We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE BEHAVIOUR”
Review of Hotel Niharika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Niharika
Ranked #29 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE BEHAVIOUR”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I checked in into the property on 24th with clear instruction that I would be checking out on 27th, a stay of 3 nights and was alloted room accordingly and to my horror, the Hotel asked me to vacate the rooms, when i reported the matter to its G.M., he didn't even sound apologetic. The property has no ethics as to how to treat its guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FAIRMATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
With due deference and regret we would like to state that your scheduled stay was for three

nights ( ie. from 24th Feb. 2014 to 27th Feb. 2014 ) is totally wrong. The room reservation for

one day ( 24-02-14 to 25-02-14 ) was done by your colleague, Mr. Sanjoy Pututundu,

Sr. Marketing Manager of M/s. Fairmate Chemical . Thereafter, on arriving at the hotel on

24/02/14 at 12-20 p.m. you had confirmed your stay from 24/02/14 to 12 noon on 25/02/14 in

our Guest Registration Card by signing on it. On the 25th of Feb. 2014, in the afternoon, you

expressed your desire to extend your stay. As all the rooms of the hotel were then booked, we

failed to accommodate you at the hotel for two more days.

However, we had promptly arranged accommodation for you at a reasonably good hotel in

close proximity to us. You had then expressed your reluctance to vacate the room. It was after

pursuation of several hours and our offer to shift you and your luggage to the nearby hotel at

our cost, you consented to leave our hotel room. We would also like to point out here that you

had kept the hotel room occupied till 9 p.m. ie. much beyond your check-out time (12 noon) for

which no charge was imposed on you.

All along our staff members were courteous as usual in their behaviour and they

extended all co-operation to ensure your comfortable stay with us and your smooth shifting

to the nearby hotel. Sir, had there been any vacancy, there is no reason why your stay would not

have been extended.

We wish, you reserve your rooms at Hotel Niharika sufficiently in advance for the number

of days required by you, and your stay can always be extended based only on the availability of

rooms.


Regards,
Bidyut Kr.Guha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    67
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
17
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here in a clean, comfortable room. The hotel is an excellent value, and the rooms contain all of the usual amenities and appliances, including a small refrigerator.

The staff were courteous and attentive, and the breakfast delicious.

Our only complaint is that the hot water in our shower did not work, despite the engineer's attempts to fix it. But despite this significant shortcoming, we highly recommend the hotel as one of the newest and best in central Calcutta.



Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LingBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Your review in appreciation of our staff members, the rooms

with modern amenities & appliances and breakfast is a source

of satisfaction to all of us at Hotel Niharika. Thank you.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you due

to a defect in the shower which has been rectified

promptly.

Sir, we continuously strive to improve the quality of services

for the satisfaction of our customers and ensure you a

comfortable stay without any hitch at your next visit

Regards,
Bidyut Kr. Guha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokrajhar, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I traveled to this property during Nov'13 as part of my business trip and stayed there along with my wife. It is centrally located. The rooms are good, very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and ever willing to help. I would specially like to thank Mr. Dhar for making our trip a memorable one. I would definitely visit the property on my visit to Kolkata.:)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd Floor the room was quiet and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ankur_Ag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here with parents on 2nd-4th Feb. Hotel staff - reception, housekeeping, restaurant, even the guards...are all smiles and polite, and very helpful, all the time. Services are often anticipated even before we decide to ask. Everything was kept clean. Rooms are nice, good space for 2 people, can get crowded for more people. Bathroom toiletries were provided, but the bathroom size is small. Complementary water, tea/coffee, biscuits in the room. Satellite tv with all the channels. Room had AC and locker. Should have more closet space though.Food was good. Breakfast buffet is really good and filling, and tasteful - both continental, north and south indian variety present. They arranged for cars for sightseeing and the drivers were really good natured.Hotel is located right next to a busy road and flyover. But no noise in the room (on 4th floor) although we could hear bikes zoom by occasionally. Overall a good stay.Will recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reema12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed with my family, enjoyed those days. Great ambiance, helpful staffs, good food.
Everything was up to the mark.
A small guy from reception impressed me a lot.
Will soon visit Kolkata and we stay in this hotel again.
undoubtedly ***** STAR

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saurabhchatterjee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silchar
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed there for five nights from 1st to 6th January 2014 with my wife and two kids. The room, F&B, room service and housekeeping were excellent. Almost all the staffs were very courteous and helpful. The deficiencies were absence of Gym and Parking . We enjoyed our stay and felt very much at home. The staffs at the restaurant were very much child friendly ( Mr Shyam & Mr. Krishnendu). Great job guys. I will highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure trips.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prosenjit72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed for two days as part of a company booking. The room and amenities were comprehensive and up-to-date. The F&B service was very good as well. The only shortcoming was the lack of gym facilities. Overall a very good hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank CM-AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Hotel Casa Fortuna
#24 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#14 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#34 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#18 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel 233 Park Street
Hotel 233 Park Street
#32 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niharika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niharika

Property: Hotel Niharika
Address: 5, A. J. C. Bose Road | Near : Minto Park, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niharika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the business hub of Central Kolkata, Hotel Niharika, a business class hotel offers a bouquet of personalized services and ethnic hospitality which the business clientele and leisure travellers yearn for.Hotel Niharika guarantees a pleasant stay for its guests in its 53 spacious and cosy rooms, superbly designed multi cuisine restaurant and coffee shop and dedicated and affable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Niharika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niharika Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing