We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice family run place on the shore”
Review of Gulf Breeze Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Breeze Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is an older property, but is very well kept up. It is not a chain but is family run. While it does not directly front on the beach, it is only a one block walk to get there. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are large and clean, and include a good sized fridge. And it is dog friendly. The owner was helpful with our inquiries about things to see on the island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Very nice people running this place. It is an older style hotel, but clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable. There were little fridges in the rooms.There are several dog- friendly rooms with tile floors. It's very nice that they do not discriminate against dogs according to size/weight as many hotels do.
There is a boat launch on the property and a beautiful public beach a short walk across the road. The place was lovely and quiet during our visit, I'm not sure how it is during the busier parts of the season.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The room was tidy, and the outside of this bayside motel was absolutely charming! We were on the bottom floor directly beside the motel office, and it was a little noisy, but nothing that bothered us much. This 1950s-ish place was a great option for us, since this was a spur-of-the-moment trip! The service was great, and the location was super convenient. Rooms have been updated since the 50s and ours actually had a tile floor. The upstairs suites have carpet and two bedrooms (for families interested in the property).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Momand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great clean and simple little motel! The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful! Stayed in a pet friendly room and my pups did great! Will definitely stay here again! Thank you for getting us in last minute!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kariandgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A very simple motel, no frills, but extremely clean, very quiet and the people were super. There is more to this little island than we had anticipated, and we enjoyed our stay immensely. It was the perfect relaxation after a crazy few days in New Orleans. Would definitely recommend this hotel, assuming you aren't someone who needs fancy pillows, room service and a spa tub!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Enjoyed the stay in pet-friendly room. Ceramic-tile floor; very clean. 1950s-era building; very quaint & charming. Nice, all-cotton bedding. Tasteful, basic. Would stay again. Centrally located & convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 42paul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is basically a two star simple motel, but it does almost everything it claims to do (and does it well). Two of us stayed here while I attended a conference at the Sea Lab at the eastern end of the island. We were in room 201, which is on the second floor at the end off the building. The porch in front of the rooms is broad and has Adirondack chairs which are quite comfortable. The view from the second floor isn't awesome but you can see the water. The motel is not on the beach, but the beach is just across the street in easy walking distance. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. The motel is obviously an older building, but the furnishings are relatively contemporary and have a beach-motel theme. The carpets are shag with a fairly high pile, which one might think is unusual for a beach motel, but they steam-clean the carpets between guests so they stay very clean (apart from the occasional sand spur embedded in the pile.) The linens and towels are high quality, and the water pressure in the shower is great. There's a laundry room (that we didn't use), and there's a boat launch on the property with a $3 launch fee, so this would be great if you were coming to put your boat in the water. Overall we loved staying here and would do so again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Doctagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauphin Island
23.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
23.5 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
149 reviews
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile I-10/Bellingrath Gardens
23.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#39 of 64 in Mobile
23 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#12 of 25 in Gulf Shores
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Motel

Address: 1512 Cadillac Ave, P.O.Box 107, Dauphin Island, AL 36528-4375
Region: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Hotel Dauphin Island
Gulf Breeze Motel Dauphin Island, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing