We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boa Viagem Praia Hotel
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, tired hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel is located across the street from the beach and the view from my room was beautiful. The room itself was musty (there were black spots on the floor by the windows) and the twin beds were very uncomfortable. The draperies didn't close properly so light from the street streamed in. Breakfast was included, but not a lot of variety. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandmomma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    202
    192
    100
    77
See reviews for
140
165
43
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here with two friends for three days while working with mangrove crabs. Even though I arrived way after midnight, the check-in was simple, and clerk was helpful and sent up warm towels and sheets for the third bed. Although crowded, the room was adequate with a good strong shower located in a reasonable space. I enjoyed the front room with panoramic windows, looking out over the sea and catching the sunrise. No noise from the street or corridor (room 402). Breakfast was great with caja juice, papaya and pineapple, scrambled eggs, french rolls and a variety of cakes and sweet buns, yoghurts, muesli and cheddar cheese with mortadella. The garage was tight but at least parking was off the street. In all, a bit run down but it was the right place for the right price for my needs.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea and walkway, ask for a front room. 402 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maracoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world wide
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Great location shame about the hotel. Dated and run down there are many others in the area that are much nicer. Bit far from towm but good bus service and taxis are reasonable and don't seem to take you ona world tour in Recife....

Room Tip: If you stay pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldlywise2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Very bad room like a corridor with 3 single beds; it looked like a bad holliday camp from the 70s. Very noisy as the windows did not close properly and the door neither. In addition the room was close to the elevator and the bell was ringing every time it stopped.
We move to another hotel later which was the same price and a real 4*. So no need to spend that money at the hotel Praia. We also had trouble canceling our booking after the first night and being reimbursed. Bad experience!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Recife hotels

South FL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I wasn't enamored of the place, for sure. Others have mentioned a musty, moldy smell, and that was the case with us, as well. There were mildewy spots on the lampshade in the room. Our room was on the top floor, all the way in the back, which meant we had 2 windows. One faced the building next door, and the "city view" from the other was lacking.

The beach across the street was a narrow stretch of sand, definitely not a place for sunbathing, barely a space for walking. "Shark Attack" signs were prominently posted. However, the small outside bar almost directly across the street made a really good caipirinha and had musical entertainment two nights of our trip.

Breakfast was good and plentiful.

Internet connection was sketchy, intermittent, and enormously frustrating --- but also free.

The elevator lurched in a very disconcerting way at "take off" and "landing".

Pool is tiny.

Water pressure in the shower was amazing.

Easy to catch a cab.

Cool street/crafts fair within walking distance, open 6 days (?) a week.

Photographs submitted by the hotel are technically accurate, but misleading. The desk staff was not particularly helpful or friendly.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms seem to be huge. They're probably numbers 101, 201 ... 901. We were in 908, way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllSheWrote101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The room where we stayed was sweltering. The humidity from the sea leaves a very unpleasant smell in the room and in the corner, behind the curtain, the wall was completely covered with mold. On the first day, we found a lot of hair in the bathroom.

We tend to focus on location when traveling. However, in this case, despite the excellent location of the hotel, if you have the chance, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castilhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We reserved this hotel due to the good reviews and somewhat decent pictures, but mostly because of the location. When we got to the hotel at 3 am it took them more than half an hour to get us to your room and when we got there......First of all it looks as if the construction didn´t finish, bad paint job, floor. The shower is tiny and you can barely fit. The bed was awful and the sheets were stained. Need I say more? Ah, the breakfast wasn´t that great either, run, run far away to another hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raquel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Recife hotels
Boa Viagem
Duble Hotel
Duble Hotel
#21 of 55 in Recife
402 reviews
Recife Praia Hotel
#16 of 55 in Recife
1,333 reviews
Park Hotel
#14 of 55 in Recife
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aconchego Recife
#22 of 55 in Recife
446 reviews
Hotel Barramares
#28 of 55 in Recife
223 reviews
Hotel Canariu's Palace
#40 of 55 in Recife
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boa Viagem Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boa Viagem Praia Hotel

Property: Boa Viagem Praia Hotel
Address: Avenida Boa Viagem 5576, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51030-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boa Viagem Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Boa Viagem Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boa Viagem Praia Recife
Boa Viagem Praia Hotel Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing