We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Bad Service and discourteous hotel personnel”
Review of The Peerless Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peerless Inn
Ranked #29 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Although this has been my 2nd stay at this hotel. I have felt very disappointed by the shabby demeanor of service and hospitality.

This hotel has degraded at all levels including food, cleanliness, service and hospitality. Pearless Inn staff is very discourteous and treats customers with disrespect. Room service is pathetic and very slow. Room Service staff takes hours to service individuals or they may simply forget. This hotel only attends groups who have come for office meetings, conference arrangements and fly by 9 customers. Not ideal for Family stay or holiday goers.

Pearless Inn room charges are on the higher side and they have lot of hidden charges. It is highly over charged. There is no free internet & per day internet charge is Rs 450. There are tea makers installed in rooms but they charge for every Tea bag (Rs 10) Milk sache (Rs 10) Coffee sache (Rs 10). There is no freely available filtered water, every bottle of filtered water costs Rs 50. At the end of your stay you will feel the hotel has fleeced you. Even any standard 4 star hotel is much better than Peerless Inn and economical.

Hotel staff are not helpful and rather rude. Rooms, bed sheets are not cleaned regularly and many times there are leakage and broken taps in bathrooms leading to many inconveniences. Service Staff expect tip before they have even serviced you and they kind of ask for it looking at your purse/wallet if its lying around. You might feel next time to keep your purse/wallet locked in and away from prying eyes.

From a personal angle I will never wish to stay in this hotel again. Also suggest if you are going with your family please avoid Pearless Inn, you will end up feeling ashamed in front of your own family and nothing you can do complaining to the Hotel administration. They don’t listen, and they don’t care.

Wish you happy stay ahead,.. there are many good hotels in Kolkata.

Thanks and Regards,
Banerjee

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banerjee_Kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2010

Had checked into the hotel earlier too. a lot of pharma meetings happen in this hotel. it was a very value for money hotel earlier and we used to conduct a lot of meetings here.

Now the rates have almost doubled in the past couple of year. the hotel is simply superb. their staff the most courteous and front staff is excellent.

the last time i checked in, it was close to 2 am due to the late landing of the flight. and wonder of wonders, i was again given an automatic upgrade to a suite room, the third time i had been offered so far. these guys really care for your comfort. all my irritation with the taxi guy and the airlines disappeared at this offer.

the hotel is centrally situated and you can see eden gardens from the window. the food selection is possibly the best i have seen in kolkata. i dont eat non-veg, but from hearsay, i know that they make the best fish dishes in whole of West bengal. :-)

Would definitely recommend the hotel to anybody. if on a personal trip, haggle for a discount. you are quite likely to get it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nishant_Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

It is just the kind of holiday spot you want to spend your vacation in.
You can take your pick from the numerous historical landmarks that have been built during the colonial era.
It is situated at a walking distance from the shopping and business areas.Room Facilities at Peerless Inn in Kolkata Peerless Inn in Kolkata boasts of 122 rooms and suites that are well equipped with tea or coffee makers, safes, individual temperature controls, remote-controlled TVs, and mini-fridges.Dining at Peerless Inn in Kolkata Bichitra and Aaheli at Peerless Inn in Kolkata take you to a gastronomical tour.
The other bars and restaurants of the hotel include Nishidin, the Pastry Shop and Lahari.
Business and Conference at Peerless Inn in Kolkata For the business guests, Peerless Inn in Kolkata features the appointed hall, Aalapan and Aakaashpot, the banquet room with a splendid view of the city.
Along with the strategic location of The Peerless Inn in Kolkata, the display of the traditional Bengali culture through the services, hospitality, cuisine, décor and even setting of the hotel including the room facilities at The Peerless Inn in Kolkata will impress you.
Hotel Amenities and Services at The Peerless Inn at Kolkata also extend to gala dining options.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gods2eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This hotel is very beautiful for the money spent. Food is great particularly the Bengali restaurant. They have a great in house bakery too. Stay is very comfortable & rooms are very nice. The best thing is the breakfast buffet it's awesome, largest possible spread a hotel can have.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swapnabangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Location wise, hotel is good, food is not upto mark, banquet halls are shabby,staff need to be more trained,

Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
Thank tituBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Good hotel with corporate budget, we prefer to visit again this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I reserved the hotel at the last possible date (the evening before) and there were still rooms available. Upon our arrival, we were very nicely surprised with a free upgrade to a suite. The have non-smoking rooms, several restaurants, the hotels meets the highest western standards for a reasonable price.
Wonderful hotel in the center of Kolkata, very well located, with reasonable price (we even got an upgrade to a suite), a modern hotel, very clean, keeping up with the highest western standards.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedonishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.4 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#70 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
Kenilworth Hotel, Kolkata
#18 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#48 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peerless Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £62 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing