We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”
Review of Gulf Breeze Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Breeze Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2008

First of all, let me say that my family and I have visited Dauphin Island at least once a year since 1985 so we are practically residents (smile). I went there for the first time during spring break when I was a junior in college..chosen specifically because there was no huge spring break/party crowd. I fell in love that day and now have formed a huge following of Dauphin Island fans. We have stayed at the Gulf Breeze several times over the years, in the double rooms and in the efficiency suites. The owners have always been very courteous and friendly and (as well seasoned travelers), we have always experienced a quiet, non-invasive stay while there unlike at many other hotels where the other guests might as well be staying in your room. The hotel is within walking distance to the public beach which is rarely crowded. There are restaurants and souvenier shops within walking distance also. The lsland is such a little gem for sure that I almost hate recommending it to others because I'd hate for it totwo seperate bedrooms that share a bathroom and then a small kitc become over-crowded or commercialized. There are no McDonald's or Wal-marts on the island but there are plenty of commercial opportunities for shopping and eating out within a thirty minute drive. I believe that of all the places we have traveled, you get the most undisturbed, true to beach life experience here than anywhere else. People who come here come because they love the clean air, the water, the food and the atmospere..pure and simple. A stay at the Gulf Breeze adds to that because it is quiet and close to everything. The suites have hen, dining area and living room. Perfect for families.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank journey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Gulf Breeze Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 171 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2008

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere we had never been and we decided on this trip. The Gulf Breeze Hotel was so clean and spacious. Great price per night. The management and staff were so friendly, you really have the warm welcome, that something extra special about the people and place. we can't wait to go back. LOVED IT !!!!! James and Kathy Brodeur

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank katandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Shh! Don't tell anyone, but there's a quiet little gem off the coast of Alabama called Dauphin Island. This small barrier island about forty miles south of Mobile, Alabama is probably the CLEANEST island we have EVER seen.

Perfect for a quiet, relaxing vacation away from the crowds, noise, and big commercial developments. There was a hurricane in the Caribbean when we were there so the surf was pretty rough. Inland, there was still a little damage visible from Hurricane Katrina (2005).

We stayed at the Gulf Breeze Motel, close to the public beach (showers! restrooms!) and the fishing pier. The coin-op laundry and clothes line downstairs were very handy. (We provided our own clothes pins.) There is a private boat ramp in back.

There was some minor damage to our room when we arrived (last week of August) which the staff took care of quickly when I brought it to their attention.

No WiFi (sorry!) but you can rent a satellite internet connection for the duration of your stay.

I love to cook so I used the kitchen a LOT. The selection of kitchen tools was eclectic but didn't bother me because I always travel with an essential cooking tools kit anyway (favorite knife, saucepan and skillet, plus a good box grater, vegetable peeler, can opener, and spatula.)

We stayed a week and I prepared every meal from scratch featuring fresh produce from the fruit stands near Bellefontaine and Theodore.

I particularly enjoyed the views from our room. Several mornings, we ate breakfast on the semi-private rear balcony overlooking Mississippi Bay. In the evening, I liked to stand on the front balcony and watch the sun set over the Gulf of Mexico.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and long to go back. It's been six months and I still have my vacation photos from Dauphin Island on my desktop! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Travelling_Foodiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Very clean. It looked newly repainted. Furniture was ok, beds were nice.
The kitchen was ok but the utensils were missing – you can not make any food part from heating a pizza… as there are extremely few kitchens-tools!
No wine glasses or any thing like that.
Close to the beaches and the fishing pier.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dikus68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauphin Island
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
23.5 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
149 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile I-10/Bellingrath Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
23.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#39 of 64 in Mobile
23 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Motel

Address: 1512 Cadillac Ave, P.O.Box 107, Dauphin Island, AL 36528-4375
Region: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Hotel Dauphin Island
Gulf Breeze Motel Dauphin Island, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing