We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best North Indian cuisine in Kolkata”
Review of Dum Pukht

Dum Pukht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Best North Indian cuisine in Kolkata”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

All Dum Pukht restaurants in ITC Hotels serves best North Indian cuisines which cannot be compare with any other place.
You can try any item, all are having awesome taste.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deepankar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendation.

Dum Pukht is a fine dining experience serving food with a Royal lineage. Rituals, be it the carving of the raan, or breaking the pardah (the seal of the Biranj handi), one is regaled with the origin of the offering and its unique history.

Your patronage is deeply valued and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    46
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Dum Pukht has to be one of my favourite restaurants in Kolkata. The food is incredible!

I have only tried 2 things here and have been told these are the best - Kakori Kebab and Lamb biryani. This is all I have been ordering in the past 4 years of going to Dum Pukht. The kakori kebab will just melt in your mouth - they serve this with a Shirma - sweet paratha. Divine!

The lamb biryani is also perfectly cooked and served with a raita to complement it.

The staff are very friendly and will help you order the right things! They go out of their way to make you feel special - I have always been welcomed with a complimentary cake on birthdays and anniversaries. I recommend making a reservation as the restaurant has started getting very busy for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappilyTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. The feedback shared is truly rewarding as it motivates us to further excel in our services.

We deeply value your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“superb hospitality great food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The staff their ensures that you are served the type of food you look forward for and in a way you like it the most.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank consumerlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor and your recommendation on our signature restaurant Dum Pukht which offers-“The Grand Cuisine of India”.

We deeply value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flavour, Taste and Staff were Awesome ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A colleague and myself had vegetable biryanj and Mirchi Baingan Salan (Capsicum-Eggplant Curry in Sesame Peanut gravy). The flavour and the taste was incredible.

The staff were extremely nice and went out if their way to explain the cuisine and the way it's cooked. A special mention to Fatima who had the passion to explain the meaning and history of Dum Pukht.

I am glad I decided to try the restaurant in ITC.

Helpful?
Thank Umanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendation

A dining experience at Dum Pukht is truly a ‘nawabi dawat’ (Royal Feast), where each dish on the menu is entrenched in its own story.

We have shared your appreciation with Fatima, to whom it is highly motivating.

Look forward to welcome you back and we hope that you would visit us soon.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Team dinner with Colleagues in Dum Pukht”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was an awesome evening with colleagues in Dum Pukht. We went there for group dinner and the food and the environment was very pleasant. The service is too good as well as the food. One of the staff ( he told me his name is Akhtaar ) of Dum Pukht told me the the history of the recipe. and I was thrilled that we were having the same recipe which invented 300 years ago in Metiaburuj. I strongly recommend Dum Pukht for their service and the quality of the food. It's superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Biswajit_Mukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendation.

Reviving the artfulness of courtly manner, presentation and cookery from Awadh, Dum Pukht offers the grand cuisine of India in an ambience that is truly regal. Its surprising array of aromatic dishes slow cooked in sealed deghs with handpicked spices to impart a delicate, alchemical infusion of flavours and textures and its impeccable, indulgent service have won Dum Pukht high praise and numerous accolades.

We deeply value your patronage and look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dum Pukht also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Dum Pukht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing