We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ambience and service”
Review of The Lindsay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lindsay
Ranked #43 of 229 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was there for 5 nights. The hotel is good with clean rooms . The good thing is that, when we came out the hotel there is a good 'New Market' where we can shop a lot. It is also nearby other places like park street, victoria memorial and so on. Staff is well dressed and helpful.Service is good and food quality is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varun_5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Since 2009 it's very improved. Good service, water and wi-fi complimentary. The man of the elevator is an unesco heritage. Rooms are not so noisy, breakfast is ok. I remember the restaurant on the roof with an impressive view of the City. Just one problem with city informations: I've asked in reception a place for an Ayurvedic massage but it was impossible to find out.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrrobertot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I booked through make my trip for two executive rooms.They gave us a very cheap room and the justification they gave us was that , the other rooms were being renovated and were not on offer. In short not worth for what they charge.Very poor Infrastructure too....

Room Tip: Please avoid staying in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pramoth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I Booked this hotel for my family at the last leg of our trip through MakeMyTrip. The Executive Room was very small compared to the Price it charged us (INR 11500/-) for 2 nights with just Breakfast. Though, the staff were helpful. It is not worth the price we paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

hotel so money orientated!!! stayed for 7 nights was quoted one rate and charged another!! be careful and check everything!! friends of mine were also moved because of a wedding party!! they made the excuse of plumbing problems!! avoid this hotel there are much better options at a cheaper rate!! this place needs to get back to basics of customer service!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertos186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

it is a good place to stay. you can get taxis easily. there is a lot to shop near by. hotel staff was friendly. breakfast buffet was ok. the roof top restaurant is very good. pan fried chilli prawns is a must have.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Viquas uddin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Lindsay Hotel in in the heart of Calcutta. Staying there, you can see the heart beat, hear it and feel it. Around it are the shops, restaurants and odds-and-ends that Calcuttans live every day. It is not as grand as Peerless Inn or the Park Hotel. But for Rs 3000 a day, including breakfast, you get a decent room and a view of the city's history.

The entrance will put you off. There is an ancient lift operated by an equally ancient man, that takes you to the reception on the first floor. The receptionists are usually spaced out and take their time signing you in. There is an indeterminate but tasty welcome drink in arrival, but the process isn't an ordeal as they are polite. Once through this, things improve.

Leave your bags in the room and take a walk outside. I experience Calcutta's street shopping, trams, jams and metro within a five minute walk from the hotel. Park Street with its fancy shops and restaurants if a 10 minute walk through jostling crowds. Victoria Memorial is half hour walk, best done early morning. Its a lovely brisk walk through a park to the Memorial built to commemorate her coronation. So is the Governor's bungalow. The Hoogly river lies just beyond.

The hotel's rooms are small but adequate. There is a TV and free wifi - get your password from reception. They have a tea/coffee service in the room. The bathrooms are also very usable. All in all, the stay is nice. Food is really good but service tends to be slow. It makes sense to eat out since most good restaurants are short walk. I would recommend it because of its location, food and comfort.

Ask for rooms facing forward so you get a view of the market built in the 19th Century. Its pretty.

Room Tip: Ask for the forward facing rooms. All are air-conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelindsaykolkata, Guest Relations Manager at The Lindsay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lindsay, Kolkata!!!

We are glad that you spent your valuable time to review us. Thank you for your feedback.

Have a nice day.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#63 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#61 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#44 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#173 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#29 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#179 of 229 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lindsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindsay

Address: Lindsay Street | Opp New Market, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700087, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 229 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lindsay 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the vibrant heart of the city centre, both literally and culturally, this is where modern day Kolkata throbs & this is also where Calcutta, the erstwhile Capital of India still lives…. This 70 Room boutique hotel offers a lovely view of the majestic Victoria Memorial Hall on one side and the heritage building of Sir Stuart Hogg Market (New Market) on the other; and all the major shopping plazas & multiplexes, Corporate & Government offices and Consulates are within a close 2-3 km. Experience a relaxing, exciting and memorable stay at ‘The Lindsay’. In its tastefully decorated 70 plush Executive Rooms, Heritage Rooms & Suites with the feel & visuals of a bygone era, yet offering the most comfortable and practical amenities for modern day business traveler ensure a relaxing and memorable stay. 24 hrs room service With a glimpse into the rich history & cultural heritage of the City built into every nook & corner of the hotel, the atmosphere at ‘The Lindsay’ is a tribute to Calcutta’s legendary charm, its luminaries, its warmth, its amazing food, the iconic buildings & institutions…..! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Lindsay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lindsay Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing