We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend if you want a clean place with pet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommend if you want a clean place with pet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have family here and have tried two other hotels in the area, but this place is by far the best. This is our first time here. We have a king room with a jacuzzi tub and a shower in the bathroom. Very clean room and building. There is even grass for the pet to "go". Need an outside light in the rear though for walking pet at night, so bring a flashlight. Have not had the breakfast yet but heard they have scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and potatoes. The dining area was recently renovated we were told by the desk clerk. Hotel is off U.S. Highway and close to shopping and many restaurants. Staff have been wonderful and exceptionally friendly. Absolutely will stay again.

Room Tip: Convenient, clean, and takes pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiree2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us on your recent Decatur trip. We appreciate your business and the high praise. Our recently improved breakfast offering has been getting great responses from our guests. We hope we can accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    59
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
86
30
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is our choice hotel to stay in while visiting the state of Alabama (Northern Area). They accept pets, the customer service is excellent and informative. We love staying at this hotel. Thanks for another great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shalayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate your business and your positive comments. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel and we hope we can serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville al
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Clean, quiet and safe. Hotel staff works to do everything within reason to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They even started breakfast early because so many of us had to be up and out very early.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernaeiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for the positive review and kind words regarding our staff. Opening our complimentary breakfast buffet early to accommodate our early departing guests was a pleasure not a burden. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontotoc, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Point Mallard Water Park with friends from church. I booked 6 rooms. Everyone was very pleased with the rooms and breakfast was very good. It was a lot better than expected. I would definitely stay here again if I'm back in this area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pat38863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We're glad we exceeded your expectations and pleased that you enjoyed our free full hot breakfast buffet. Our guests often tell us that our breakfast offering is one of the best and a big reason that they keep coming back.

We hope we can serve you again on your next trip to Decatur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good hotel for the money and great bed! The best part is they take pets, too. Breakfast wasn't organized and slow. Staff was extremely helpful and would recommend Best Western anywhere in the US that we have traveled from Montana to Virginia, Wisconsin to Florida.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. I'm glad you were pleased with our hotel and enjoyed your visit. If we can ever be of assistance in the future we'd love to have you back.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

very good value and great service from staff, breakfast was good but typical, furniture arrangement needs to be better in room, evening cookies were great !! good location near resturants and major roads and easy access from the highway. would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Since you mentioned the adjacent restaurants I hope you took advantage of the 10% discount Logan's Steak House offers our guests. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly during my entire stay. They provided maps of the area and suggestions for dining. The breakfast was good and the lobby and breakfast area were always clean and inviting. Room access was from inside, making me feel more secure. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Celeste L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It was wonderful to read your great comments about our hotel and our staff. We appreciate your business and are thankful that you took the time to share your positive experiences by completing a TripAdvisor review.

I hope you come back to see us on your next visit to Decatur as we'd love to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 18 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#8 of 18 in Decatur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN River City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River City Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
Address: 1305 Front Ave., Decatur, AL 35603-2675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Decatur
#2 Business Hotel in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River City Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN River City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Decatur
Decatur Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing