We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST! Bolo de Rolo is a Godsend!”
Review of Casa dos Frios

Casa dos Frios
Ranked #1 of 88 Dessert in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Gracas
Description: Emporio Gourmet, reduto da gastronomia, adega premiada, tudo isso voce encontra na Casa dos Frios, alem dos Patrimonios Imateriais de Pernambuco: Bolo de Souza Leao e Bolo de Rolo, que sao quase o sobremone das nossa Lojas.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“THE BEST! Bolo de Rolo is a Godsend!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was here for the World Cup 2014 and was told to try the Brazilian traditional dessert "bolo de rolo" so I thought, when in Brazil do what the Brazilians do! Wow, am I glad I did. I don't even know exactly what was in it, etc. but it was the best dessert I've ever had. Not only did I try it, but I got two boxes of it to go and bring back to my family back in the US. I was told, this is "the original" bolo de rolo and am fortunate to have tasted the best in the world.

The store itself is clean and up-to-date. It's beautiful inside. The cafe is also nice, I stopped in there and got a coffee to go with my delicious dessert. If there is one place you should go to in Recife, this is the marquee spot. The groceries, the ambiance, the DESSERTS! All of them looked to die for, but the bolo de rolo was the best. I cant stop thinking about it.

Anyway, it would be a disservice for anyone to pass up Casa dos Frios on their trip to Recife. A beautiful, laid back, magical city with the food, service, and quality to go with it. Like a Whole Foods back in the US, but with more charm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    324
    32
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Doesn't get much better than this!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This lovely gourmet haven has been open for decades and still remains on the top of my list each time I visit Recife. They have top gourmet products that you can't find elsewhere. Great service, nice value for money and the best part is the attention to detail and flawless service. Great place to have a healthy breakfast, lunch or the mouthwatering sinful pastries which they are famous for. I love the "coxinhas" and all the traditional savory snacks and especially enjoy their amazing wine cellar for an exquisite drink after a long day. Looking forward to visiting again soon. High marks and definitely should be on the top of everyone's lists whilst in Recife.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent delicatessen and superb restaurant”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A fantastic place where you can buy any kind of food. The delicatessen sells imported foods and fine wines as well as typical Brazilian food. This place is most well known for its amazing and renowned cake, "Bolo de Rolo", but it also sells a wide range of other cakes and has a great buffet restaurant on the upper floor. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Take the cake "Bolo de rolo"”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Place interesting, where you can find many foods to buy. There you find the most famous cake called "Bolo de Rolo".
I recommend this place to have a snak and buy things to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celso C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Wide variety of kind of food. Seafood, italian, japonese, salads, steaks, etc. Good priceeeeeeeeeeee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa dos Frios also viewed

 

Been to Casa dos Frios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing