We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gulf Breeze Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Breeze Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Perfect vacation at the beach! Older building is perfectly maintained and spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds and large kitchen / living room area. Huge lawn behind with picnic tables and grills. Directly across the street from a huge public beach on the Gulf. Friendly, helpful staff. I would go here every year if I could. One of the nicest places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Second floor is reached via outdoor stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank gleweliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    60
    25
    4
    8
See reviews for
53
73
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sikeston, Missouri
Level Contributor
211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our week at this little motel. Two full sized beds, refrigerator and coffee maker for $650 for a week, $95 for one night. Staff is friendly, bed is comfortable, sheets felt great and were so fresh smelling. We did have late room cleaning a couple of days but didn't care--was glad to take fresh towels and smile after a day on the beach. We will do this place again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I don't usually give five stars but this place earned it. If you are looking for a five star hotel chain with mints on the pillow, this is not the one for you. We were looking for a clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced room and we were not disappointed. The place is quaint and right across from the beach. The employees/owners were all very nice and accommodating. We met a friend with a boat for the weekend and there is a landing and a boat slip right on the property. The room was very quite. There are picnic tables outside for grilling and such. No pool but the gulf is across the street. Laundry at the facility to wash away the sand before going home. The only negative thing I can say is , there is no ice machine. They really should have an ice machine on the gulf, in the heat. Other than that, nice job gulf breeze.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203. The blinds and curtains are on the thin side so our room was great because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxley, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I've seen it all when it comes to hotels, motels & other rentals. Clean, dirty, down right nasty and those that I wondered how they were still in business. Gulf Breeze is without question one of the finest , cleanest, best maintained motel I've stayed in.This is a small 32 room 2 story "Mom & Pop" type motel which I love to stay at. On my arrival to the room / I immediately started looking for "what was wrong with it"? NOT ONE THINGI can not find one complaint. No motel/hotel smell. Blindfold me / take me to a room let me smell it and I can tell you it's motel or not. Beds are nice and all sheets, towels and pillows smell clean and fresh NO MOTEL SMELL. The husband and wife owners have done an excellent job providing such a high quality motel. My family and I will be back but we will be staying longer.The island here is also wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here on a trip across country. We had just purchased a plane in FL. The hotel was a fairly easy walk from the airport and close to several restaurants and bars. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly (along with the other guests). It was off season so we mostly had the area to our selves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldExplorer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraland, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This motel is by all means clean. The staff is polite, friendly, and go out of there way to please the customers. When I go into a room, the first thing I notice is its appearance, then the smell. This motel passed my test and I have walked out of many because of smells or looking unclean. It is a quiet, family oriented facility. Never once have I been disturbed when I stayed at the motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and absolutely loved it! I loved it so much that I planned a trip, booked a suite and invited family to come and stay! What a MISTAKE!!!! I booked my room in March and had everyone drive 6-8 hours to the hotel only to find out that our reservation had been cancelled!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And not by us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! After several minutes of telling us that they could not find our reservation, they finally found it in the cancelled stack....it had been cancelled on April 15......I think that they overbooked and did it themselves and tried to blame us. They did not care how far we drove, that we had over 200 bucks in groceries and that we had several small children that we had to think about. All we got was, I'm sorry and I got called a b$%#h by the worker behind the counter because I was upset. No trying to help us find a place to stay, no I'm sorry for the idiot employee who made the mistake, no trying to salvage this at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So, BEWARE when you make a reservation.............quadtruple check it because they tend to employ people who obviously have no idea about customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kristy0168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauphin Island
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
23.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.5 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile I-10/Bellingrath Gardens
23.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Motel

Property: Gulf Breeze Motel
Address: 1512 Cadillac Ave, P.O.Box 107, Dauphin Island, AL 36528-4375
Region: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Hotel Dauphin Island
Gulf Breeze Motel Dauphin Island, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing