We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Suite - Below Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #31 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay in Suite - Below Average”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The condition of suite is quite dismal. Average amenties. Stayed for three nights in mid-November 2013. All FIRST-TIMER's; don't expect it be anywhere near 2/3 Star hotels of South East Asia (Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Vietnam)

Good location. Decent staff. Great breakfast buffet spread.

I took a 3-night package; which included complimentary pick-up AND drop-off to Airport (as per my itinerary).
I got the free PICK UP. But the front desk didn't provide me DROP-OFF. Quite un-professional in that way (as the staff cannot even check the confirmed itineraries of guests).

Overall - Average experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm the itinerary (on pick up and dropp off) before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    288
    127
    50
    43
See reviews for
103
75
65
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is one of the best hotels available in Heart of kolkata city.
Close proximity to Victoria makes it unavoidable.
Nice to Rome around after work hours when on business trips.
As always sarovar hospitality is Good

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemantpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A decade ago Peerless Inn was the place to go for Bengali cuisine in Calcutta, now we have many smaller restaurants that specialize for the Bengali at heart. Anyway this feeling (of being Bengali) led me to have 2 of my wedding parties here (Aheli restaurant) which all of us enjoyed.

Now fast forward to 2013, and we are visiting Kolkata for Durga Puja, it was time to break from pujo (pandal) hopping, so we decided to stop at the coffee shop (ocean theme). The place looked deserted but the guards at the entrance assured us that it was fine for us to step in, and we were escorted to the coffee shop.

Most of the employees were sleeping, but some of them jumped to their feet to attend to us, while others decided to continue snoring (loud). So with the "background music" going on, 6 hungry Bengalis asked for the menu, and for some strange reason it never showed, which will become clear later.

We verbally ordered sandwiches, fries and fish fingers as at that hour nothing Bengali was available, and to our utmost surprise there was no coffee, as nobody there knew how to operate the machine. It took ages before our food arrived. The fried items seemed stale and re-fried in old fish oil.

We summoned the chef but he seemed to think that we were a bother at this late (or early) an hour. Then the surprise, we ended up paying close to $80 USD for this horrible food/experience. In USA I can eat for cheaper and better taste, no wonder we never got to see the menu.

I was trying to guess why the bill was this high under the guise of a higher star hotel, and I realized they employed more than needed employees, most were doing nothing and were just wandering around or sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arijitda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I am personally dismayed to know of the incidents which affected your visit to The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

We will certainly take necessary corrective measures and we will do our best to delight you, should you give us the opportunity in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
287 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel right in the middle of down-town Kolkata - close to the New Market. The rooms are quiet, large and clean. The restaurant offers a really good buffet breakfast and dinner. They are not good on drinks and internet services. We were 'stung' by gin and tonic for Rs1,000! WiFi is offered with lots of passwords suggested but none worked during our 3-day stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ranchi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Avoid if u may!!!!
Too costly for the services provided.
No parking space.
Staff too rude.
Buffet Breakfast not upto the mark...
Restaurant serving ethnic Bengali cuisine is horrible. Dont even try....!!!
Only plus point is the location to market space. Walking distance.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mohibahmed786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted regarding staff behavior, Check - in and check out process at the Reception and are working towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duliajan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The stay, the food, the staff all were excellent. The room offered a panoramic view of the Kolkata by night and the morning. Some signs of austerity measures evident, as in the buffet breakfast and dinner, varieties were found to be less than the earlier visit. Due to ongoing construction activities the parking space is limited and its a bit clumsy at the entry point. The biggest plus point is the location. very near to main market, New Market, Esplanade Metro and Bus Station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chukafa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable.

Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#43 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
245 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#34 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing