We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the must visit restaurant in the city”
Review of Peter Cat

Peter Cat
Ranked #10 of 4,198 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the must visit restaurant in the city”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you are a foodie you can't miss this restaurant in Kolkata. This is one of the oldest and most renowned continental restaurants in the city. After the first time, I repeatedly came back for several times. Whether it is couple or family or friends, the ambience is perfect for all. I personally like its upstairs. Chelo-Kabob is its signature dish along with different Sizzlers. Don't forget to try the Russian Salad. Service is quite good. Try to avoid the weekend queue. We always visited on a weekday afternoon and got the most pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhuparyatak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    765
    220
    66
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

another very famous restaurant of Kolkata . its mostly crowded at night , and you will always have to wait in a line to enter . but the food will be worth your waiting time !! the food is delicious , especially the non veg . its located in kolkata's very important place , park street

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank malavika2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service, cool atmosphere - No Delhi Belly!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited Peter Cat for dinner last night. Ate famous kebab dish - very tasty and no Delhi Belly afterwards. Atmosphere is fun, waiters efficient and overall good experience. Cost us 1000R for two medla snd 2 soft drinks. Happy customer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chase8Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome. ..”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An excellent opportunity to have authentic cheelo kabab...wow...real value for money...I always vis Peter Cat..whenever I am in kolkata

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudipa2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food - Pathetic Customer Centricity/Service!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Another restaurant recommended by a friend as a must visit for its Chello Kabad among other dishes. Since I was alone and on a business trip I decided to take away a plate of Chello Kabab along with another starter for an early dinner. It was quite hot in the city since it was the month of May. At 6.00 in the evening the restaurant was only 1/4th occupied and so after placing the order I sat at a table for 2 awaiting my take away. The staff were so rude that they came to me and said you need to stand outside and are NOT ALLOWED to sit down.
When I requested the manager I was told that other customer MIGHT come in and then they it would not be NICE to ask me to get up so I am NOT ALLOWED to sit down.

I guess it was nicer of them to make me wait in the heat outside while the restaurant was 3/4th empty. A classic case of what happens to restaurants that are doing well they forget to value customers because of whom they are famous/doing well.

I hope the management is smart enough to take this as feedback and improve their system and employees.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshirvadLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter Cat also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Peter Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing