We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scallops or Not?”
Review of Wintzell's Oyster House - CLOSED

Wintzell's Oyster House
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scallops or Not?”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ordered the fried scallops dinner. When they arrived, my first thought was these are fish balls. They didn't have the typical disc shape of a scallop and tasted like fish. When we asked the manager about them, he offered to go to the kitchen and bring an uncooked scallop. When he arrived it was obvious that it was a processed scallop ( mostly fish with bits of scallop mixed in ). So! Beware of the fried scallops at Wintzel's. Needless to say, We won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VolsFan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not surprised that it closed”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I loved the wintzells on the coast and in guntersville. We were so happy when one opened near home in Decatur. It never came close to wintzells standards and service was poor. I am surprised it lasted as long as it did. We tried it twice. I would still drive to Guntersville for the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildred5404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Now Closed”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

As of January 2014, Wintzell's has closed in Decatur. This location has had many other restaurants and none seem to last long. Another one coming this Spring.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALoldsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This location is closed, and was never busy! Service was poor, food was not good has up to Wintzell's standards in other locations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over-priced food...”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Our waitress was nice, but she did not bring us bread. My husband & I split a plate, and she didn't bring us an extra plate to divide the food--we had to ask for it. The food was ok, but it was over-priced. My husband & I both were disappointed. We will not be back...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wintzell's Oyster House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing