We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Pipal Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pipal Tree Hotel
Ranked #26 of 251 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

New hotel in city of Kolkata.. very near to Airport and just opposite to City Center Mall II.. Needs improvement in terms of service.. Food quality is good but the menu offers very limited dishes.. if you love shopping on the go, then head towards City Center Mall (5 mins walking distance).. Hotel offers airport pick up and drop facility as well.. Checkout time is quite high (it took me almost 30 mins despite i informed the reception in one day in advance).. overall offers value for money.. This hotel also has a restaurant called "Tamara" which has become quite popular in short time.. on weekends don't be surprise if you asked to wait here..

Room Tip: Rooms where the Wifi signals are strong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ecquando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here as part of a one-night transit in Kolkata - location wise it is very close to the airport so that's a plus. If you are going there with family or few days stay for business this is not recommended as it is quite far away from the city.

The hotel has a unique but confusing ambiance. On one side it has a modern lobby whereas the hotel rooms have designs which are inspired by local culture. I was amused to see a ladder inside my bathroom with towels hung on it - unique but it did consume extra space.

The room sizes are OK, less storage space and bathrooms are small too.

The hotel has a Dominos outside in the building and the internal restaurant is also OK for room service. However the breakfast was a disaster - very few options and very basic.

All in all, for a transit, it's OK but for a business traveler or a family trip I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitinkalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here while waiting for a flight with family. hotel is very close to the airport which is a plus point for transit passengers. rooms are also good!!

room is of ok size, it even had a foot massager,when we checked in the room was clean and spotless, but the housekeeping staff had not changed nor cleaned the bed!! the blanket was pulled over the bed and just folded.under the neatly folded bed sheet it was another different story . We found pieces of hairs, dirty bed sheet .they has not changed the bed sheet , it was all crumpled up. we had to call up reception and ask them to clean the room again, this was quite irritating as we checked in around 2:30 am and by the time we slept it was nearly 4:00am

room service need a lot of improvement, i had dialled the room service extension, they then told me to dial the in room dining, they the in room dinning guys tells to call the room service as this number was for the restaurant. staff was also not very sure where to call for in room dining,food was decent.

decent hotel but the house keeping needs to be improved

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank General_Manager_Gtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The service quality needs to drastically improve. Checkout took more than 15 minutes.

The hotel is right on a busy Road, sound proofing in the rooms is good so you don't feel it but don't expect a view from the room or restaurant.

Rooms are reasonably good with HD DTH connection (a plus during FIFA season). A foot massager is also placed in the room. Lighting in the room is very dim and controls of lights are spread all over the room. Bathroom is spacious but one has to wait and waste water for 5 mins to get hot water.
Service is slow in general. Processes and systems need improvement though staff seems to be a good bunch of young passouts who want to do a good job.

Someone has tried to make it a boutique hotel but has not made a wholehearted attempt. The ambience confuses you on whether you are in a boutique, business or economy hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipalTreeHotel, Front Office Manager at Pipal Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for considering Pipal Tree Hotel as your preferred choice.Your feedback at Trip Advisor is very valuable to us.I would like to express my earnest apologies for all the inconveniences.We are deeply concerned...and we assure you to make your next trip a memorable one,which you will be proud to share with others.
You feedback has been passed to our management and we will definitely take care of it.
Again I wish to apologize on behalf of our entire team and as expressed to you that do not make it life time experience and give us one more chance to serve you.

Regards,
Gaurav Goswami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

All the services are gr8., ri8 from receiving customers to room service and hospitality but lil overpriced.., i wish management could read this review cum with little lower price.
overall i must say its a nice hotel for those who needs quality and staying for the purpose of airport issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Siddhartha Sank... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipalTreeHotel, Front Office Manager at Pipal Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the patronage of Pipal Tree Hotel and sharing your kind words and feedback at Trip Advisor.
We believe in providing our guest the "best of the best" Hospitality standards and services at a very reasonable tariff.
However,your feedback is very valuable to us and definitely we will work upon it.

Regards,
Gaurav Goswami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is just 3-4 kms from the airport and within walking distance of malls and eateries. It is good value for money only if you avoid the taxi service provided by the hotel which is a rip off. For example, drop off to the airport is Rs. 600 or 650 for a 5-10 minute drive. Outside taxi by the meter would cost less than Rs.200. If you are taking a day trip in the hotel taxi, it is really a big rip off but perhaps other hotels also have similar rates for their taxi service.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant called Tamara, has good food and the dining-in-the-room service is very good. Buffet breakfast on the G/F has both continental and Indian food. However, it is very crowded between 8 and 9 a.m.

Free WiFi plus a leg massager in the room.

On the whole, a good and reasonably prices hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipalTreeHotel, Front Office Manager at Pipal Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time to share your review on Trip Advisor and also sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel.
We have already shared your feedback with our core management team regarding the travel desk and we are working on it.The charge of our travel desk is at par with the city rates (maintaining all the standards of the car).
It has been our constant endeavor to deliver the best of all Hospitality standards to our guests and we firmly stand committed to our promise so that we can make your stay a memorable one.
I would like to thank you again for your precious feedback.

Regards,
Gaurav Goswami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I visited on June 4, 2014. Great, Helpful staff..Very comfortable stay..foot massager in the room was a surprise & most welcome element after a tiring stay. Great amenities..and very comfortable overall..Lovely room & super clean bathrooms...Food is very average though..that could be bettered..very close to airport.. great option for people who want to take early morning flights.. Value for money !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Dhrumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipalTreeHotel, Front Office Manager at Pipal Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending some of your precious time to share your review on Trip Advisor and also sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel

Regards,
Gaurav Goswami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
2.1 mi away
Ethnotel
Ethnotel
#28 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
226 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tatvam Residency
Tatvam Residency
#23 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
289 reviews
0 mi away
The Fern Residency Kolkata
The Fern Residency Kolkata
#27 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regenta Inn Larica
Regenta Inn Larica
#33 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Majestic Suites
The Majestic Suites
#32 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Celesta - Kolkata
Celesta - Kolkata
#49 of 251 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipal Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipal Tree Hotel

Address: AS/464, Hatiara, Major Arterial Road | New Town, Kolkata (Calcutta) 7000 157, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pipal Tree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipal Tree is a hand-crafted four star category hotel, which is proud of its great hospitality and customer satisfaction. It is an upper midscale hotel brand based on the concept of tradition with style. It is in close proximity to the Kolkata Airport and seeks to provide premium hospitality services to the city's fast growing business travel and tourism. Keeping with its motto of "Continuity of Unspoken tradition", traditional Indian arts and handicrafts like Patta Chitra, Madhubani paintings and Kantha have been used to add richness to the elegant interiors.The 280-340 sq feet elegant rooms provide intricate quality services with their exquisite and contemporary décor which will make your stay joyous & memorable. Each of the room features 10 inch best in class mattress, niche lighting with custom designed bedside lamps, foot massager, mini bar , Video on Demand, Wi-Fi internet connectivity, 24 hours concierge & various other top of the world amenities to provide optimum comfort. Whether it is a traditional bath to soak away the stress or a rejuvenating designer shower, the bathroom simply oozes opulence and class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pipal Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipal Tree Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing