We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short stay at a good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aston

Hotel Aston
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Aston
Ranked #154 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay at a good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The place is good if you have to spend most of your time outside Hotel. This is a very basic Hotel at a good location at Lansdowne nr. Ravindra Sadan station. The rooms are small but clean. Only one charging point is there in the room. Staff is helpful but service is on a slightly slower side. No idea about food quality as didn't order anything from the Hotel.
Slightly over-priced Hotel so better to book it through online portals like GoIbibo, etc using on-going offers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonakHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel as the last stop on a tour we had been on and we were both very disappointed with it. We realise that as we were on a basic hotel we were not going to get first class, but this doesn't excuse unhelpful staff or dingy rooms. Our other basic hotels were very good. Didn't help that on the morning of our departure that it was raining heavily and the street was flooded with water coming into the reception area and flooding there too! Would not stay there again if we found ourselves in Kolkata again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasato56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel on the end of a 3 week tour. All of the hotels i stayed in were of the same budget and simple accommodation. This hotel was by far the worst. The staff were rude and unhelpful. When we arrived to check into our twin room ee were told there was only a double. The room stank of smoke, even in the bathroom. Room service was slow. We asked 3 times for a second towel and never received one. On departure day, I asked if the room was available for a bit later on check out day. To begin with I was told yes and then 10 minutes later they changed their minds. I knew this hotel was not going to be 5 star and I normally read these reviews a bit cynically. But I had to write this as it was awful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My family visits Calcutta every Durga Puja... We stayed at this place....Manager was rude and incorporative....Ever after taking 50% advance service was horrible...
We asked for black tea and water was dirty...service was super bad!
Rooms are dingy and not clean...
Please avoid this place if you can!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhattkavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Took a double room that was rather small but but okay for just a night's rest. Bathrooms are more spacious but fittings difficult to use. No hotel restaurant so slow room service & don't count on a cheerful reception. Also not close to the major tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid ac room with ac just above the head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chemengg00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Great experience in the hotel, good ambience, food, location are well maintained. Hospitality is excellent & budget wise it won't make hole in your pocket. Kolkata is a nice place and this stay has added value to my stay in these days.Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROHIT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The best place to be for a business traveller... Although the rooms are small but the food , the service and the pricing is too good... I have made it my permanant hotel during my business visits to Kolkata.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtadharmesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aston International
Hotel Aston International
#97 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victerrace International
Hotel Victerrace International
#102 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Swagath
Hotel Swagath
#43 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Palace Hotel
Park Palace Hotel
#72 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Samilton
The Samilton
#76 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Chip
Blue Chip
#68 of 217 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston

Property: Hotel Aston
Address: 3 Aston Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aston 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aston is strategically situated in the heart of Kolkata, India, close to the city center. It is 20 km from the Dumdum Airport and 6 km from the Howrah Railway Station. Designed to offer complete comfort without breaking your budget, Hotel Aston’s air-conditioned guestrooms are furnished with a television and telephone. Running hot and cold water is also provided. For anything else you might need, room service is available round the clock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Aston Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing