We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not peerless”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #32 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Meerut
Level Contributor
223 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Good but not peerless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel is good and I would say even value for my money considering we are regular loyalists of the Saraovar group of hotels. However I would not say this is peerless.

The rooms were more or less as per our expectations. Food in general again was as per our expectations which does not mean it was very good.

However their restaurant specializing in Bengali food was exceptional. I believe we were treated to genuine and authentic Bengali cuisine here along with genuine and authentic Bengali hospitality and tradition. The waiters in that restaurant were exceptionally good and helpful and efficient. Unfortunately they do not wear ID tags and so it is not possible to record their names here or in the hotel feedback forms to appreciate their services.

In contrast all the waiters in the Oceanic appeared to be trainees under one or may be two senior waiters. Many were obviously confused and under stress to perform while others just about looked busy without doing much.

One could easily identify the senior staff who were obviously authoritative and did give a helping hand when crowd swelled up near the buffet pots.

In some of the TA reviews some one had mentioned the front desk staff as rather stiff and in efficient. There could be some truth in this because they took a long time for both check in and check out.

Kolkata is paradise for food lovers and so it is a good idea to stay in this but eat outside whenever possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the Aaheli (Authentic Bengali restaurant) team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests.

Necessary lessons have been drawn from your comments on Oceanic (multi-cuisine restaurant) and Reception. Concerned staff have been briefed and assure you that you will find a definite change in your next visit.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    289
    127
    50
    44
See reviews for
103
76
65
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Hotel is centrally located, but crowded outside with lot of hawkers and shabby lanes. Staff is fantastic and co-operative. Lobby is not attractive as it's big and no lighting properly. Need the attention for this and also the Hotel taxi.
It's horrible to hire a taxi outside the hotel, and some times you will get the airport taxis with AC.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krupanidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

It's a fantastic hotel I been in last yr around Puja times, majority of the staffs r really very friendly but one I find is really crap & he lack professional business attitude & his name is Abhishek he is the Duty Manager in the night I came. What happen as your Booking sheet I came to an understanding that you going to do a pick up service from Airport then I keep on waiting & then call you reception & the reception bloke said me Sir if you have a booking then the car will be in the airport may be it little late or you keep on eye on the arrival. I said ok. Then after 20mins I again called up & then a lady pick the phone then I said "What the [--]" going on here & she took it personally but she respond with the information and guided me up. i then book a car from Airport and came up in the hotel then this Duty Manager stated abusing me and even try to over impose me verbally. I'm an Australian citizen Indian origin and tht word is very common and in a hotel category Peerless is, it's very normal they should deal with this as it is casual in western world. But whole my stay he did misbehave with me and my guest. The reason I choose Peerless is because of Bengali sentiment but the way i been treated I will never go their next time. Also he gave me the worst room, number is some 500 something can't remember exactly and also charge be full amount with some extra money from my credit card without asking me and in the morning I came to know that because the reception gave me money back around Rs1500 something can't remember exact figure. I never saw in any Hotel through out the World that charge the money as soon as you enter and also it's more than you are actually supposed too pay. I strongly advise my friends not to stay in Peerless because the crew is crap and unprofessional. Also the room they gave me is very small and claustrophobic

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnabGhoshRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Noida, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Highly unreasonable rates considering the quality of the hotel. Stayed only for one night on business. Pluses are decent rooms & the location of the hotel near New Market. So I could roam around & shop a bit as well without travelling far.

They had a nice gesture of offering a muffin on arrival and a chocolate on check out with staff opting for 'Namaste' rather than Hellos & Hi's.

I won't recommend their food.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Greetings from The Peerless Inn, Kolkata !!!

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time for posting your comments. It is very heartening to get such comments, which I will pass on to all my colleagues and try to make sure that we continue this service as standard time after time.

I have noted your comments on food pricing which we will surely look into.

Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit to the City of Joy.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in JUNE, 2012. Room was clean and AC comfortable. My feeling is it overpriced.

Everything speaks of the attitude of the management. The management seems a miser. Normal any decent hotel places a small toothpaste tube, small comb etc., in the bathroom. But not this hotel. They supplied a fruit platter. Can anybody guess what was there? 5 small pieces of Pineapple, 5 small pieces of Papaya, One Cherry. If it is about courtesy they should either learn to respect the guests or discontinue such insulting practices.

Neither the bathroom slippers were placed.

Coming to food, where in India a Roti Costs Rs.175/-Plus 16% taxes? (US$ 3.2)+16% taxes? At Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Imagine every thing else.

However, there is a positive side too. Breakfast was complimentary and was good with variety of Indian items, fruits, Cornflakes etc.,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramachandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Greetings From The Peerless Inn, Kolkata !!!

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We value your feedback.. Necessary lessons have been drawn and assure you will find a definite change in your next visit..

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Peerless Inn, Kolkata in your next visit.

Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The food was horrible may be for us only. Please do not order Butter Chicken and Daal Makhani. You can find them better somewhere else. Too damn expensive for the quality of food. Lime juice was also poor. Ambience not up to the mark of the 4 star hotel..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faby_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time for posting your comments.

I am disappointed to learn that your experience at Oceanic was not up to expectation and have shared your feedback with our chefs. Assure you that required corrective action has been taken in this regard.

I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience and invite you on your return visit to experience this.


We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay in a decent hotel in this part of Calcutta, Peerless is the place to go if not Oberoi.

The hotel is located in a inner lane so not much of a view or anything to look forward to around. The area around is not safe at night to go out and the nearest residential area is miles away. So once its dark and you are back within the hotel forewalls make it a total shutdown. But early mornings you can go out for a walk and see the city wake up, with mostly roadside tea stalls beginning the day first with chai biskut puri sabzi etc. But please bear in mind that once you are out in the streets poverty striken pavement dwellers and children will follow you around and sometimes pull your dresses till you pay up. Locals ignore them so you may do the same cause if you pay one a hundred more will jump on your neck.

As for the hotel its a diffrent world all together making you forget about all the exists right outside its walls. The rooms are well lit, with soothing colors, soft furnishings and relaxing mix of pallate. The bed is preety big and soft too offering you a good nights sleep. The bathroom though had no windows was made in such a way that it was like daylight inside and fittings were spotlessly clean and of good quality. The closet area was big and wide enough with space for many a huge bags and soft slippers were complimentry. The mini bar was well stocked and room temprature perfect from the very second i stepped in.

And when morning came and i went down to have breakfast, it was a welcoming atmosphare with very polite staff and a wholesome meal spread. I unfortunately had to leave and did not get the chance to taste their famus Bengali platter lunch or dinner.

But later on two more occasions i went back to Peerless to have their unforgettable breakfast buffet.

I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing and happy stay in the city of mixed world.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeOngLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
At the onset we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Adviser. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Your words will go a long way to motivate them to deliver a higher level of service to our esteemed guests.

We take this opportunity to inform you that Aaheli has been conferred as the "Best Bengali" restaurant by Times Food Award and also listed in Miele Guide.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#44 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#34 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing