We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary”
Review of Motel 6 Decatur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Decatur
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Decatur
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is the dirtiest motel room I have ever stayed in. The walls are smeared with stains, the edges of the rugs are covered with dust bunnies... and there was a dead bedbug under the telephone receiver.
I normally stay at Motel 6's because of their pet policy, and I am normally quite pleased with them. Not this one!
I liked the no-charge wifi (normally Motel 6s charge extra for wifi), the room was huge, and I liked the fact that the room had a fridge and a microwave (not usual for Motel 6s). But I would've traded all that away for some cleanliness.
Now I'm worried that I'm bringing bedbugs home with me...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 900Jakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the price $35.99 with coupon. I travel for a living and use Motel 6 often especially when traveling with pet. The location is bad meaning it's not close to interstate. This used to be a Days Inn a few years ago and they bulldozed it down and built this Motel 6 from ground up. It's now as bad as the Days Inn evet was. Coffee in the morning; forget it. The doors always remain locked until noon. I killed the biggest roaches I've ever seen. The rooms are outdated and nasty. Very few travelers just local people use this place. Lots of stuff going on here if you know what I mean. I paid for a week and was stuck. Take a mature 51 year old advise and pass this place up.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harryscards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The ONLY good thing about this hotel was the price. I was travelling for business, needed to be economical on lodging, and always knew that Motel 6 was supposed to be a basic, clean place to stay for the night. I had been reading the reviews on this particular one and had some concern, but then there were a couple that had given a glimmer of hope. In addition, this motel is listed on the Motel 6 site as being "refreshed". You could have fooled me.

Immediately on checking in, the girl in the office had an attitude. Apparently I had disturbed her, as she was stretched out on the couch in the lobby on her phone. I got to my room, opened the door, and the first thing that hit was the smell. Not quite sure exactly what the smell was, but it wasn't pleasant. The carpet was filthy & worn, with spots all over, furniture very dated, outlet covers missing. Not a good first impression. 2nd thing I did was pull back the bed spread. It immediately went to the floor, because after seeing the spots on the underside of it, there's no way I was sleeping under it. Surprisingly, the sheets seemed ok,but the pillows were useless.

The walls in this room were filthy, cobwebs along the ceiling, dirty light switch plates, missing bar lock from the door. The bathroom was no better. Mold in the tub, gaps between the wall & the tub surround. I only had a short trip to go in the morning, and after seeing the towels & the condition of the bathroom, opted to skip a shower & use the one towel that was actually clean & spot free to take a sponge bath.

Finally on to TRY & get some sleep. If you like trains, this is the place for you. Between 2 & 3 in the morning, there were at least 3 that came through. Between the trains & the people outside, it wasn't a restful night.

I tried this place based on the chance that some of the latest reviews were accurate. I really have no clue which Motel 6 they stayed at, but the side of the building I was in was horrible. I should have driven to the next exit..

I realize this is a 'value' hotel, however, this is NOT the Motel 6 of the past. I've paid about the same in other places and have had far better quality. I at least expect the place to be clean - especially after it's listed as "refreshed", which to me, means it's been updated to some extent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel was clean and they offered semi truck parking. When we checked in, the young lady at the counter gave us a good price for the night and it was quick check in time.

This hotel is a little dated, but like I stated earlier, it was clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here overnight to get a little shut eye, and a little is all that we got. The price was low.The property could really use some work.It is very run down. There were beds and furniture outside of the rooms as if they were airing out. The sheets had holes in them, carpet had not been vacuumed and it was very noisy next to the interstate. The thing that bothered me most was the parking situation. There was very little room to manuever in the parking lot without running over a curb. The guest services were great when we checked in but the stay was terrible.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trptfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Find another motel. We are currently in this one, and here's what we've noticed so far:

1. Room reeked of urine.

2. Many unsavory folks hanging around, including two women who were dressed rather unusually, shall we say, with 5-inch heels and more perfume than I've worn—total—in my entire life.

3. Bathroom door half off of hinges, can't close.

4. Chain security lock on door, gone.

5. Ice machine broken, went to gas station for ice.

6. And smaller PITA things: TV remote is wrong one for TV, doesn't work; no ashtrays in what's supposed to be a smoking room, piles of tarps & stuff on sidewalks (no work going on, just piles), no tissues, general filth. Window looks like it hasn't been cleaned in years, dirty tissues behind nightstand (was looking for outlet for computer), no lightbulb in lamp over bed, just empty socket (plugged in).

But hey, it's a bed & we're tired of driving and teh Net works fine so far. And teh guy who's been sitting in his car right outside teh door ever since we got her an hr ago actually looked up and said hello when I said, Hey, how you doin'.

Room Tip: The coupon books you pick up at rest stops etc makes it seem like this is right off I-65. It isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at this motel during a trip in November. The price was really what first attracted me as it was about $34 bucks a night and I was traveling on a budget. When I checked in, the woman at the front desk was very friendly and check in was quick. While this is an older motel, it was clean. As might be expected with an older building, there were a few cosmetic flaws. However, there was no smell, no dirt, and no bugs to be found in the room. The beds were comfortable and the linens clean as well. I'm not sure what people expect for $34 a night, but this was fine for the price and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank volfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 19 in Decatur
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#10 of 19 in Decatur
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western River City Hotel
13.5 mi away
Econo Lodge - Madison
Econo Lodge - Madison
#9 of 13 in Madison
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Decatur

Address: 810 6th Ave NE, I-65 at US 72/SR 20, Exit #340, Decatur, AL 35601-2412
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range: £35 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Decatur is conveniently located off Interstate 65 near shopping, dining, and entertainment.. Free Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms, Truck and Bus parking available, and a pet friendly environment at the lowest rate of any chain. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decatur Motel Six
Decatur Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing