We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunt's Steak Seafood and Oyster Bar

Hunt's Steak Seafood and Oyster Bar
Ranked #2 of 223 Restaurants in Dothan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tennessee
Level Contributor
161 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on the way to the beach. The food was excellent. It was clean with good service. The prices were reasonable especially for the oysters which were fresh. The food came promptly, was hot, and tasted great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Myke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    104
    37
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Euharlee, Georgia
2 reviews
“Hunts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Food was very good. We were served with "Good Ole Southern" hospitality. I liked the 12 Oz Rib eye Steak.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What an Unexpected Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We found Hunt’s on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. We dined in the bar. The bar is decorated rather rustic and has a local hangout feel. If you are looking for white table cloths this is not your spot but if you are looking for good food and fresh seafood from the Gulf, give this place a try. We had raw oyster and grilled shrimp. Both were awesome and very reasonably priced. The cocktail sauce was so good that we ask if you could buy it and carry home. Highly recommend this hole in the wall.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Chef Ramsey from "Kitchen Nightmares" would shut this place down forever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Not sure what happen on this visit, but it wasn't good. We were on our way to PCB for Thunder Beach and normally stop here for oysters and beer. In the past it was always good, but not great. We were bragging to a friend of ours how good the food and service was. Boy were we surprised when we sat down and our experience started. First, I noticed the food score was 84. That should of been a red flag! We sat at the oyster bar in the back and were greeted by two guys that could of cared less about working there. They worked at a snails pace the whole time. It was about 3 pm on a Thursday when we were here. So not so busy. We ordered 2 dozen oysters and a couple of beers. They took their sweet time shucking them. When we got our oysters they were very small and not very good. I found out they came from Virginia. Plus, we must of paid for that road trip at a price of 10 dollars a dozen. We asked our Zombie of a server if the Philly was good. He shook his head yes. So we ordered one to split. Our friend just decided the oysters were enough. So we waited and waited for our Philly. Finally the other Zombie behind the counter realized our food had not come out. He went to the kitchen and return with a cold Philly and fry's (did I say they had a 84 food service score). Not only did we have to find a plate, we had to find our silverware. Our Philly looked like a 5 year old cooked and prepared it. It has to rank as one of the worst sandwiches I have ever had. Our roll was dry and the meat was over cooked. I'll share one more thing that I watched while waiting for our check which was hard to get from our Zombie (who had disappeared at that time). They had a little corner kitchen that I guess the Zombies prepare hotdogs. I watched this person (aka. Zombie) grab two hot dog buns and set them inside a microwave with no wax paper or anything to protect them (from whatever could be growing inside there). Then he used tongs that were resting in what appears to be chopped onions that had been sitting out the whole time we were there. He used those tongs to pull the hotdogs out of their hot bath and placed them in the buns that came out of that nasty microwave (IMO has to be nasty). Then he used the same tongs for the onions and return the tongs back to the unrefrigerated onions. Then he served them to a person that was sitting next to us. I was so grossed out at that point. I could only imagine how our food was prepared at this point. We will never ever return to this place again. Beware if you eat here!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank busterbugs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stopped there while we were passing thru to go home. We got there at lunch time and the place was filling up. Me being a diehard oyster fan I ordered a doz raw oysters and a doz baked cajun oysters. The raw oysters was a lil fresh tasting (cause of all the rain we have had here) but the cajun was awsome. Great flavor. The staff was very nice and and prices was very good. I recommend it to anyone who is in Dothan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt's Steak Seafood and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hunt's Steak Seafood and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing