We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience - Beyond brick and mortar!”
Review of Floatel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floatel Hotel
Ranked #38 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1 review
“Unique Experience - Beyond brick and mortar!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Its a unique experience. It gives you the feel of being in a ship. The negatives first - The rooms are not so big and the food is over priced. Positives - The view is amazing from the sunset rooms! One could get up overseeing the river. The staff is courteous and cordial. The breakfast has a good spread and the dining area is a must visit. Please carry DSLR for the pictures that you would not want to miss.Overall beyond brick and mortar!

Room Tip: Choose either a Suite or a Sunset room! The higher the floor the better it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our service, food & ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.
At Floatel, Kolkata we take pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations regarding the PRICING. Please be rest assured that your feedback has been taken up by me with the concerned department.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future.

Thanks & regards
Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel -"An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    134
    91
    38
    32
See reviews for
81
77
33
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

To define or to describe this unique and wonderful deal will be to deny it! Extolling the experience will never do justice to the uniqueness of this wonderful deal...why don't you just go stay here when you are in Kokata next!

The reception, the staff, the rooms, the decor, the food, the view of the river and the sunset, the experience, the experience, the experience...everything about Floatel seems to carry some extra thought given to it. You ask for it and you get it!

Highly recommended for people who want to feel the beauty of not being motionless for a while...

Room Tip: Anything at the upper floors will help you see the sublime beauty of the Holy river, the Howrah Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountcleverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, food and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

At Floatel, Kolkata it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We look forward to meet you during your next visit to Floatel, Kolkata. We will be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Thanks & regards
Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel -"An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnataka, India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is quite nice. The whole "Aboard the Ship" feel is really cool. The view from the rooms is breathtaking. You can see the howrah bridge in the backdrop. Staff is friendly chirpy and very well chivalrous. Offers best view of the river. I loved the overall romantic feel of the hotel. The restaurant - The Bridge is a bit over pricey and without any good ambiance. The bar anchorage has a nice feel to it and again it was a bit over-pricey for my taste.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the upper floor. They offer a much better view of the riverside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sankalpita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata!!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and ambiance. We have noted down your feedback and shared with concerned departments.
At Floatel, Kolkata it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We look forward to meet you during your next visit to Floatel, Kolkata. We will be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Thanks & regards
Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel -"An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

When I book a room at Floatel I have big expectations. The location is extremely nice and the hotel does feel like an island of tranquility. My nice experience started from the time I sent a mail for accommodation, there after till the time I checked out, everything was taken care of in an extremely professional manner. The staff was nice and helpful, breakfast restaurant was nice, food was good, what wins is the way they have tried to keep up the place and the very prompt and courteous service. It is efficiently managed by the team, but it would be unfair if I don’t mention the name of the wonderful young lady Ms.Sadhana Baranawal. She along with her team managed everything very professionally & made the stay just perfect. Over all I felt very comfortable & strongly recommend for any type of stay and hope same expectation in future. ......Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Should opt for sunset room for excellent view of river Ganga
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiruMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and hospitality. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence. I have shared your appreciation to our team member for her excellent service.
At Floatel, Kolkata it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valueable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We look forward to meet you during your next visit to Floatel, Kolkata. We will be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Thanks & regards
Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel -"An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The feel of being in a ship with surrounding waters is good. The view from the room also makes you feel very different. The food and services is good. However one thing which definitely needs improvement is the fascilities & decor of the room. Interiors definitely needs upliftment. If it was backed by the interiors, I would have rated as 5.

Room Tip: Need to stay only in Sunset rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SHOAIB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and concept. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence. I appologise for not being able to accommodate you in our newly renovated room though we have already the renovation cycle already started to provide a fresh look to the rooms and the property.
At Floatel, Kolkata it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We look forward to meet you during your next visit to Floatel, Kolkata. We will be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Thanks & regards
Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel -"An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

while everyone is longing for a peaceful stay amidst the concreate jungle specially in kolkata i with my aged mother and my elder brother found floatel to be new peaceful destination. where we found that the most of the staff are always ready to help even if you are in a tiny problem.my aged mother enjoyed the stay and willing to come again. Food though little expensive but very good. only needs to have some variety in sweets. the acqua views are very beautiful and one can enjoy the beauty of ganges from floatel.
M.P.Rozario

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mathew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata!!!

At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence. We have informed Chef about your suggestion on sweets and choice of sweets made available.
At Floatel, Kolkata it is our constant endeavor to provide you with high standards of personalized service and efficiency. Feedback from valuable patrons like you helps us improve ourselves and exceed expectations.

We look forward to meet you during your next visit to Floatel, Kolkata. We will be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Thanks & regards
Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel -"An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

staffs are not friendly, concept somehow is good but the hotel services and the way of managing the reservations are just horrible, if you want to ruin stay in a unfriendly environment and want to pay a high price for poor services this is the right place.

Room Tip: just a horrible experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam05061986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Guest,

At the onset, we would thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have you stay at Floatel, Kolkata.

Going through your feedback, we understand that you faced certain discomforts during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same.

At Floatel, Kolkata we take pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations this time. Please be rest assured that your feedback has been taken up by me with the concerned department.

We deeply value your relationship with Floatel, Kolkata and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service.

Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata in the not too distance future.

Thanks & Regards

Arindam Bose
General Manager
Floatel-“An Eco Friendly Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
4.9 mi away
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
Fortune Park Panchwati Hotel
#23 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#49 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#2 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#22 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#48 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
260 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
The Astor Hotel Kolkata
#26 of 221 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floatel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Property: Floatel Hotel
Address: 9/10 Strand Road | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta), India - West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing