We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jerry/anita”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crane Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Crane Hill B&B and Inns
Meridian, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“jerry/anita”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A very relaxing place to stay. Tug and Maggie were excellent hosts. The breakfast and the view were both awesome. The ride on the tugboat to the marina for supper was a very unique experience. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this experience.

Room Tip: great view from the lighthouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The is one of the most relaxing places to stay. The lake is beautiful and clean. There is a paddle boat to have fun in and you get a free ride on the tug boat. The ride lasts for an hour or so and is just wonderful. The owners are the best. Tug and Maggie are so nice and feel like old friends. I really felt like my husband and I were being taken care of. So relaxing and it feels like you are in another world with no worries.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokes Bluff, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband found this lighthouse for us to stay for our 9th wedding trip. Tug and Maggie are so nice and do an excellent job making people feel welcome. The lighthouse is so cute and romantic, they food was out of this world. Our weekend there was the best trip my husband and myself have been on as a couple. We are going to make this our weekend getaway as often as we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband, knowing of my childhood dream of living in a lighthouse, and my lifelong love of all things lighthouse, surprised me for my birthday with a lovely weekend getaway at AnchorLight. Maggie and Tug are the perfect hosts, the breakfasts were wonderful... all the personal touches and attention to detail are everywhere... a beautiful location and a wonderful stay!!!! I can't say enough about this special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PammyPoo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I found out about this B&B while surfing the 'net for a place to stay over Veterans Day weekend. I'm glad we chose to stay at AnchorLight because it was a once in a lifetime experience. This couple has built their lifelong dream and now shares it with others.

We enjoyed spending the evening in the top of the lighthouse watching the sunset while eating snacks and drinking sodas provided for us. Finally we went down to our room where we had a good nights rest. While there are TV's there if you want to watch, we chose just to take it all in with that being a distraction.

The following morning we woke up to a great breakfast provided for us in the lamp room at the top of the lighthouse. It was pouring down rain (which just added to the experience) and our hosts brought our breakfast up to us even in this inclement weather.

The weather was not the best but we had a great time anyway. We will go back and take a ride around Smith Lake in the Captain's tugboat, Maggie. Maggie is also the Captain's wife's name. They were great hosts and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezriderga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband, three children and I visited the AnchorLIght B&B over the Labor Day Weekend. We enjoyed the light house accommodations, the dock and swimming in the beautiful Smith Lake. Our ride on "Maggie" the Tug was really beautiful and so very enjoyable. Maggie and Jon went the extra mile to make us feel welcome, from the little gifts for the kids to the nicely stocked snack basket.

We choose when we wanted our breakfast served (never early enough for my 13 year old daughter) and enjoyed an absolutely beautiful and delicious spread. Fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, eggs, bacon, biscuits.... yum!!

My hubby and I stayed in the 'main' guest room while the kids stayed in the lamp room. They were in the lake swimming before and between every meal! We enjoyed a bon fire each night we were there and roasted marshmallows while watching the moon rise over the lake, followed by yet another dip in the lake. We never left the grounds! When it was time to go home, we left feeling rested, relaxed and pampered! We are hoping to make this a yearly tradition!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast is an example of one man's dream comes true. Jon, who was the Captain, had a dream to build a lighthouse of his own. With his determination and efforts, his lighthouse is suitated above Lake Smith in Crane Hill, Alabama.

The room is well-equipped, although it is a little bit small. However, you can ride on "Maggie" -- the tug boat -- to enjoy the scenery (the price is included). When you plan your next trip, you can think about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuet018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crane Hill
14.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Hanceville
23 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Cullman
Hampton Inn Cullman
#2 of 10 in Cullman
387 reviews
14.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Cullman
Comfort Suites Cullman
#3 of 10 in Cullman
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cullman
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cullman
14.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cullman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast

Property: AnchorLight Bed and Breakfast
Address: 251 County Road 881, Crane Hill, AL 35053-3529
Region: United States > Alabama > Crane Hill
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Crane Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorlight Christian Bed and Breakfast is a 53' lighthouse on beautiful Smith Lake in North Alabama. We may possibly be the only place where you actually get to stay in the lighthouse! Children are welcome, but we specialize in romance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing