We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of Gulf Breeze Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Breeze Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Certificate of Excellence
mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We lived in the area many, many years ago, but never took advantage of sightseeing, museums, etc. We decided to stay in this retro hotel because it brought memories of how times were long ago. It was a very comfortable place with a friendly atmosphere.

At first I could not get online, but after asking in the office, I got online without a problem. The office was very helpful.

If you are looking for waterfront beach, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for just a place to stay while you enjoy other activities, this is a fun place to be.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    61
    25
    4
    8
See reviews for
53
73
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Semmes, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

I have read all the reviews about the Gulf Breeze Motel and I agree with all of them. The hotel is old, and it does have an old beach smell. The smell is not awful it's just how things are in an inexpensive hotel. Oh, it is not a 5 minute walk! The hotel is just across the street from the public beach.

The owners do have an attitude just like everyone else on the island. I really love Dauphin Island but it is very much like an old fishing town... they want your money but not you! I will say that things on the island are changing as there are new condos and a nice new restaurant.

In my opinion, if you are on a tight budget this is a good place to stay and an ok beach - the island has REALLY good fishing. If you can afford Orange Beach or that area, you would be much better off going there if your main focus is beach and swimming. By the way, there are A LOT of sharks around Dauphin Island so to NOT go out too far!

If you have question, please feel free to email me as I live in the area (within 30 miles).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ml4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This independently owned facility is exhibit relaxation and a slow pace in every part of our visit. If you are looking for an upscale hotel, this is not the place for you. But the quietness of the island and the slow pace for putting your boat into the Mobile Bay or walking across the street to the vast beach area and the Gulf.
Don't forget to get a fantastic fresh seafood meal at Skinner's Seafood. They bring in their catch (from their own boats) each morning and will steam anything for you. They also provide steamed corn on the cob, potatoes, and other fresh vegetables right in with shrimp or other catch of the day. You will never have a fresher meal than what Skinner's prepares.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1984N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

the bottom line is you get what you pay for, very clean room, very friendly staff, and quiet, which is pretty much what you get on the whole island. the cons of the hotel however if you choose to be picky, the rooms are very bare and the beds are really stiff, but if you like your bed like that your in luck. great location pretty much dead center of the island, and right across from the beach. in additon they have a picnic area with grills and a boat launch with slips around back. not the ritz but the pros far outway the cons

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekaplan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We stayed one night in March and really liked this Motel. It is across the street from the public beach and has a boat ramp to the Bay side.

Positives: the wide white walkways in front of the rooms with benches, friendly staff, fridges in the room, very clean, beach across the street, price

Negatives: no internet (but the reception said the visitor center has free internet), a little wear and tear on the rooms shows (but still very clean, so this did not bother us)

Great for a low key vacation

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alabama2Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My husband and I made reservations back in May for a July visit. When we showed up (it's a seven hour drive to Dauphin Island from our home), we were told they did not have our reservation. They eventually found it, because we had a confirmation number, but did not have a room for us and basically said we were out of luck. I asked to speak with the owner, who was no help. I asked at the very least for a credit to come back on the house for the three days we'd now be missing, and he refused, offering just one day (which wouldn't even cover our gas home). As the only hotel on the island, the owner has his guests over a barrel and really does not care how he treats them. I said "Is treating your customers like this how you do business?" To which he replied, "Yes ma'am, that's how I do business." I discourage anyone from rewarding his behavior. We lucked out and found one of the "Fish Camps" on the island vacant - much nicer, better location, and not much more money, plus management that cares.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
7 Thank tennesseetraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Memphis, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

The price was great, the location was good (not far from the beach). My problem was with the amenities. We had a standard room. The beds were uncomfortable, they seemed pretty old, everytime we sat on either of the beds it sounded as it one of us had passed gas. It seemed as if our room was the very last one cleaned. When we entered the room it had a funky odor, but we got used to it. It was nice that the room had a mini-fridge.

If you are on a budget, this is a good place for you. There is a bar close and the beach 5 minutes away.

I wonder if we'd gotten one of their units with the kitchens if it would have been nicer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The beds.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BlaineAndRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauphin Island
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
23.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#13 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
23.5 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile I-10/Bellingrath Gardens
23.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Motel

Property: Gulf Breeze Motel
Address: 1512 Cadillac Ave, P.O.Box 107, Dauphin Island, AL 36528-4375
Region: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Hotel Dauphin Island
Gulf Breeze Motel Dauphin Island, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing