a few things about North East India from your comments.It is not run by a British family but a modern hotel run by professional staff .Our convenient location at the heart of the city makes us an ideal choice among travelers .It is a heritage hotel with a famous multi-cuisine restaurant Kebab-e-que , which serves the best mouth watering kebabs in the city , apart from various inclusions from the Oriental and Continental side in its menu .We also cater to 24 hours room service and also house Plush -Lounge & Bar and Cheers , another cosy bar in our property .

Hope to see you again with us in the near future .

Sudip Kumar Maity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

enjoyed my stay in the hotel. Located in the heart of the city is a great place be. Food was excellent and service was prompt even at odd hours of the night. Overall a fine experience and a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trimax007reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudip M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

On behalf of The Astor , I would like to Thank You for your kind words .Your special appreciation for the Food and Service had been conveyed to the Team and they feel great and excited about it .We look forward to welcome you once again at The Astor -Kolkata .

Sudip Kumar Maity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It is an amazing property, staff know their duty, they are helpful and kind. It is world in its own. One of the best discs in town. Nice food and amazing room. Got more than what i expected and hence rate it as very Good

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudip M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

At the outset , let me thank you for appreciating our services .It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us and we are more than happy to know that you had a great time and we could live up to your expectation , be it room or food or service or a scintillating nightlife .Hoping to see you back with us soon .

Sudip Kumar Maity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Excellent property strategically located in the heart of the city. Rooms neat, clean and spacious. Best food in town, they serve mind blowing kebabs at their restaurant. Staff very courteous and always wear a smile on their face. Has a happening night club for the young crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sourav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sourav M, Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the food & services / quality of room were up to your expectations. It is comments and constructive feedbacks such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

With immense pleasure we would like to inform you that we have recently undergone renovation for our entire Room and Banquet inventory. We have been fully operational since last autumn-winter. The rooms are modern with a contemporary feel and have been beautifully done up keeping the aesthetics in mind catering to all kinds or travelers.

The Astor, Kolkata, located in the heart of the city, is always a preferred choice for business and leisure travelers around the world. Housed in a century-old building, The Astor is synonymous with good living, exceptional hospitality, unforgettable cuisine and efficient, clockwork service. The hotel has a rich selection of restaurants to choose from including the most popular bar in Kolkata, Plush Lounge & Bar apart from the evergreen Kebab-e-Que, which has just completed 30 years of operation.

Thank you for making us your hospitality partner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sourav Mitra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

An EXCELLENT PROPERTY to stay, AS it also resembles as an HERITAGE PROPERTY restaurant named KEBAB E QUE serves THE FINEST KEBABS.....
Also is situated at a very suitable location in the HEART OF THE CITY.
Above all it offers good service, ambiance and everything.

Room Tip: Stay in Suits which have been newly rebuilt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modigroups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sourav M, Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the food & services / quality of room were up to your expectations. It is comments and constructive feedbacks such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

The Astor, Kolkata, located in the heart of the city, is always a preferred choice for business and leisure travelers around the world and your acknowledgement of the same pleases us.
Housed in a century-old building, The Astor is synonymous with good living, exceptional hospitality, unforgettable cuisine and efficient, clockwork service. The hotel has a rich selection of restaurants to choose from including the most popular bar in Kolkata, Plush Lounge & Bar apart from the evergreen Kebab-e-Que, which has just completed 30 years of operation.

Thank you for making us your hospitality partner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sourav Mitra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

An excellent place to wine and dine.....one of the finest kebab makers and live up to the expectation since many years of its fame. Kebab e que is the place to dine with your family for good mughal / indian dishes. Plush is the night-out place for young and happening...it is the best place to do sweet-nothings with your girl-friend.....and CHEERS is a fantastic place (very small though) but gives you a very quick and warm service and above all correct bills and not like the bars/pubs in Park Street which makes mistakes in their bills willingly or unwillingly. I have been a sort of regular to the place since 1996 yet it is like my concubine;)-ever refreshing ever charming and everlasting....CHEERS !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narayangautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sourav M, Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to read that you had a pleasant dining experience with us. We are indeed delighted to know that the quality of food has lived up to your expectations with time. It is comments and constructive feedbacks such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Housed in a century-old building, The Astor is synonymous with good living, exceptional hospitality, unforgettable cuisine and efficient, clockwork service. The hotel has a rich selection of restaurants to choose from including the most popular bar in Kolkata, Plush Lounge & Bar apart from the evergreen Kebab-e-Que, which has just completed 30 years of operation.

Thank you for making us your hospitality / dining partner. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sourav Mitra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

me & my family went to dine at Kebab e Que restaurant with the hope of having a nice time, but everything turned out bad there, starting from entry of car to having food. service, food , ambiance, everything was nowhere pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ASHOK927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sourav M, Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Guest,

We regret to note your grievances. Please accept our apologies for the shortfall in service you received during your stay with us.

Your feedback has been important and has certainly helped us gauge areas where we could improve our services and please be assured all necessary have been taken so that every guest leaves with a pleasant experience and a smile on their face, hoping to come back and receive the same hospitality over and over again,

Thank you for making us your dining partner. Do give us another opportunity to make your experience better.

Warm Regards,
Sourav Mitra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#19 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
369 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Hotel Casa Fortuna
#22 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 233 Park Street
Hotel 233 Park Street
#40 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Astor Hotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astor Hotel Kolkata

Address: 15 Shakespeare Sarani, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#11 Business Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Astor Hotel Kolkata 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Hotel, Kolkata is an abode of luxury that blends heritage opulence and new-age comfort seamlessly. Housed in a century-old building, The Astor is synonymous with good living, exceptional hospitality, unforgettable cuisine and efficient, clockwork service. Located at the heart of the Central Business and Retail District, the hotel is well-connected to most places of interest and curiosity in Kolkata. The Astor has recently undergone extensive renovations and is now replete with state of the art facilities and services. The hotel offers complimentary WIFI to all its guests. The hotel has a rich selection of restaurants to choose from including the most popular bar in Kolkata, Plush Lounge & Bar apart from the evergreen Kebab-e-que, which has just completed 30 years of operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Astor Hotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Astor Hotel Kolkata Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing