We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied but needs bit of improvement”
Review of Hotel Niharika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Niharika
Ranked #29 of 229 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked 2 rooms for my mother in law, wife and myself.
The stay was good, room was clean and food was good.
The reception loos however confused sometimes asking un-necessary irrelevant questions, but the hotel is overall nice to stay. Will be coming again to this hotel with my wife next month.

Room Tip: rooms are quiet but should shift the cameras where some of them are facing the room doors directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank bks170882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I book a room in the premises for 5 days after going through online sites. later the as IPL match got shifted to Cuttack from kolkata so we are forced to move to cuttack for a night. The duty manager understand us and adjust accordingly :) . After a drive in hot weather me and my GF reached hotel around 2PM, we got shocked When the receptionist said we cant accept u as we are unmarried. what the hell we provide valid ID Passport with Visa and my DC. Im from Chennai and she is from outside India and its our first visit to kolkata. Dont know Hindi neither bangali, kolkata fired us like nothing. The hotel doesnt understand us. The foreign marriage act India takes hell lot of time to get marriage certificate. Later we checked in Sapphire Suites (new market) and we decided no more Kolkata. And the funnest part is at night i got a call from Hotel niharika saying u havent checked in. I just want to bombard but controlled. Cuttack is far better then Kolkata in respect.

Room Tip: Big no for unmarried couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank CSKrocks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for 4 days. The Hotel room is new and clean. Breakfast was good. In-Room tea/coffee maker and complimentary Water Bottles were available. Bathroom was small.The room I was given doesn't have control on A/c. What a surprise?????

Room Tip: Check for the A/c control availability before check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweet_Rams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We are grateful to you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It’s a matter
of contentment for us to know that you liked the room, the cleanliness the breakfast and the
amenities.

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay for not being able to regulate the air-conditioner. Sir, if this would have been brought to our notice, we would have surely regulated or guided you to regulate the room temperature.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and look forward to having you as our guest again.


Bidyut Kumar Guha
General Manager
Hotel Niharika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Niharika doesn't try to be what it is not... Its a neat and small place, thats located near Park Street & well connected in the middle of Kolkata!

However, the rooms are small, bathrooms very small, and decor simple. food is nothing much to rave about nor is service.

the staff is professional, and tries to make it work. but dont expect too much from the place.

For the price, value offered by the place is good... so if you are on a tight budget, this is a pretty good option.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivekGawri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Niharika. It is a new, neat and clean property. The location on AJC Bose Road is an advantage for business travellers.
The check in ( against advance reservation) was quick & smooth. However the room service took 3 reminders for a cup of Tea to be served. All items listed on room service menu are also NOT available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Subodhbaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The room was clean, the staff courteous. The complementary breakfast buffet was excellent. The location, right next to Minto park, within walking distance of Rabindra Sadan Metro, and quite close to the Victorial Memorial is very nice indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Amri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Sir, we are contented to know that we could make

your stay at Hotel Niharika to your full satisfaction. Your

appreciation ethuses us to reaffirm our commitment to customer

satisfaction. Thanks.

Regards,
Bidyut Kr. Guha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I checked in into the property on 24th with clear instruction that I would be checking out on 27th, a stay of 3 nights and was alloted room accordingly and to my horror, the Hotel asked me to vacate the rooms, when i reported the matter to its G.M., he didn't even sound apologetic. The property has no ethics as to how to treat its guests.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank FAIRMATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

With due deference and regret we would like to state that your scheduled stay was for three

nights ( ie. from 24th Feb. 2014 to 27th Feb. 2014 ) is totally wrong. The room reservation for

one day ( 24-02-14 to 25-02-14 ) was done by your colleague, Mr. Sanjoy Pututundu,

Sr. Marketing Manager of M/s. Fairmate Chemical . Thereafter, on arriving at the hotel on

24/02/14 at 12-20 p.m. you had confirmed your stay from 24/02/14 to 12 noon on 25/02/14 in

our Guest Registration Card by signing on it. On the 25th of Feb. 2014, in the afternoon, you

expressed your desire to extend your stay. As all the rooms of the hotel were then booked, we

failed to accommodate you at the hotel for two more days.

However, we had promptly arranged accommodation for you at a reasonably good hotel in

close proximity to us. You had then expressed your reluctance to vacate the room. It was after

pursuation of several hours and our offer to shift you and your luggage to the nearby hotel at

our cost, you consented to leave our hotel room. We would also like to point out here that you

had kept the hotel room occupied till 9 p.m. ie. much beyond your check-out time (12 noon) for

which no charge was imposed on you.

All along our staff members were courteous as usual in their behaviour and they

extended all co-operation to ensure your comfortable stay with us and your smooth shifting

to the nearby hotel. Sir, had there been any vacancy, there is no reason why your stay would not

have been extended.

We wish, you reserve your rooms at Hotel Niharika sufficiently in advance for the number

of days required by you, and your stay can always be extended based only on the availability of

rooms.


Regards,
Bidyut Kr.Guha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Fortuna
Hotel Casa Fortuna
#23 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Prime Kolkata
Park Prime Kolkata
#109 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#16 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#17 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
189 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#48 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niharika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niharika

Address: 5, A. J. C. Bose Road | Near : Minto Park, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Niharika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the business hub of Central Kolkata, Hotel Niharika, a business class hotel offers a bouquet of personalized services and ethnic hospitality which the business clientele and leisure travellers yearn for.Hotel Niharika guarantees a pleasant stay for its guests in its 53 spacious and cosy rooms, superbly designed multi cuisine restaurant and coffee shop and dedicated and affable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Niharika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niharika Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing