We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean hotel”
Review of Hotel De Sovrani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De Sovrani
Ranked #55 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed from 11th jan 2014 to 13 th jan 2014 booked four rooms although the rooms are small but service is very good break fast is wide spread with lots of eating options very near to city center mall in the heart of salt lake area

Room Tip: Go for front facing rooms as they are little big
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mukul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desovrani, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Sovrani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Madam,


Greetings from 'De Sovrani'!

We appreciate your feeedback.

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks and Regards.
Team De Sovrani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Sovrani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

De Soverani, located about 40 minutes from the airport has decent rooms, a well-laid out English and Indian breakfast, but the Tata Docomo scratch card aided internet it provides is terribly slow.

True, one can use a USB dongle but i guess the signal strength in the area is weak too. No complains otherwise!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalayDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desovrani, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Sovrani, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Sir,


Greetings from 'De Sovrani'!

We appreciate your feeedback on our internet service and we shall definitely look into it.

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Thanks and Regards
Team De Sovrani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The real test of any hospitality is in a crisis situation. This is what we faced recently and this hotel failed miserably at the hustings. We were booked as a transit lodging for an early morning flight out of Kolkata.A night time car ride from Durgapur was ruled out due to biting cold and it was decided that we check in early. However we reached Salt lake area in the dead of the night and locating the hotel seemed well nigh impossible. The agents who booked the hotel had however given a number for assistance. A certain Rituparna who responded was very curt and directed us to another number which wasn't accessible. The attempts by the agents to contact the same person was also met with a not so pleasant response almost bordering on abusive.

After a great deal of search the hotel was located and we checked in at nearly 2 am thereby defeating the purpose of an early check in.

The rooms were good but but the initial experience and a very short stay made the whole trip eminently forgetful.

The management will do well to get more hospitable receptionist/managers who are more welcoming.

Avoidable. As There are better options available in the vicinity with better signage and easily locatable hotels

Room Tip: Avoid like Plague!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr_ajthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel is in the Salt Lake area, not very convenient to downtown. It is walking distance to City Centre Mall (Fab India is there & other clothing, crafts, music). It is a relatively small hotel, a small but upscale lobby, I'm guessing there were only 7 rooms per floor. A car can be arranged to downtown or sights by the hotel at the same rates as their daily tour.

The room was very clean, pretty small by U.S. although not by European standards. TV, very nice linens, sitting area. The bathroom is enclosed in glass and so visible to the room, which surprised me (maybe today's couples no longer need any privacy at all? Or maybe this is now normal?)

Unique Qualities: Has an exercise room and a pool - but I had no time to see them. No business center although one is advertised (When I requested a business center, the staff had me wait and then let me use their computer behind the front desk, which was a noisy area, couldn't really work there.)

Has a nice restaurant with buffet for breakfast and evening. large variety of Indian food, but you can request eggs or an omelette at breakfast.

My colleague said there was a bar below the hotel (I didn't see it, so can't comment)

Very nice staff. They will arrange for your transport to the airport or wherever you need.

I do not know what our hosts paid for our rooms (I was on business travel) but I did see rooms advertised on special for $102 online - so be advised that might be lower or higher depend on how you book.

Address: DD-21, Sector-1, Saltlake, DD Block, Salt Lake City, Kolkata, WB 700064, India


Phone: +91 90 51 275550

Price: US$80-120

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. Dogs bark like crazy at ngiht. Also avoid rooms closest to the suite adjacent to...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulfulNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at de Sovrani during one of my business trips. The hotel was very good at good levels of cleanliness maintained. Rooms were spacious with all the requirements taken care of. the Front office staff was very courteous and check in and check out process was the fastest i have encountered. A special work of praise for Monupriya and Pratyusha at the front office for their pleasing personality and warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roysten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

the hotel is very nice i stayed there for two nights,there staff are very helpfull specially front office, i have requested for wake up call,cab for my office they have always helped me.... want to stay more...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the de sovrani with family for two nights. Good clean hotel, tho' smallish rooms, but otherwise comfortable. Good food. Amenities could be improved. Even though all amenities required were provided the quality could be improved. The only problem we faced was with water. Pressure was low. We didnt have hot water one day. And it was very difficult to set the shower to your liking. Otherwise, a good pleasant stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SpaceWalkrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
The Sonnet
The Sonnet
#11 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
485 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel The Sojourn
Hotel The Sojourn
#109 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip
#4 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#10 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#54 of 224 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Sovrani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Sovrani

Address: DD 21 Saltlake City Sector I, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700064, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Sovrani 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Sovrani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Sovrani Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing