We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerk at Gulf Breeze Motel!”
Review of Gulf Breeze Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dauphin Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Breeze Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Certificate of Excellence
denham springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jerk at Gulf Breeze Motel!”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I called to make reservations, but I also wanted to know the extent that the oil spill had at this time; if it was too bad we woudln't come, if it was not then we were going to make reservations for a few days. I called in the wee hours... the guy with NO personality picked up. I told him I wanted to make reservations, but was wondering how the oil spill was affecting them. He said it was spotty here and there, but he wouldn't go into more detail. I asked if they had alot of visitors and what they were saying. He said he doesn't speak to the visitors and hung up on me. I called back JUST IN CASE it was an accident. It WAS NOT. He hung up on me again. This guy doesn't thinks I'll just let this roll over but he has another thing coming....... I can't believe he would be like this especially when they need business more than ever! Butthead!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmhmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    61
    25
    4
    9
See reviews for
55
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This place is nothing fancy but the rooms were clean, dog friendly, and across the street from the public beach where dogs are allowed on the beach with a leash. Our room had a mid-size refrigerator in it so we were able to buy drinks and food for breakfast and lunch. Make sure to bring your own coffee maker if you want coffee for the morning. If you have a chance, check out the old boat dock at the back of the hotel. It's a great place to see the sun go down and to watch crabs, fish, and skimmer birds proceed with their evening activies.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astiglem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We were needing a place to stay on the Island and this was the only place willing to rent by the night. We would've loved to have a room with a kitchen but they were all booked. The beds were firm, rooms were spacious, area was nice and quiet. The room only had a fridge - would've been nice to have a microwave in the room rather than next door. Also the carpets were stained - but clean. Anything we needed all we had to do was ask. We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trooper911F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Gulf Breeze Motel is a nice clean hotel but very basic. There was no hair dryer or coffee maker. It's within walking distance of the public beach on Dauphin Island. It was economically priced. I would definitely recommend it to future travelers to Dauphin Island.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellejsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ozark, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This hotel isn't for the "jet set," but if you're looking for a comfortable, clean place to relax, this is it. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel that's been so clean or smelled so good. Although this area of the Gulf coast can be a little "buggy," we didn't find a single one in our room. The water was hot and there was plenty of pressure; a small fridge in the room allowed us to keep soda and snacks cold; and the beds were firm yet comfortable. There's a laundry room with microwave on site for late night popcorn. And within walking distance of the public beach and just a few feet from the intercoastal waterway, sunning, swimming or fishing can be enjoyed without a long drive. The only thing we didn't like was the long drive to Mobile to shop.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnyzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Could use some pictures on walls and offer some shampoo & lotion. Wash cloths are thread bare. But bed was great- very stiff...............Need more charis on balcony, we had one and people came in and moved all the chairs on top floor to their corner room.......

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotshotsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We decided on a Wednesday to go to the beach and booked a room at the Gulf Breeze Thursday morning. We checked in late and the staff was friendly. We had one of the standard rooms. We did not have overly high expectations and were pleased with the room for the two nights we were there. We would probably opt for one of the suites if we stayed more than a weekend, but our room was fine for this on a whim triip. Oh and the bed was surprislingly comfortable - I slept like a dream.

You can litterally walk across the street (about 300 yeards) to the beach and the old pier. You are also in walking distance to the Oar House and several shops. The bay is just out the back door (perfect for fishing).

If you are looking for down and granite, go elsewhere. This place is not for you. If you are looking for an authentic island feel, then this place will work just fine.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodgollem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauphin Island
23.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
23.5 mi away
Key West Inn
Key West Inn
#3 of 4 in Fairhope
147 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mobile I-10/Bellingrath Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#11 of 24 in Gulf Shores
41 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mobile - Tillman's Corner
23.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#38 of 64 in Mobile
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Breeze Motel

Property: Gulf Breeze Motel
Address: 1512 Cadillac Ave, P.O.Box 107, Dauphin Island, AL 36528-4375
Region: United States > Alabama > Dauphin Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dauphin Island
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gulf Breeze Hotel Dauphin Island
Gulf Breeze Motel Dauphin Island, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing