We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair accessible, although overpriced due to World Cup”
Review of Hotel Jangadeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jangadeiro
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Recife
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent service. Very responsive and helpful staff. Unfortunately I was there during the World Cup so had to pay their overinflated prices even though I wasn't in Recife for the football.

Rather steep ramp to get in to the lobby, but at least there was a ramp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nerakgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is the first time in many years of travel that I asked to have a room changed. The bathroom smelled of sewage, light in bathroom and hairdryer not working, faucet leaked,sink didn't drain, toilet seat too loose to sit on, unless your arms were 4 ft. long, you had to get up to reach the TP. no bathmat, floor so slippery we had to put towels down to walk on it.


























Bathroom smelled of sewage which is why I changed rooms. Neither bathroom light nor hairdryer worked. The floor, when wet was too slippery to walk on; it required 4 foot arms to reach the TP which was hung across the room from the toilet. The faucet dripped, the toilet seat was almost too loose to sit on safely, the door didn't close. There were NO hangers, the beds were wooden platforms with a 2" foam pad, sheets, pillowcases were spotted and the "mattress" cover was very dirty. The wooden slats on the frame could easily be felt through the
foam Mattress. The second room was better, but not what I would recommend. Location was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Bathroom is terrible. Rooms which final number is 10 have terrible view -all you see is the next building from a very small balcony. Beach (Boa Viagem) in front of the hotel has sharks, so avoid baths. Hotel is old and needs to be taken care. Elevator smels bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreiaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Beach front, a decent room with an OK WiFi signal, cleanliness could be better, hotel staff not very friendly. A large selection of Brazilian channels, but alas; not one is in English and most movies are dubbed in Portuguese. If you cater for international public, a BBC, CNN and / or Discovery channel goes a long way.

Breakfast is poor.
It`s local dishes from the Pernambuco region, so you get only 2 juices that I found disgusting, not even orange juice was available. You get some scrambled egg and some questionable greasy meat dishes among other stuff which I still don`t know what they were. No boiled eggs, no selection of Yoghurt`s (only 1 sweet one), a poor selection of (cheap) cold meats and 1 cheese.

They pretend to be a pretty top end hotel and the room was indeed nice; but the above things leave a lot to be desired.

Verdict: there are better options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stay there 3 days last September.
The hotel is nothing special, need some refresh and the rate was very high at the time of my stay.
Rooms are just ok, internet worked perfectly.
I assume that I had the best omelette for sometime there at breakfast.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Great location in Boa Viagem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolive75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed two nights in early March. The location is great. The hotel is located right on Boa Viagem beach, a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport, and within walking distance from some nice/trendy restaurants and bars. Breakfast is very good. They offer a good variety of fruits, pastries, hot and cold dishes. The breakfast room is in a sunny space, right at street level across from the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean, but are definitely in need of an upgrading. We noticed that the sheets/towels had stains on them and that they appear to be in need of replacement. We thought the front desk staff were very helfpul. The hotel provides complimentary wi-fi, beach towels and chairs. It also has a rooftop pool,but it was closed and dirty when we were there in early March (which surprised us). We had a high floor room with a balcony facing the beach, which offers great views of Boa Viagem beach. This is definitely worth paying a bit extra for, as it is one of the highlights of this hotel. I would say this hotel is a 2.5-star for USA standards, but given the poor hospitality landscape of Recife, it's about 3.5. For what's available in Recife, it's a decent deal and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCFrequent_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

If you want to enjoy the beach, not very expensive, reasonble accomodations, and you are not going to use wi-fi, pc services and stuffs, it is a good choice. This is a hotel with fair rate, but you must demmand a room with a view to the beach (better say you wnat a room with FRONT VIEW to the beach) to make it really works.

The breakfast is very good and with good, butt the room service is awfully expensive. My advise: there is a supermarket very close to the hotel. Bye bottled water, juice, snacks, wathever you are used to drink or eat during the night , bye these stuffs and take it to your room. A cup of "mineral" water is 4 times more expensive in Jangadeiro.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LVJRj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Recife hotels
Vila Rica
#7 of 57 in Recife
663 reviews
Hotel Manibu Recife
#10 of 57 in Recife
1,400 reviews
Recife Praia Hotel
#17 of 57 in Recife
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Barramares
#29 of 57 in Recife
230 reviews
Boa Viagem
Internacional Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jangadeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jangadeiro

Address: Avenida Boa Viagem No. 3114, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51020-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Recife
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jangadeiro 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Jangadeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jangadeiro Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing