We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Option for a Small Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Courtyard Decatur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Decatur
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Option for a Small Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed overnight at Decatur's Courtyard Marriott on our way back from a Florida vacation. Thanks to the business travel my husband does, we tend to collect a few free stays at Marriott hotels every year, so we selected this particular hotel only because we could stay for free. Sometimes saving a buck or two pays back big dividends, and this was one of those times. We were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a surprisingly luxurious hotel in the middle of Alabama.

Our room was spacious and looked to be newly decorated. It was very clean. There was a nice balcony that we could actually step out onto. Despite the hotel's location on a main thoroughfare, you had to drive down a lane away from the highway to get to it. There didn't seem to be other businesses nearby, so there was little to no traffic noise. The lobby was large and several families seemed to be enjoying the comfortable space to visit and enjoy a televised basketball game.

As it turned out, there were a lot of families and groups of young people spending the night there because of a tennis tournament in the area. The hotel was large enough and well constructed enough that when we were in our room, we couldn't hear a thing. The dining room was a little crowded in the morning, but there was plenty of hot food for everyone.

Breakfast was excellent. There were several meats too choose from, along with potatoes and eggs cooked a couple different ways. There was also an excellent selection of fresh fruits and a cereal bar with a variety of toppings.

We didn't stay long enough to try out the pool, but from what I saw it seemed like a standard hotel pool--maybe a little on the small side. I did get to see the fitness room, which was in good condition.

I don't know that we'll ever pass through Decatur again, but if we do, this is where we'll stop for the night.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    49
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
49
22
8
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I used to live in this little town. When I travel back to stay I have stayed in every available hotel there. Great beds. Good condition. Secure. Staff is great.on my way there now and hope it lives up to my previous visits! Small pool but nicely heated ( indoor) one. I really like this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydayFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

For the second straight year, my wife and I used this hotel for a night's stay as we traveled Interstate 65 south to Florida. The location is a few miles off the interstate and might cause some traveleres to not consider this hotel, but we were usiing Marriott points for this stay and found the number of points required to stay at this Courtyard to be a bargain worthy of the drive.

Cleanliness and freshness is something we look for wherever we stay and this Courtyard compares favorably to anyplace we have ever stayed. The exterior and lobby areas show evidence of good care and hard work by a friendly staff. Prior to our departure the next morning we noticed several instances of cleaning and polishing of the public areas already underway. The results are evident.

Courtyard Inn's do not provide a free breakfast, but this location had an excellent and very modest cost ($6.75) buffet which provided ample choices of good quality items including made-to-order omelots. We enjoyed our breakfasts and ate a little more than we usually would which allowed us to lighten up or even skip lunch. While we arrived too late to need an evening meal, we did notice various restaurant choices in the area. A Logan's Roadhouse is located nearby and an Applebee's, among others, is a few blocks away.

The rooms were nice, the beds comfortable and the wireless internet was easy and quick.

Based on our two stays I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone passing through or visiting this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

My family, 20 month twins and 8 week old, husband and myself stayed here for one night. We got a 2 queen bed room. It was a nice room, though very pricey for one night. The only highlight of it was the breakfast the next morning. I cannot say too much about this place since we were only there for one night. It is conveniently located next to some places to eat, staff was friendly, room was clean. I cannot complain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

It is a good hotel for business travel, elegant clean and meets business travellers requirement. The price is affordable,internet is free though many times they are not disrupted in the rooms and you will have to rush to lobby, Breakfast is sumtuous but there is no restaurant which is very much needed

Room Tip: ask for suits in the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We came from Florence for our anniversary what a mistake! The room was smaller than any hotel room I've stayed in before. There was no microwave, refridgerator, or pillow top mattress. The people though being very nice acted like they no idea where my room was. They sent me in an entirely different direction. Extra pillows we requested ended up being one. Then I payed 6.55 for cold eggs, bacon, and hashbrowns. Where were the biscuits and gravy. I tried to wait for someone to make an egg but they were to busy playing in the back. I know this because they kept looking at me while they did this. They finely brought out coffee but set it down on the table but never offered to pour it. My wife thought it was water umtil she noticed people getting up and getting containers from other tables( not their own) and pouring from them. It was quiet that night in our room. The next morning I cut our trip at this MARRIOTT HOTEL and went to a cheaper but bigger and better eqipped hotel. The people at the front desk were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coogler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Arrived after a 5 hour trip. Just a pit stop on the way to FL. My son slept in the king sized bed between my husband and me. 15 minutes after we turned off the light, he vomited in the bed. We stripped the bed and called the front desk to ask for clean linens where I was told clean linens were on the way. After an hour of waiting, we all fell asleep again. Luckily, my son did not vomit again on the naked mattress. At 8 a.m., we were awakened by the alarm clock and no clean sheets had been delivered. I expected better service from a nicer hotel like Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnurse907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#2 of 17 in Decatur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Decatur
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Decatur

Property: Courtyard Decatur
Address: 1209 Courtyard Cir SW, Decatur, AL 35603-2698
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Decatur
#3 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Decatur 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently completed full hotel renovation including all guestrooms and public spaces. Newly Opened Bistro Proudly Serving Starbucks. Breakfast and Dinner and Full Bar Service. The Courtyard is convenient to restaurants, shopping, local attractions and corporate businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Decatur Hotel Decatur
Decatur Courtyard
Decatur Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing