We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, filthy, filthy”
Review of Motel 6 Decatur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Decatur
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stopped here with my young son on a cross country trip because they accept dogs, and I had stayed in Motel 6's each night of the trip (3 different locals) and all were nice. The room at this Decatur Motel 6 was filthy! I felt like I was going to catch some disease the whole time I was there. The floors were so nasty I didn't want my dog sleeping on them. The bathroom was so dirty I would not let my son take a bath- I didn't even shower. There were brown smudges on the sheets and one of the towels! I laid out one of our own blankets across the bed to sleep on then left it there so I wouldn't bring the contamination with me. To top it off there were creepy people standing out in the parking lot next door watching us and a crack pipe in the flower bed just outside the door to our room. Never, never stay here! I stay in the Decatur area quite often, but I will NEVER even slow down for this motel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Decatur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Debbie F - We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your recent stay. These issues are certainly not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. Please kindly contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Decatur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

My daughter and I was on a trip to FL and got tired stopped to get some rest. Inside room there was Pot on the dresser with 2 dirty cups went to a second room and the bathroom door had a huge whole in it. Needless to say we asked for a refund and left. Then the manager has the nerve to send me a generic email apologizing never once asking about specific issues.

Room Tip: "Don't stay Here"
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

nobody answered front desk phone on multiple occasions.
ice machine didn't work for duration of stay.
power outlet didn't work.
heavily stained carpet.
creaky bed.
very bad pillows.
door difficult to open and close.
no kleenex.
broken air conditioning units littering hallway.

I travel 100% of my life. I'm not picky or anything. but this place was bad. $50/night with tax for 2 adults and dog.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LonestarMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Decatur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear LonestarMemphis - The cleanliness, service and maintenance conditions you encountered during your recent stay are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience and encourage you to contact our guest relations department to report your experience so we can serve our guests better in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It was cheap, convenient and they take dogs. We just wanted a place to sleep after a long day's drive in pouring rain. We didn't expect much at that price and were not surprised. You could see that an effort had been made to vacuum the ugly, stained and stinky carpet. The sheets reeked of bleach but at least they were washed. The bathroom was clean. All in all a bit on the seedy side but adequate. The real kicker was the crazy woman outside screaming in the middle of the night and talking nonstop at the top of her lungs. I expected the men in white coats any time. After a while someone (owner? manager?) did come and tell her to leave. It took a while for the commotion to cease but it finally did.

Room Tip: Drive on and don't eat at the Shell station next door (they do serve food strangely)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I am the lady that the manager tried to open her door at 3:00am. I am still having bad dreams about this incident . He knew a single woman was registered in that room! What were his intentions? He is one sorry example for a manager!! If I hadn't had the door latched over what would have happened? I don't want to meet my end at the Motel 6 in Decatur,Alabama! Get rid of him! He is a danger! I should have called the Police and lodged a complaint at the very least. Avoid this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 195,508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I was woke up at 3:00AM by a pounding on what I thought was the neighbor's door. Next thing I hear is someone trying to enter my room with a key card. I screamed the man at the door said who is this I gave him my last name and asked who he is Manager he said I need to come to the office and pay for my room I got dressed went and paid Every hotel I have ever been they take ur card and charges r made when u check out I LEFT that morning! RUDE RUDE RUDE I reported this incident to Corporate stay as far away from this hotel that U can, unless u want someone trying to enter ur room at 3:00AM!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 195,508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Couldn't believe the state of this room. Had to stay here for one night because of their open pet policy, unfortunately. The walls and rug were filthy, and I found two dead cockroaches on the floor beside the bed. Sprayed myself with bug spray before I went to sleep.
The inside of the microwave hadn't been cleaned in a long time.
This was horrible. I wonder if the health department should be alerted...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 18 in Decatur
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
395 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Decatur
Quality Inn Decatur
#16 of 18 in Decatur
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Decatur

Address: 810 6th Ave NE, I-65 at US 72/SR 20, Exit #340, Decatur, AL 35601-2412
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range: £35 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Decatur is conveniently located off Interstate 65 near shopping, dining, and entertainment.. Free Wi-Fi in all modern guest rooms, Truck and Bus parking available, and a pet friendly environment at the lowest rate of any chain. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decatur Motel Six
Decatur Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing