We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to be if you are on business trip”
Review of Tollygunge Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tollygunge Club
Ranked #39 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a place to be if you are on business trip”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had registered in this place on the 8th night. We were informed by our client that the place is one of the best in Kolkata. As we were new to this place we had agreed to this rather than a hotel. We had 2 single rooms for four nights. The troubles started the same day, when we went for dinner. It turned out to be a buffet, but with extremely very limited selection. And to make matters worse, there was not even one product which was medium spicy. The chili seems to be cheap in this place. The soup, the main course etc was all spicy to the maximum extend.

Then back to room, the free WiFi never seems to be connecting. We called and complained to the reception. Neither me nor my colleague could the connection working on the laptop, ipad nor the smart phones. The guys were not even a bit helpful. They were not even willing to come up to the room to resolve it. Their take was come down to reception and we will try to resolve the issue.

Next day morning (9th), another buffet breakfast. Fried Paneer, Pork Sausage, omelette, and bread. Nothing else. So if you are not interested in bread, leave. Back to the rooms after meetings at 9:30 pm and there was only warm water in the pipe. Didn't have the energy to face another dinner there. The toilet flush started to act funny. No one comes to repair it.

10th morning. No warm water even to take a bath. Complained to the reception and they informed to keep the taps open for 20-30 minutes and they were not even willing to accept the fact there is no hot water. Kept it open for long period. Nothing happened. Called again and they were getting pissed off. Informed us to wait for the hot water as and when it will come. We were getting late for meetings and now was on verge on accepting any option. So took a bath in the cold water. We decided to move out of the place as we were facing delays in meetings. We packed up everything and informed the reception we were moving out. To add insult to injury the guy in the reception informed us they were not putting penalty on us for moving out earlier than the booked days. As if we were at mistake for their short comings.

The club was built at the time of the British and was well managed by them. The current , management wants make it look as if it's still under the British management, but falls very short of it. First ensure the rooms are in good conditions. Start with the basic before you try bigger stunts. Maybe it's good for people who comes for a break, doesn't want the disturbance from daily hassles like telephone, internet etc. But definitely not for people coming into Kolkata for business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skele2on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    51
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
22
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The 100 acre club grounds boast an 18 hole golf course. Most of the club's sporting activities are closed on Monday so be careful and plan your travel accordingly. It has facilities like Restaurant, Squash, Bar, Swimming, Gym, Tennis, Horse Riding. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean but I found the beds a little uncomfortable to sleep on. There's no room service after 9:30 PM so I felt that the club rooms and service could improve slightly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frqttraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As usual, the other reviews that I read about "Tolly" are quite accurate.

The "Club Culture" is quite interesting in India. I was fortunate to be able to visit a number of clubs, and Tolly definitely stands out.

My room, specifically the bathroom was not as modern as I would have hoped. The business center is helpful to know about, and is staffed with someone to help you.

The property is indeed a respite from the hustle and noise of the streets.
I am not accustomed to seeing some of the signs about where "domestic help" can stay, sit, park, etc.
The food was good, and I appreciated the many different dining and bar options.

Wifi was not consistent -- but I understand that this happens sometimes
I could see how this property might have had better days -- and from what I understand, they are doing a lot of work to update the facilities, and restore some of original grandeur.
It helped to have friends that were members...
The front desk/office staff were helpful, but know that you have to go to them.
I found that the more I shared where I stayed with people in the U.S. and Europe -- many people had friends and family connections to "the club."
I can definitely see myself returning on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umdloti, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for three nights in this oasis amongst the hustle and bustle of Kolkata. Lovely rooms with full bathroom and ample cupboard space. Free Wifi is a plus too. With the room comes usage of all club facilities, like pool (inside and out), golf course etc. Various eateries and bars most of which are closed on Mondays. There is a spa offering Ayurveda treatments too.

Room Tip: Try the Indian breakfast options but you might need to add another sachet or two of instant coffee t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

In the midst of the cacophony of Kolkata's traffic, lies a 100 acres of lush green surroundings - the Tollygunje Club. Tolly Club as it is popularly called, is a sports club that has facilities for golf, tennis, squash, riding, bridge etc. The property has a colonial feel to it, reminiscent of the British Raj. The club is enclosed with variety of fauna, making the atmosphere very serene.

The room we stayed were very modern, comfortable and clean with all basic amenities.

We had our dinner in an open air restaurant called "Shamiana" , overlooking the pristine green golf course. The food, alocohol and snacks are very affordable.

In some restaurant like Tipu Sultan, you are supposed to wear collared shirts and proper footwear, else you will be turned back.

The only not to satisfying point of my stay was the service, it is very laid back.

This club is a complete get-away from the hustle bustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank the_photowallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

What a difference you feel once you turn away from the busy street to the club property. From the time you enter it is a different world. Miles and miles of long lawn with the golf course is a such an eye soothing scenery. In the night you can hear the jackals hooting. A very rare experience these days. The restaurant and the club is very well maintained. kept .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Its a nice club in the City of Clubs, Kolkata. The stay was comfortable (the room was really nice, don't know why others found faults or may be I was really lucky)... but never, never stay there on Monday as you'll be hard pressed for options. On Monday, the Club is closed and the guest have to compulsorily visit the Belvedere Room (this is closed on Tuesdays) for the basic meals... and nothing else is available.

The food at the Belvedere Room is classy, whilst that in the Tipu Sultan Room is grose.

Room Tip: Try room nos 101 - 109 & 300... they are the best overlooking the greens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebashisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
3.5 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
East Palace Hotel
East Palace Hotel
#183 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
24 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
2,053 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treebo Globe International
Treebo Globe International
#36 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollygunge Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollygunge Club

Property: Tollygunge Club
Address: 120 Deshapran Sasmal Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700 033, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Tollygunge Club Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Tollygunge Club Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing