We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time travel”
Review of Itachuna Rajbari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Itachuna Rajbari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I visited with my parents for an overnight trip and we had the loveliest time. The owners are renovating the huge mansion in bits, so most of it is still derelict. However, this adds to the charm of the place, and transports you back in time. The staff are wonderful. Hironmoy and Jonaki volunteered stories and guided tours of the rajbari as well as the picture perfect village around it. The food is excellent, and meals are served with much love. I still haven't gotten over the home-made chhanar fragrant dalna! I would love to return for a longer visit. If you are looking to laze around with a storybook, eat like a king, go on long relaxing walks and be regaled with colourful anecdotes from the past, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want the full Rajbari experience, go for the rooms on the first floor. The ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mesmerized and truly in love with the place even days after I am back! Ambience, service, facilities, everything is superb! Everything at the Rajbari makes you feel special. All the staff was polite and you just had to meke a request and it was done. Its a great experience and nice adventure... overall the experience was fantastic.
Love this Place........

Room Tip: If you wanna stay with your partner or family not more than 3 people you must select the "Didi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abhijit_Chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The zamindars, or landlords of Bengal, lived lavish lives and built magnificent palaces in Calcutta and in other districts of Bengal. The Marble Palace, owned by Rajendra Nath Mullick, is perhaps the most outstanding of them all.

Itachuna is about two hours drive from Kolkata and the Rajbari (palace) is very close to Khanan railway station. This palace is built on a traditional zamindar style architecture, with a courtyard in the center and rooms on three sides of the rectangular courtyard. Unlike most palaces in West Bengal, this rajbari, has been maintained periodically and the rooms renovated. Fortunately, the owners did not remove the antique furniture from any room, so staying there over night, may give you a feel of living in the years that were. The toilets have been done up quite well, some rooms have air conditioning too. If you chose to stay there, take the rooms on the upper floor, walk the long corridor in the dead of the night and climb down to the courtyard or the garden; It will give you creeps. For once you will start believing in ghosts....lol.

Pack you bags, slam on the accelerator and zoom into a, well......close encounters experience.

Room Tip: If you enjoy being frightened, take the rooms on the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Itachuna Rajbari is a wonderful getaway if you want to st rep back in time and experience the old ways of landlords in Bengal. The owners do not live on the property year round, coming only on holidays. A part of this huge property is rented to visitors should they want to stay (booking in advance is absolutely mandatory). This is not the place for you if you want hotel like service or modern amenities - no. This is the place for you if you like period novels and ghost stories and can dream the evening away with a cup of steaming hot coffee on one of the many verandahs of this place.
Our family went there in October 2010 and we were more than pleased with our stay. Although the manager was not professional and was taking a bath while we waited outside upon arrival, he was very friendly and knowledgeable and showed us around quite enthusiastically in the evening.
I would highly recommend this place as a family getaway if you would like some peace and quiet and are able to appreciate that you are not staying at a conventional hotel and adjust your expectations suitably.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnweshaBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place is about 2 hours from Kolkata and a stop at Azad Hind Dhaba made the journey more pleasant with stuffed parathas. We went mid-week in early July and had the place to ourselves. The ambience of the place reflects the past glory and allows a glimpse into the lifestyle of zamindar families. The antique furniture is superb if you are into that kind of thing. The crew are honest but not professionally trained. They do try to do their best to please and in a way this does add to the 'authentic' experience. The food was good wholesome home cooked Bengali food without much frills. Thorouhly enjoyed the 'free' breakfast of luchi, begun bhaja and aloor sarsari! Not a lot to see locally but the Pandua Minar is impressive and the Hansheswari mandir and Basudeb mandir (great terracotta) in Bansberia worth a visit.

This place is not the place to go if you are looking for a luxury trip but should be on your list if you are looking for a traditional Bengali experience or want to bring back some good childhood memories.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms. We stayed on Boroboudi's and Chhotoboudi's room on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I went to the place with my family hoping to get a much needed rest from the noise and craziness of the cities. The place was very peaceful and full of greenery, the palace also looked majestic. We were served welcome drinks and were lead to our rooms. We stayed at chorda's room which is beside the top terrace. But as we settled in at the place we realized the major shortcomings of the place. The people serving us were honest and polite but there were just about 4 people serving about 11 rooms, so they took a lot of time to satisfy our wants. The price for a meal were very costly but the food did not meet the standard as very ordinary and home like food were served at a place where 210 rs is taken for just a chicken thali. Also one major disappointment is that eating meals at rooms are not allowed, so we had to come down about 70-80 steps to reach the dining hall. My mother was sick that afternoon and wanted her food to be sent to the room, but they did not oblige. The manager is a worthless fellow, his only work was to ask the people staying there if everyting was alright without checking it himself. The hotel staff gave all their attention to a group of about 25 people who came by a bus, and forgot about our needs. They took over the place as if they were the kings there and there were no particular place where we could chat privately, except our room, this is surely a place where professionalism is needed to solve these problems. Also there were problems like water shortage and telephone disconnection. To the people who want to visit this place, one suggestion, go in a group of at least 10-15 people, you people will get all the attention, otherwise you are not going to enjoy yourselves as there are no attractions at the place other than the palace. Overall it's an overrated place, you can avoid this place, don't go by it's outer beauty.

Room Tip: The rooms on the terrace are really nice with antiques and has an old world charm to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iamsomak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed there for 1 night and I must say it was a great experience. We were offered welcome drinks on our arrival and all the staff including the manager greeted us with a smiling face. We stayed in Chotoboudir ghor on the first floor which was a huge room with antique furnitures. The food was authentic bengali dishes and was very tasty. The staff gave us a guided tour of the palace which was really memorable. The rajbari is very well maintained and one can spend an entire day by strolling around the entire palace. In the evening one can see the aarati in the thakurdalan or can visit the local village. Overall it was a very relaxing stay for us.

Room Tip: Stay in the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tora-bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
42.8 mi away
The Rajbari Bawali
The Rajbari Bawali
#25 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
134 reviews
32.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,262 reviews
32.1 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#15 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
467 reviews
27.5 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#28 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
226 reviews
29.7 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itachuna Rajbari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itachuna Rajbari

Address: Itachuna | Hoogly District, Kolkata (Calcutta) 712147, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £40 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Itachuna Rajbari Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing