We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of all time fav in the city”
Review of Peter Cat

Peter Cat
Ranked #11 of 4,185 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of all time fav in the city”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have been going to this place since I was a kid having celebrated many birthdays,special occasions here with family and friends.Any visit to Park Street would usually end up having dinner at Peter Cat.This time I took my kids to this place along with my parents.My dad loves the food here.One disadvantage is that Peter Cat does not accept any reservations and usually there is a waiting of about 20 -30 minutes depending on which day of the week it is.We went on a Monday just to avoid the crowd.On seeing my 7 months old daughter in a stroller we were promptly given a table.Infact my 4 year old son and my daughter received a very warm welcome.This place serves amazing sizzlers ,one of my favourites here which we did order.The portions are very good .We did try its famous chelo kebab as well.For deserts you definitely need to try tutti frutii...it's one of the best in the city.The place has not changed much ..it looks the same even after it's renovation and restoration.We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shreerupa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    757
    217
    65
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
263 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“WOW! Great Experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The restaurant was recommended by our Kolkata Colleagues for Challo Kebabs which is served with Rice. The Veg Sheek Kebabs, Various Non Veg Dishes served are just great. It is recommended that if you are not a big eater, just stick to Challo Kebabs and not order any other side dishes as the quantity is too heavy for a normal eater. The restaurant is located in Park Street and is always full. If you are there for dinner, pls. be early so that you can get a seat. The food is tasty and great! & the experience WOW! Do not Miss it!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramachandran V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
270 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A good restaurant with a funny name !!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had been to peter cat for diner.The restaurant is located on park street.It was crowded on a saturday night.We got a seat to sit on arrival.The challo kababs are very famous in this restaurnat and this one dish is a meal by itself.The taste was good.Service was quick and prompt.
The only draw back was they didn't have a TV to watch the football match,which was a bit disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food good ambience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Peter Cat is a restaurant I have been going for the past four decades. Moreover its location was near to my past office so we used to have packed lunch from there too. I can say it has never disappointed me. The quality of food is still the same but of course now it has become too crowded. What I like most about this place is the courteous behaviour of the staff. The food is always good. Though most go there for their chelo kabab, please try other dishes as well, specially fish dishes.
Now I do not stay in Kolkata but whenever I go there I make it a point to visit Peter Cat.
Thank you Peter Cat for all the good memories I have with you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahua24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Park Street area”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I ate here a couple of times. The restaurant was always very busy. Service was quick and polite. Food was tasty and good value. Nice ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter Cat also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
Kolkata (Calcutta), Kolkata District
 

Been to Peter Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing