We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, town not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cullman
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cullman
Certificate of Excellence
lexington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great hotel, town not so much”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed earlier this month on way to New Orleans. Hotel is clean, employees were incredibly friendly, helpful. Room was spacious, complimentary breakfast was very good with nice selection of food available. However this town closes its doors early. Got into Cullman at around eleven and everything except denny's and fast food was closed. No beer can be purchased after ten o clock. I enjoyed my hotel stay but will not stay in this city again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erhwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear erhwil,

Thank you for the nice review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our town it is a small town and it is very unique.If you ever do come back please stay with us again.

Thank you,

Ben Clowers
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    40
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
52
36
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved the smiles and loved the dining room staff. Loved the IDEA of employees being helpful, but the reality is they were incompetent. Didn't get to personally speak with the GM, who remained isolated, but each and every "manager", while polite and seemingly sincere, was unable to detangle botched reservations, even after three days. Housekeeping was polite and cheery but unable to make a bed or provide linens in a timely manner (e.g. 4pm and still no towels). For $156/night plus tax, we got taken; except that my mother is 92, I would have changed hotels.

Room Tip: If you book a handicap room BE SURE they note that or you will likely be placed in a regular room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carryfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear carryfont,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest feedback and candid comments are so very important to us, as they help us to improve our service and become stronger. Unfortunately, this type of review format does not give me the information that I need to get to the bottom of where the break down with the reservations process and housekeeping department occurred. If you would kindly send me an email at hieca@hotmail.com and let me know your room number and the date that you stayed, I will be able to review all of our processes in hopes of finding out where the problems you reported began, and what we can change to see that they don't happen again in the future.

Please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to the standard that our guests have come to expect.

Again, thank you and we wish you the very best!

Michelle Choisser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I was hoping this hotel would live up to Trip Advisor reviews but I was let down. Our room had an odor much like mold and we had to switch rooms right away. The next room was better but the bathroom was pretty beat up and could use some TLC. Floors were chipped, paint was dirty, and the floor needed a good scrubbing. The room was okay, nothing special. However, the staff was excellent and beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angellkiss19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Angellkiss 19,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I know that you have quite a few choices when it comes to choosing a hotel and our goal is to give our guests the best service and the best product. I am very disappointed that we did not live up to other reviewer's comments for your stay. If you will email me at hieca@hotmail.com and let me know which room you were originally in, and which room you were moved into, I will be able to follow up on the issues you described.

We want our guests to have the best experience possible at our hotel. Thank you for helping us to make that happen!

Thanks again and I wish you the very best!

Michelle Choisser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Was there for 3 nights. First night we were woken up at 6am to loud people in the room next to us. Front desk manager switched us rooms and was very helpful. Staff was welcoming during the whole stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Brent T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. While I'm sorry that you had a problem with the noise level in and around your room, I'm so pleased to hear that the problem was immediately taken care of and that our staff took good care of you while you were here. Thanks again and we wish you the very best!

Michelle Choisser
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel that was conveniently located on our route back home from Florida. The decor is beautiful and wonderfully updated. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was just what we needed before getting back on the road to home. There was a lady monitoring the dining room who was very attentive to keeping the food adequately supplied and the room clean. We were surprised to discover they still provide some smoking rooms in this hotel. We requested a room as far as possible away from those rooms - we were told only one was being used at that time.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the top floor at the end of the hallway. It was very quiet and peaceful. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We did just finish a full scale renovation and are very proud of the new look of our hotel. I appreciate you letting us know that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back!

Michelle Choisser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well stocked , Very good complimentary breakfast. Indoor Pool open till 11:00 pm. I liked that . Friendly staff, Room was clean, Bedding was clean, Room did have an odor, like a moisture odor I couldn't figure it out. Maybe because it was right across from the pool. One of the bulbs in the bathroom light kept flickering . If we were staying more than one night I would have just asked to switch rooms. Over all it was a good night.

Room Tip: Maybe not get room closet to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your candid comments about your room. I always welcome the opportunity to improve our property, which improves our guests' experience!

Thank you again and God bless!

Michelle Choisser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everyone from the front desk staff to the breakfast area people were super friendly! The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. I, too, like that they provide both firm and soft pillows. The only complaint from my family was that the biscuits at breakfast were not very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveBeaches1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchoisser, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cullman, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope that we'll be able to see you again. I will take some time to review our breakfast items, biscuits in particular, and see if perhaps there is some improvement that can be made. Guest feedback is so very important - thanks again for letting us know about your experience. I wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cullman hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cullman
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cullman
Hampton Inn Cullman
#2 of 10 in Cullman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Cullman
Comfort Suites Cullman
#3 of 10 in Cullman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Fairwinds Inn
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cullman
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Cullman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cullman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cullman

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cullman
Address: 2052 Hayes Dr NW, Cullman, AL 35058-5912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Cullman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Cullman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cullman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Cullman, Alabama and experience true southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, our town's finest hotel.This hotel is equipped with everything a traveler may need for a comfortable home away from home. Our hotel features interior corridors, and 78 professionally decorated rooms to give you an upscale environment. These bright, airy rooms are equipped with a 27 TV with cable and HBO, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, and two 2-line phones. Stay connected with high speed internet access throughout the hotel and free local calls. Get your work done at your executive work desk w/ergonomic chair. For your convenience, our hotel has a fitness center, indoor heated swimming pool, and guest laundry on site. All guests receive a free USA Today newspaper.Enjoy our complimentary deluxe breakfast featuring daily hot items, our world famous cinnamon rolls, and Smart Roast coffee.Are you planning a meeting? Our two meeting rooms can hold groups up to 120, set any way you prefer.We are located East of Interstate 65 off of Exit 310. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cullman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cullman Hotel Cullman
Holiday Inn Cullman
Holiday Inn Express Cullman Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing