We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful food at exorbitant prices” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zaranj

Zaranj
Ranked #82 of 4,150 Restaurants in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
1 review
“Awful food at exorbitant prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Heard lot about this restaurant before but somehow could not manage to experience it. Yesterday had a dinner, and I seriously wished that I never went there. Interiors immediately need a makeover, service is below standard.but more importantly, the food, it is really awful though they are charging exorbitant prices. Tried tandoori chicken, moorg baroodi and lachha paratha. The chicken was not fresh, cooking was horrible, paratha was so crispy that it tastes like papad.

We were initially surprised to find this place only 30% full even at 9 P.M on a saturday evening. But after, we had our dinner, we knew the reason why. After all, there are plenty of places in Kolkata serving much better quality at one third of the prices they are charging.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smartkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Indian + Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

2 rooms, 2 ambiances. One is north Indian and the other is Thai. I generally go for the Thai cuisine but I have tried the north Indian specialties which are good too. Thai cuisine is really good (curries, Thai salads full of fresh herbs...) Only Baan Thai at Oberoi Grand can be considered better - but Zaranj price range is definitely more affordable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlorentParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best lacha paratha i ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

The food is the star of this restaurant,Their kababs are soft and tasty,The biryani was very good on first visit and ok the second time.Their lacha paratha is out of the world.To end the meal rabri is a must.The service is good.Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avisheks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great food excellent ambience,good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

we visited the place on last christmas eve which is usually a very busy place.the staff was very courteous & quick to make us cosy despite us being without prior reservation.we tried our hands to a sumptuous meal of roasted turkey & other mouth-watering delicacies.definitely an AABAAR KHABO place

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drarsingh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This restaurant is a very short stroll away from the wonderful Fairlawn Hotel on Sudder Street. It proved to be one of the best eateries we experienced during 3 weeks in India. It curiously seems to combine Chinese with Indian. We ate Indian and the four of us all thoroughly enjoyed our meals there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaranj also viewed

Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
Kolkata (Calcutta), West Bengal
 

Been to Zaranj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing