We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“helpful owners, good location”
Review of Pousada Casuarinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casuarinas
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Recife
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“helpful owners, good location”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Even before we arrived in Brazil, we received tremendous assistance from the two sisters who run this pousada, and they were very pleasant and accommodating upon our arrival. There is a lovely courtyard with several seating areas, plants, whimsical decorations, cats and a tropical bird. The bird whistles a little too much for my taste but did not keep us up at night. Rooms are simple, as is typical in Brazil. Close to beach, great restaurants, and basic services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
31
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I was stayed there for 5 nights with my mum and sister, in summary not great location, the breakfast lack creativity and the bread selection was always dry, the beds are very uncomfortable and small, do not stay in rooms without a verandah.
the first room we stayed in didn't have a veranda and didn't have much room to unpack our bags or leave them around the room. On the second night the air con was leaking so the following night they moved us to a much bigger renovated room with a verandah which made our stay a little better.
Some of the staff was quite friendly but sometimes you feel like you are staying at someone's house, not in a good way. We asked extra towels and they said no, it's restricted one towel per person.
The hotel is about 3 blocks to the beach, not the nicest beach and there isn't much to do around the hotel. I would definitely pay a little bit more to stay in a hotel in a better location

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mystic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great location next to Boa Viagem beach and good restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Air conditioning and ceiling fan in the room. Free wifi (unstable in the room, but fine even in the garden). They have some nice and quiet pets (probably won't be an issue, even if you don't like them). Breakfast includes local dishes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expedgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a very simple place, but in a very sought after neighborhood, Boa Viagem. It's also nice because it seems like a small beach house, with trees in a small courtyard. Besides that: the room aren't big, nor too small, the cleaning of the common areas are not so good (remember that, with trees, there are fallen leaves all the time). The furtiniture is in bad condition (one chair in my room was clearly damaged by fire). The mattress is too soft. The linen is very, very cheap. The breakfast is terrible! And the price, around USD 70, in my opinion is too high for what is offered (but I know that Recife, being a very business oriented town, has high hotel rates). I would not go back, unless there's no other hotel available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baianointheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Peaceful place just a couple of blocks from the beach and one block from public transport. Shaded tropical courtyard, including live parrot! Simple local handicrafts adorning public places. Wonderful staff, decent breakfast, nice pool. Room was basic, but larger than I had expected; property and room were kept very clean. All-in-all, great value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to return to the property on a future visit to Recife.

  • Liked — Its peacefulness.
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTRapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Recife hotels
Imbiribeira
Hotel Veraneio
Hotel Veraneio
#33 of 55 in Recife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Hotel Uzi Mar
#40 of 55 in Recife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Hotel Barramares
#30 of 55 in Recife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Enseada Aeroporto
#24 of 55 in Recife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Boa Viagem
Duble Hotel
Duble Hotel
#21 of 55 in Recife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casuarinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casuarinas

Property: Pousada Casuarinas
Address: Rua Antonio Pedro de Figueiredo 151 | Boa Viagem, Recife, State of Pernambuco 51011-510, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Recife
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Recife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Casuarinas 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Casuarinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Casuarinas Recife, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing