We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, average rooms”
Review of Hotel The Sojourn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Sojourn
Ranked #91 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, average rooms”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for four days on a business visit to Kolkata. The room had a very stuffy
smell which stuck to my clothes for a while and it's a good thing I didn't require
the air-con at this time of year. I did not want to try it - there was a half-centimetre
gap between the air-con unit and the hole which was made in order to fit it into
the wall with the result that I could see through the gap to the outside. In general
the room and its amenities seemed rather worn.

On the positive side the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant in
the hotel served food which was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    30
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
4
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

If you want a place to sleep that is decent, clean, has a nice restaurant that is not too pricey, room service and dependable laundry this is a good place to be. The bathroom has all the toileteries and clean towels. Despite being on a biggish road the rooms are very quiet. I did not get a chance to visit the bar/ restaurant since I mostly ordered room service. Sojourn does not boast great reception area, or expansive vistas from rooms but has a reasonable breakfast (included) toast, omlette, some fruit, tea/coffee, one or the other south indian option, and one local option. It is a sufficient meal not exotic. The staff is friendly and if you ask, you can get anything. One thing is that the bottled water in the room is purified Aqua Guard water, so if you are sensitive or are visiting from abroad, order bottled water from room service. The difference between a deluxe and superdeluxe room is not so much space, former does not have a mini bar/fridge.

In Kolkata, this hotel is less connected to auto rickshaws/public transport etc, however, due to the AMRI hospital nearby there is a profusion of cabs even at odd times. That is a great plus and in terms of getting to the hotel, most taxis will come if you may them 10-20 Rs extra. Considering, you will save considerably on room tariff compared to hotels around that area (about 4000Rs+tax versus 7000 Rs+tax), this is a good option. For people who visit Kolkata for the first time-
1. The station Bidhan Nagar Road is about 60 Rs and 15 mins away.
2. Two malls- Mani Square and City Centre I are nearby though not walkable.
3. Within 5-10mins of a short walk there is a Subway and if you walk further for 5 more minutes, there is 6 Ballygunge Place and within a block a Cafe Coffee day, a small store for water and knick knacks.
4. The hotel has a car rental service- bit steep but the cars are nice and new-1300 Rs for 10 hours, 100km and airport drop is about 600. The latter is a bit too much-you can hail a cab from outside easily.

The only thing I would like Sojourn to do is to offer non-smoking rooms, and not rooms cleaned after a smoker leaves. It was a bit of a bother, smoking neighbours was a bit hard to handle at 6 am. This problem I also had in Peerless Inn. However, value for money, service, location, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaySingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were put up at the hotel as part of a marriage party. Good clean room. Prompt room service. Geyser didn't work but was fixed by the evening (not bad considering its Kolkata)....all-in-all a no frills experience.

Restaurant is tidy and breakfast was above average and sufficient. We ordered some Indian starters at the room and those also were not bad. Staff is courteous.

The lighting in the room however could be improved. Very dim.

Room Tip: The hotel faces the main road so take a room on a higher floor (6) or then rooms that face the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhanbad, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

we stayed here and they offered us excellent services, rooms were nice and cleanliness is maintained everywhere in the hotel. 3 star hotel it needs to be praised for its services and quality of the food and beverage they serve during our stay. I will say in sort excellent in services and best in food and quality of stay one can enjoy there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prem26bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

good hotel with good service good food only bathing space is small. the staff is helping and courteous . food served is in good quantity but a bit expensive.ridged in budging with rates. no compromise. Best part in bathroom all essential toiletries are made available which is less seen in 3 star accommodations good for business and professionals.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayantsinghtomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights for business trip, the experience was not good. It was 3rd early morning 3AM when i had an encounter with bed bugs,....!!! I couldnt sleep whole night. I immediately called up the reception to ask for checkout, however they had arranged another deluxe room which was better then the previous one. Starting from Break Fast , the Coffe Shop which is opened 24*7 doesnt offer more then dark brown breads and some fruits.
The only plus is location and infact bar is better then the Room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepddn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelthesojourn, Manager at Hotel The Sojourn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Sir,

We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience and we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you.

We take utmost care in ensuring cleanliness and hygiene and hence we have tied up with the best companies to provide pest control services.

However sometimes there are instances when the immediate previous departing guests unknowingly leave behind pests such as bed bugs and this might have been the problem in your case too.

We do again tender our sincere apology and hope you would give us one more chance to serve you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I booked a room for a friend well in advance. However when we went in to check in at 9pm that day we were asked to wait for 30 minutes since they had given the room to someone else !! Very unprofessional.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kajari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelthesojourn, Manager at Hotel The Sojourn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Madam,

We are extremely sorry for any inconvenience caused to you.

However we can assure you that there must have been some kind of mis-communication or some unavoidable circumstance which might have led to the problem.

Please do note that we have tried to contact you through this website to get details about your grievance but we have not received any reply till date. Hence it is difficult for us to even investigate the matter.

Please do give us details of the problem and chance to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel De Sovrani
Hotel De Sovrani
#66 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treebo Vedanta
Treebo Vedanta
#37 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
12 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
Monotel - Luxury Business Hotel
#13 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pipal Tree Hotel
Pipal Tree Hotel
#20 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip
#3 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
IndiSmart Hotel
IndiSmart Hotel
#63 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Sojourn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Sojourn

Property: Hotel The Sojourn
Address: Plot No Kb 23, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700098, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Sojourn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set up in the beautiful surroundings of Salt Lake Kolkata, The Sojourn is a 3 star facility hotel offering impeccable service and comfort to guests across the globe. The tranquil locality with lush green vegetation provides a soothing and relaxing respite from the turmoil of everyday busy life. Replete with modern facilities and exquisite architecture, effort is put to ensure guests feel home even when they are miles away from their near and dear ones. The revamped multi-cuisine restaurant Flambe provides an array of sumptuous delicacies and the newly designed lounge bar Qube offers guests an opportunity to unwind after a hectic day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Sojourn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Sojourn Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing