We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western River City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Super friendly staff. Neat and updated. Flat screen tv. Free wifi....no password needed. Fridge and microwave and extra sink in room. Convenient to highway and restaurants. Current color scheme. Comfy bed. Free parking and free breakfast. Spacious room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GAhometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We strive to present a quality hotel atmosphere with good service at a great price and I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Half way through my stay, I started to smell cigarette smoke in my room after I would get back from work for the day. The only option I was given was to change my room. This meant moving all my stuff which I had a lot of items since I was staying for 2 weeks. I moved rooms and the room was a little better, but still would smell like smoke when I would return after work. The new room also had a refrigerator that froze all of my refrigerator items which forced me to buy new items.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. The smoke smell issue keeps coming up and it is becoming obvious that we need to do something. For some reason I am confounded about someone deciding to designate the center floor of our three story building as the smoking floor. We will soon be ordering new carpeting and wallpaper for the entire hotel and will then eliminate smoking rooms and become a totally non smoking hotel.

This decision was made primarily due to the comments we have received from guests like yourself. Your satisfaction is important to us and we do use the feedback we receive from our guests to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for customers in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Dont let a chesp price have you thinking its a roach motel all the times. For $79 standard 2 queen bed, the rooms are nice and the saff is excellent. It comes with refrigerator, microwave and flat screen tv. Oh yeah and a free breakfast. What else do you need. Its not one of your luxury hotels, just plain and simple so if you want luxury go elsewhere but ifyou want something simple for a good price then this is for you. Awesome stay. Much love to the awesome staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloydsmith1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

On behalf of the staff at Best Western in Decatur, thank you so much for staying with us, and for the amazing review!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very good hotel with warm breakfast and clean new rooms. The best price I could find, and it was worth it. It is located 5 minutes from all food restaurants and Wallmart. Offers discount on the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Streger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!! We appreciate you sharing your experience, and we hope that when you are back in the area you will come back and see us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We used this motel as a "crash" place for mostly sleeping, after touring several towns and special places in N. AL . But we had two great suppers in Decatur ! This location was in the middle of where we wanted to tour,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We love it that you chose Decatur as your central location while exploring North Alabama!! Thank you for providing us with the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to your return visit to the area!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very nice, quiet place to stay, 8 miles from I-65, on Rt.67 N, but worth the drive! A variety of churches are nearby, within 3 miles, and there are many places to shop and a large variety of restaurants available, including a steakhouse within easy walking distance - a real plus for someone who has spent the day in the car!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so much for submitting a review following your recent stay at our Best Western in Decatur, Alabama. It truly is worth the short drive off I-65 to stay with us, and as you mentioned we are very close to most dining & shopping. It is very convenient after traveling all day to walk next door to Logan's Roadhouse for a nice dinner. We look forward to your return visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The rooms were really nice. It was well worth the money. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs a room in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandee S, Director of Sales at Best Western River City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

On behalf of the entire staff at Best Western in Decatur, Alabama, we sincerely would like to thank you for submitting such a positive review regarding your recent stay at our property. We strive to make sure our guests stays are comfortable and memorable!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#2 of 18 in Decatur
402 reviews
3.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Decatur Ingalls Harbor
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Decatur
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western River City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western River City Hotel

Address: 1305 Front Ave SW, Decatur, AL 35603-2675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
#2 Business Hotel in Decatur
Price Range: £62 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western River City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western River City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Decatur
Decatur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing