We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sublime experience”
Review of Dum Pukht

Dum Pukht
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sublime experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You need a very special place to celebrate a special occasion, and when the service is excellent and the food is utterly delectable it becomes a memorable experience. I last visited Dum Pukht before Zomato was born. Today to celebrate a special occasion we visited Dum Pukht for dinner. For starters we ordered the Kakori Kebab (Served with Sheermal) and Mirch Kebab (Veg). These were accompanied by a quirky but delicious invention the Mango Martini. For the Main Course we ordered Daal Bukhara, Murg Khushk Purdah and a layered Ajwain flavoured Naan. At the end of it we had no place for desserts, but we took a small bite of a 3 layered cake (sponge, mousse and crumbs) accompanied by a live violin recital to celebrate our special occasion.

Special Mentions:

1. Service - Excellent service, very attentive and caring without being intrusive. Full marks.
2. Dum Pukht Kakori Kebab - If you are not sitting at a Dastarkhwan of a Nawab in Lucknow, this is by far the best Kakori Kebab anywhere! And the Sheermal just adds to the sheer gastronomic pleasure!
3. Murgh Khushk Purdah - My wife suggested I try this even though they said it would take 45 minutes to prepare it. And it was worth it. Every bite of the succulent chicken with the 'Purdah' a think layer of Puff pastry was delicious!

Con:

Just the one - I asked for Daal Bukhara (which they could have procured from the neighbouring Peshawri, but didn't), instead they served me a rather bland Kaali Daal. That was the only Con I could think of in the evening's experience. I guess I should have ordered Daal Dum Pukht instead!

Overall a sublime experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BWWKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable experience at Dum Pukht. We deeply appreciate your comments on the service and the food.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    47
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meerut, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mouth watering Food , warm ambience !”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Biryani was awesome and my little one loved the ambience. Staff was extremely courteous , chef ever ready to suggest what to order. We reached at 11PM ( closing time ) and yet felt welcome !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajayarora80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a memorable experience at Dum Pukht which offers 'The Grand Cuisine of India'.

In keeping with its cuisine theme, the ambience at Dum Pukht is replete with rich onyx cladding on the walls with finely veneered timber columns and plush furnishings to complete the accoutrement. The traditional Indian manner of serving by courses has been revived in Dum Pukht, and a silver, “Dastarkan” at each place setting, acts as a base to the specially designed blue and white crockery.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“melt-in-your-mouth kebabs”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It is expensive but the food is to die for!
Good way to spend a special evening - not sure if they still have the set-meal options but you could always check. If you have a voracious appetite, go for it! The food is absolutely delicious. The kebabs literally melt in mouth - seems like they've had them marinating for a week. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_Pote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendation.

A dining experience at Dum Pukht is truly a ‘nawabi dawat’ (Royal Feast), where each dish on the menu is entrenched in its own story and we are delighted to note that you had a memorable experience.

Look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A truly royal treat!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was a truly royal treat! Not just the food, the entire experience was amazing. Being from lucknow I usually avoid Awadhi food at restaurant as it never matches up my expectation. But Dum Pukht was different. Whet there with a friend and the waiter convinced me to try the Awadhi cuisine. I let him choose the menu and was literally blown apart. The fish tikka was out of this world, the most perfectly done tikka I have ever had. The galawati and kakori kababs tasted just like the best from lucknow and the sheermal just melted away.
Apart from the food the waiter gave detailed descriptions of each item on the menu, which place they originated from, and how the dishes came in to existence. For example, I didn’t know the history behind the galawati kebabs. I was told that some nawab was extremely fond of kababs and with age his teeth weakened and he couldn’t chew properly. That’s when then his chefs invented the soft galawati kabaabs.
Although very expensive, Dum Pukht is a must visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gameruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendation.

Dum Pukht serves not just a cuisine, but an experience that goes beyond mere satisfaction of appetite to the realm of sensuality: an evocative presentation of aromas, flavors and textures that pays tribute to an appreciation of the finer things in life to become A Grand Cuisine.

Your patronage is deeply valued and we look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Our favourite place to dine Dumpukht”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Dumpukht for almost a decade now and I wonder why I never reviewed it. It is one of our most favourite place for dining and we have celebrated many special days here. They make the best Kakori Kebab and it's almost impossible for anyone else to meet this standard. Special mention of Fatima and Akhtar who are always so hospitable and helpful. They make sure that we are comfortable and fulfill our needs.

Helpful?
Thank Archita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atul B, General Manager at Dum Pukht, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and your recommendation.

Dum Pukht brings you the intense flavours and leisurely luxury of slow cooked food made from authentic recipes garnered from the royal kitchens of Awadh and we are delighted to note that you have good memories.

Your kind words were shared with Fatima and Akhtar to whom it is highly rewarding.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Atul Bhalla
General Manager
ITC Sonar, Kolkata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dum Pukht also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Dum Pukht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing