We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of atmosphere BUT lots of flavor!”
Review of Zakis Mediteranian - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zakis Mediteranian
Restaurant details
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not much of atmosphere BUT lots of flavor!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great traditional food, normal portions, reasonable prices. The Gyros are a bit large but my son didn't mind! I prefer the classic vegetables and couscous. The Lassi and Baklava hit that sweet tooth dead on! The Falafels are a very nice starter!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank petomine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good gyro and baklava!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I have eaten here a few times. The staff has been very curteous, the restaurant clean, and the food very good. If you're idea of Mediterranean food is limited to olives and feta, this may not be the restaurant for you. My only real gripe about Zaki's is the location.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayBeeRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy Gyros at great prices!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

When I'm looking for good food I know Zaki's consistantly delivers. I've eaten here 7-8 times and every time the same level of quality in their food shines through. My go to dish is the lamb gyro with vegetables as a side. And that's something else I LOVE about this place. You can get vegetables as your side! It's a stewed type of potato with yellow squash and carrots. A much needed change from french fries everywhere else! I've tried another dish there that was good, but cannot remember what it was called, but I'm still drawn to the lamb gyro everytime. I'll be making many more trips back to Zaki's for a fresh mediteranian meal that's priced right. Only $6.95 for the lamb gyro with side. You can't hardly eat at a fast food place for that anymore and you're getting better quality food that's way better for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fertiml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort rucker
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Greek Geek”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I love Greek food. This was so-so. It lacked a bit of flavor but the service was great & the manager/owner(?) was very nice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FortRuckerYumyum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Rucker, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

A coworker and I came here to check it. I had the lentil soup and the pasta with shrimp and both were delicious. I think the people that work there are related, they kept to themselves, but they weren't rude. I've returned twice and I can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank drwife8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zakis Mediteranian also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing