We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Southern Country Style Cooking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zack's Family Restaurant

Zack's Family Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 223 Restaurants in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dothan AL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Southern Country Style Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the best you can find for true southern cooking. True, it is not for someone a diet. We eat here frequently and everything is delicious. There is a fix price for your meal that includes a meat, three sides, desert, bread and drink. There are always wonderful fresh sliced tomatoes (without extra charge) that are grown nearby. You have a choice of about six meats, six or 8 vegetables and a number of deserts to choose from.
Zack's has won the award for a number of years for Best Family Restaurant as well as Best Country Cooking in our area. The staff work hard and are always very friendly and the owner is always there to speak to everyone and thank them for coming. Usually there is quite a line waiting but it moves quickly and there is always a place to sit when you get to the end. Their hours are 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM Sun-Fri.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_Dinkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    25
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local People, Local Food, Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were directed to this place by a few people. We wanted local and we GOT it 300%. We knew this was the right place when we could not find a parking place during lunch. Served cafeteria style, you seen everyone from suits, to shorts. The food was excellent and plentiful. The staff was responsive and kept our tea glass full. Awsome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food +Good Friends= Good Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Food that Zack's serves is not for people who are watching their figures. It's a good ole country food serving good time place. The buffet allows (3) vegetables and a meat so monitor what you really like to eat and not try something because it's new to your tongue palate.Then add family or good friends and its a perfect outing. The waitresses are also awesome which makes one's dining experience a sheer pleasure and you can't wait to go back for the next absolute pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CeleneJeffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best southern Cooking south of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Driving thru Dothan and tried this place on a Sunday afternoon. How could I describe this awesome food?

Best:
Country fried streak.
Fried chicken
Fried green tomatoes
Okra
Baby butter beans

The cooks must be southern angels!

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
745 reviews
498 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Comfort food at it's finest....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Don't leave this place without an order of fried green tomatoes or the banana pudding!

As another poster said, don't go for the atmosphere - go for quick lunch, down home cooking and GOOD eating. Everything that is not good for you, but tastes so good. I had the fried catfish filets and they were excellent. If it's fried there, it's probably good.

There is a line a mile long at lunch, but worth it. Service is fairly quick and they get your through.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orreo5859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Zack's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing