We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cheaha State Park Resort
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Always wanted to go and check out Alabama's highest point. We requested a cabin with screened porch. We didn't get it and it rained the whole time therefore we were stuck in a cold cabin with terrible tv reception and nothing to do. I also can't believe the fire Marshall doesn't bust this place for having only one exit in the cabin. I called to inquire about a refund and they wouldn't call me back. The rules are apparently different for state facilities. It was so foggy we couldn't see anything, maybe the hand in front of our face. I realize the park can't control that but they should tell you what's been going on with the weather and they should give you what you pay for. Total bust!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TideFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We reserved a 4 person cabin with the impression there would be wifi but no tv in the cabin. When we arrived, there was satellite tv but the AT&T mifi unit was not working correctly so no wifi. There was a sign in the store that said phones in the rooms (hotel) did not work and there was no wifi. If you want remote, this is the place to go!

Cabin 10 was the one we got because we were the last to arrive for that type that night. There were 2 queen beds, a dining table with surrounding bench, fireplace, kitchen with microwave, stove, coffee pot and refrigerator as well as a bathroom with tub/shower. There was a grill and firepit outside.

Inside - the mattresses were great but there were only 2 very flat pillows per bed. The kitchen appliances worked well. Kitchen gear is a bit iffy. Seemed like some might have been supplied and some might have been left by previous guests for others to use. There were four bath towel sets that could be exchanged as needed at the camp store for fresh ones.

Outside - it's a bit of a walk downhill from parking to the cabin. Be prepared to carry your stuff a couple hundred feet. There are lights on the pathway as well as a porch light to guide you. Try to arrive before dark or bring a flashlight because some of the pathway lights had not been repaired since the ice storm.

The park - we walked all of the trails inside the park while we were there. The lake trail is truly steep where the others are not quite a strenuous. (All were fun.) The lake trail is supposedly measured at either 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 miles but will seem like longer. The park staff make rounds at the lake area on a regular basis to pick up cabin, hotel and upper campground guests who take the trail down because they are usually tired upon arrival and the route back to where they are staying is about 3 miles on the road. The restrooms at the lake weren't the cleanest we had seen and the playground could use some sprucing up. (they are raising funds for that) The paddle boats at the lake were inexpensive entertainment ($5 for 30 minutes). The naturalist had several programs scheduled for the weekend we were there that our 9 year old enjoyed including a movie under the stars one night. (She is working to get more programs started on a regular basis.)

The restaurant - We ate dessert one night and the breakfast buffet the next day. Food was ok. Service seemed a little slow.

We enjoyed our stay. Everyone we saw was very friendly and had a great attitude. It's a great place to get away from everything.

Room Tip: All of the 4 person cabins seem to be in a good location. The deer walked through daily and the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My cousin booked the lodge for her wedding venue so the entire family stayed in the lodge, chalets and cabins. They would have been ok for a camping event but not really an appropriate place for wedding preparations. Also, I understand that these are out in the woods but they really need to control their ant problem in the kitchens.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

worth seeing its 3 dollars to get in i went and the park was closed but the ranger drove me up to the high point. there is a nice old building there which is beautiful definitely worth going to see I am glad i could cross another state high point off my list its a super easy one

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flinchy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in a pet friendly chalet. Great place, we thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations (except that our bed was NOT comfortable) and the park in general. The staff in the office though really seemed to not care whether we were there or not, went to get help because our gas fireplace was not working and took several minutes to find someone working in the office. The maintenance person who came to fix the problem was very prompt and helpful. Also, I would suggest that if the Alabama Park System is going to sell clothing items in their stores they have some variety in their selections. The weather turned cool and we were all wanting a sweatshirt or at least a long sleeve shirt but they only had one design and the wording was not something I would consider wearing. Must say again, beautiful park and thoroughly enjoyed our chalet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LakeLady8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We read about the park in our AAA magazine, and decided to take a short side trip on our way to the Great Smoky Mountains. We book about 6 months in advance, and were able to reserve a bluff cabin. The cabins were built in the 1930s by the CCC from local granite, and were updated inside in the 90s. They are situated on a bluff looking westward over the forest and valley for glorious views all day long. There is also a fire pit outside, as well as a fireplace inside; wood is $6/bundle, so be warned. Our one-room cabin included an extremely comfortable double bed, two padded chairs, a padded bench at the foot of the bed, and two nightstands with drawers, all in a rustic style. A breakfast bar divides the kitchenette from the bedroom. The kitchenette is closer to an apartment kitchen, with a full-size fridge, Jenn-air range (with oven), microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. Our only complaint is that there is no lid to the toilet and the towels were in constant danger of a dunking in the tiny bathroom. Service was a bit uneven, with most of the staff friendly and helpful, but a few of the younger ones apparently too cool to deal with us old fogies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I were seeking a quiet retreat during the fall foliage season. We had visited Cheaha several times in the last few years but this was our first overnight. The leaves were just beginning to turn (Oct 15-18) and we had a really nice time hiking, relaxing and reading. Cabins 5 and 6 are their deluxe "honeymoon" cabins originally built in the 1940s. The deluxe cabins are attractive and rustic compact one room studio type with small but nicely equipped kitchens and bath with a very nice jacuzzi tub. We usually avoid such jacuzzis on our travels but this one was immaculate. For us, the most important attribute was the attached screened porch which had a swing "loveseat" and a small table and chairs.

We brought firewood with us and the first afternoon built a nice fire in the stone fire pit provided and cooked hamburgers on our own charcoal grill. Sipped wine and enjoyed the company of a mother and baby deer who enjoyed their dinner of fresh leaves nearby.

We hiked the short trails in the state park and drove (turn left outside the gate) a short distance to the Cheaha Trailhead (large parking area) which connects several trails throughout the area. I am getting old and decrepit but still enjoy a few miles of hiking on scenic and easy to moderate trails. We enjoyed the decorative ironwork at the entrance to the trailhead and then walked about 100 yards to a Y and turned left onto Cave Creek Trail. We only hiked for a couple easy miles but it was very rewarding and recommended.

The next morning we woke to a thick fog (cloud) which later turned to rain for most of the day. Perfect for us! We read and played Scrabble on the porch. We brought most of our food so we were pretty self contained.

Funny, but as we read the reviews to Cheaha resort, the good and the bad, we really have to agree with most of them. As some have stated, you have to be flexible as some appliances don't work well, the restaurant service and food varies a great deal, the nice ladies who run the country store and all the phone reservations, etc., are often way too busy, etc. But the staff there are very nice and try to please. I think it really helps to visit Cheaha during mid week in a shoulder or off season time. The natural beauty and views from the vistas are impressive. All the cabins seem nice and have enough adequate solitude as do the larger 2 room chalets which also have ample parking space if you are towing or have more than one vehicle.

This is a five hour drive for us but we will visit Cheaha again and again. It's a gem for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a rustic cabin with a view, not sure but maybe Cabins 1,2,3,4, 16 or a deluxe cabin 5,6 (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delta
13.1 mi away
Hotel Finial
Hotel Finial
#1 of 4 in Anniston
185 reviews
16 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
9.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheaha State Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheaha State Park Resort

Address: 19644 Alabama Highway 281, Park is located on the Talladega Scenic Byway which is part of the Appalachian Highland Scenic Byway, Delta, AL 36258-8702
Region: United States > Alabama > Delta
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Delta
Price Range: £42 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheaha State Park Hotel offers 30 hotel and deluxe rooms, five CCC cabins, and four rustic A-frame chalets. In addition, Cheaha has a historic CCC Group Lodge with 12 bedrooms and a grand hall. Make your plans today to visit our beautiful facilities located on Alabama's highest point. You will be surrounded by breathtaking views, and all the beauty Mother Nature has to offer at Cheaha State Park. We now offer newly renovated pet friendly hotel rooms. Pet charges will apply. Pet friendly rooms must be requested when making your reservation. Limited number available. Handicap & handicap connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing