We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glimpse of history...”
Review of Itachuna Rajbari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Itachuna Rajbari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We visited this place couple of months back. It was a different experience altogether. It was like living in the past. Itachuna will surely give you a glipmse of the Jamindar culture of bengal. The property is well maintained to accomodate tourists. The rooms were spacious and clean. The food was also above average. Recommended for a short weekend tour. You will definitely have a different time!!!...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sabyasachi_Ganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I would suggest everyone to stay overnight in this place. We went in a group by car directly from Kolkata. I found there website very helpful for getting contact numbers, room charges, food menu details and driving directions. We booked three non AC rooms and they came out to be the place where Ranvir Singh used to stay in the bollywood movie 'Lootera'.
Non AC rooms were very basic and not recommended during very hot summer days. All these three rooms are quite large triple bedded with nice simple decor. I had to pay our room charges in advance. Other than that they take tax extra after arrival and fooding separate. Good bengali foods are served in a 'jamindari' style. Mutton thali is highly recommended.
In the evening few locals come and perform Bengali musical programme which was a nice surprise to us. We did not realize for long time that live performances were going on outside our room. Another guy was playing flute sitting at one of darkest corner of the house and we could only hear the music. Late night adda session with supernatural stories could definitely add an extra charm only if everyone is comfortable enough.They have carrom, TT and dart as free timepass options. We tried kite flying also-all the accessories were provided by them for minimal charges. Every stuff was soft spoken and helpful. Overall we has a nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Arijita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Its all about the ambience of the place .... mostly when u wake up with the music of a flute flowing through your ears to soul.I met with the persone tried to jamm with him with my guitar and I felt awesome...Dont expect a party kind of flavor from this place. Its a very good long drive from Kolkata only in a few places the road condition is terrible and u need to be a bit cautious when u entered the village..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KDnHiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I visited with my parents for an overnight trip and we had the loveliest time. The owners are renovating the huge mansion in bits, so most of it is still derelict. However, this adds to the charm of the place, and transports you back in time. The staff are wonderful. Hironmoy and Jonaki volunteered stories and guided tours of the rajbari as well as the picture perfect village around it. The food is excellent, and meals are served with much love. I still haven't gotten over the home-made chhanar fragrant dalna! I would love to return for a longer visit. If you are looking to laze around with a storybook, eat like a king, go on long relaxing walks and be regaled with colourful anecdotes from the past, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want the full Rajbari experience, go for the rooms on the first floor. The ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Mesmerized and truly in love with the place even days after I am back! Ambience, service, facilities, everything is superb! Everything at the Rajbari makes you feel special. All the staff was polite and you just had to meke a request and it was done. Its a great experience and nice adventure... overall the experience was fantastic.
Love this Place........

Room Tip: If you wanna stay with your partner or family not more than 3 people you must select the "Didi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abhijit_Chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The zamindars, or landlords of Bengal, lived lavish lives and built magnificent palaces in Calcutta and in other districts of Bengal. The Marble Palace, owned by Rajendra Nath Mullick, is perhaps the most outstanding of them all.

Itachuna is about two hours drive from Kolkata and the Rajbari (palace) is very close to Khanan railway station. This palace is built on a traditional zamindar style architecture, with a courtyard in the center and rooms on three sides of the rectangular courtyard. Unlike most palaces in West Bengal, this rajbari, has been maintained periodically and the rooms renovated. Fortunately, the owners did not remove the antique furniture from any room, so staying there over night, may give you a feel of living in the years that were. The toilets have been done up quite well, some rooms have air conditioning too. If you chose to stay there, take the rooms on the upper floor, walk the long corridor in the dead of the night and climb down to the courtyard or the garden; It will give you creeps. For once you will start believing in ghosts....lol.

Pack you bags, slam on the accelerator and zoom into a, well......close encounters experience.

Room Tip: If you enjoy being frightened, take the rooms on the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Itachuna Rajbari is a wonderful getaway if you want to st rep back in time and experience the old ways of landlords in Bengal. The owners do not live on the property year round, coming only on holidays. A part of this huge property is rented to visitors should they want to stay (booking in advance is absolutely mandatory). This is not the place for you if you want hotel like service or modern amenities - no. This is the place for you if you like period novels and ghost stories and can dream the evening away with a cup of steaming hot coffee on one of the many verandahs of this place.
Our family went there in October 2010 and we were more than pleased with our stay. Although the manager was not professional and was taking a bath while we waited outside upon arrival, he was very friendly and knowledgeable and showed us around quite enthusiastically in the evening.
I would highly recommend this place as a family getaway if you would like some peace and quiet and are able to appreciate that you are not staying at a conventional hotel and adjust your expectations suitably.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnweshaBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
42.8 mi away
The Rajbari Bawali
The Rajbari Bawali
#25 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
134 reviews
32.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#3 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,267 reviews
32.1 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#1 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.4 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#15 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
468 reviews
27.5 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#28 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
226 reviews
29.7 mi away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itachuna Rajbari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itachuna Rajbari

Address: Itachuna | Hoogly District, Kolkata (Calcutta) 712147, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £40 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Itachuna Rajbari Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing