We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the stench”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the stench”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed on the second floor. The smell in the hallway was bad. The smell in the room was worse. If I wasn't dog tired I would have left. NOT worth the money. I travel with work and there are lots of cleaner motels for a better rate. I will NOT be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at our hotel. I apologize for any unpleasant odor you may have encountered during your stay. We have investigated and believe we have located and corrected the source of the problem. We believe the problem was an isolated issue as it was not noticed or reported in the recent past and the odor was not present in other areas of the hotel.

Your business is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas where we can make improvements to benefit the experience of all guests. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    121
    64
    32
    24
See reviews for
176
71
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Facilities were clean. Pool was big and clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was nice. Well worth the detour off the interstate. The staff made you feel like you were staying at a much higher end hotel. Good price, Great value!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Your testimonial is an example of the best advertising we can get. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to point out how great your experience was at our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope we can accommodate you on you next trip to Decatur.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed one night on recent trip. clean rooms. decent breakfast, staff was helpful. It's a bit off the interstate. plenty of restaurants in the area. only problems we had were noise from people stomping around on floor above (light construction I think) and the shower control only knew how to do 'cold' and 'scalding'! We got room at a discount from travel coupon picked up at rest stop ("Red Guide").

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for completing a review and for the positive comments. We appreciate your business and the candid feedback as it gives us the opportunity to work on areas that need attention and will improve the overall experience of our guests. I hope we can serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Micro-Tel in Decatur is one of the cleanest facilities I have been privileged to stay at and has the most awesome staff to assist any needs. It is convenient to just about everything located in the Decatur area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff and we are very pleased that we met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hotels nice and the staff is super nice but our room smells horrible and our shower rod is broke. Breakfast was good. Would stay again just hope they fix the smelly rooms. Smelt so bad we took our car freshener out of vehicle and hung on our air conditioner. Also we went swimming late and pool was dark I asked front desk lady to turn on pool lights she said there on a timer and went back to talking to her buddy. Well it was 9pm and dark swimming. No pool light came on.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent trip to Decatur Alabama. We're glad you enjoyed you stay and appreciate your business. I apologize for the inconveniences you noted. We've repaired the lose shower rod and determined that the odor issue was caused by a leaking AC unit which we have corrected. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
0.2 mi away
Best Western River City Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#9 of 18 in Decatur
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Decatur
Courtyard Decatur
#6 of 18 in Decatur
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Address: 2226 Beltline Rd SW, Decatur, AL 35601-7001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Decatur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites - Decatur Hotel Decatur
Microtel Decatur
Decatur Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing