We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #31 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Expectation was very high from Peerless Inn and to an extent they lived upto it with few exeptions. The location, could not have been better, rooms are bigger and certainly needs change in few things namely "Carpet". It stinks with patch marks all thru.
I guess everybody looks for a wifi now a days and a sudden change in the Hotel's policy of charging visitors beyond a certain MB looks ok however applying those to existing visitors looks a bit unprofessional and top it up with the wifi does not work. Sadly there is no one to attend to, if it is beyond normal hours. I think the management should looks into this aspect given that every visitor wants to be in touch.
Food is very good at Aheli, ambience is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have taken a note of your comments regarding the internet access and will address and rectify the issues highlighted.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    288
    127
    50
    43
See reviews for
103
75
65
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have been in Kolkata many times. Stayed in different hotels. But Peerless Inn is good in price and location. Aheli restaurant offers quality food. Ego bar and Coffe shop offer good service. I recommended it.

Room Tip: Better stay northside room of the hotel. You can oversee Esplanade Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motiul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We really appreciate your kind feedback on the restaurants and other services.
We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is located in the most commercial area of Kolkata, just beside Grand. Although not as grand as Grand, the hotel definitely is one of the best in Kokata. The rooms and service quality is fine. The food, especially, the breafast they serve is definitely not to be missed. Aahilia is the best out of all the restaurants inside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_sau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Located at heart of the city ,at Esplaned Kolkata. this hotel is good.Offers buffet breakfast, staff are very friendly. Food at their Aheli restaurant serves authentic Bengali cuisine and really excellent, particularly Ilish machher paturi anf Dhokar dalna.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmahata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Copy of e-mail to the Customer services manager dated 25th February that still remains unanswered.

On the 22nd February, my wife and I travelled from Assam to Kolkata.

At the airport, I booked a prepaid taxi to travel to the New Kenilworth Hotel where I had a booking arranged through booking.com. I checked the pre-paid taxi form and it did show that we were due to travel to the Kenilworth Hotel and I told the taxi driver to take us there.

For some reason best known to the driver he took us to your establishment. At the reception, I presented my booking.com reservation to your staff who could obviously see the I had no reservation at your hotel but instead of telling me so, he proceeded to book me into your hotel. I must say I now feel a sense of betrayal and a lack of professional attitude by your staff.

Later on I questioned the name of the hotel and that your In-house magazine indicated this hotel to be part of the Sarovar group. I was told that indeed the hotel was now part of this group.

It was only when I checked out, a new member of staff at the reception finally told me that I was not at the Kenilworth Hotel. When I challenged why I was not told that I was at the wrong hotel, the original member of staff told me that he had found no booking for me and instead of telling me so just checked us in. I noted that the room rate charged was exactly as on my reservation confirmation with Kenilworth although on the web your charge rate is less. I was also given false
assurance that there will be no charge made by booking.com although I knew that they would be within their right to do so.

I am happy to note here that after receiving a copy of the above e-mail, The New Kenilworth Hotel and Booking.com acted above the call of their duty and wrote off the cancellation fee. A lesson that the Sarovar group should take on board and teach their staff how to treat customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waltonian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Located at heart of the city , this hotel is good but slightly expensive. Needs maintenance.Offers buffet breakfast, staff are very friendly. Food at their Aheli restaurant serves authentic Bengali cuisine but expensive. I visited there during rainy season and they were serving special Khichuri. The veg Khichuri was for Rs.800/- served along with beguni (brinjal pakoda) and aloo bhaja (crispy potato fries).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review of The Peerless Inn, Kolkata We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had been staying at this hotel on a business trip to Kolkata. The only good thing of the hotel was the location. The Bed was not comfortable. The toiletories in the bathroom were near not there at all. Also the main thing that other than the room charges, everything was very very costly be it food or anything. No extra Sealed bottled water in the room, if wanted then chargeable and charges costlier than a 5 star hotel. In total no value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwanikx36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you, for your recent stay at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata and for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have noted the concerns that you have highlighted and are working towards improving the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata

Yours sincerely,

Subhomoy De
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#6 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#43 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#15 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hindusthan International Kolkata
Hotel Hindusthan International K...
#34 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#46 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 218 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Property: The Peerless Inn
Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing