We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst HI I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Moody, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst HI I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

HIE is usually my hotel of choice but I will not stay with these folks again. I pay cash everywhere I stay but this HIE said that they just have to have a card on file but that I was welcome to pay cash upon check out...I was told my card would not be charged. Well they authorized the card for 10% over the room cost immediately which put a hold of it in my bank (for 5-10 days I'm told). When I approached the manager about this she told me that was there new policy and she could do nothing about it...her attitude was that it was not her problem and did not even attempt to apologize for the check in person lying to me about not charging the card. I don't appreciate being lied to and I will take future business elsewhere. As far as the room it was fine...not quite up to the cleanliness of most of the HIE's I stay at but not bad. Continental breakfast was horrible though...eggs and pancakes tasted like rubber or some type of chemical. Horrible experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    28
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
17
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I found this Holiday Inn Express to be dated and very low on the customer service side. The front desk personnel were not well versed on handling even the simpliest of problems and could not generate a corrected invoice after they fouled it up. to make it worse they advised that they do not have the ability to send a corrected invoice via e-mail, they can onlt do it via FAX, this is 2012 who uses fax machines? I would not recommend this HIexpress location to the serious business traveller who time is important and want a clean bed.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel they're not very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Tommy T,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. However, I thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as these will be addressed accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stopped here, with no reservation. The front desk staff were courteous and quickly sorted out a room for us, giving the options for upgraded rooms etc. We chose a king suite, which was an extra $10 or so. I was concerned to have a room on the ground floor, my previous experience of these rooms is that they are noisy. However the room was fine. Clean, smelled fresh and was quiet! Breakfast was more than adequate the following morning. Overall a good place to stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCALDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Called in here mid journey to the coast, tired after a flight to Atlanta and looking for a nice hotel to stay the night.
Friendly check in staff gave us a great walk in deal after a little negotiation, she was really helpful and pointed us in the direction of the nearest steak house.
Room lovely & clean, beds comfortable and bathroom spotless. Had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was in nice, airy room with staff constantly filling up the buffet - food great, everything you could possibly want and no rush ... nice to sit and relax.
Will definately stay here again would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Negotiate a good deal with the check in staff if you haven't booked. They have discretion over r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writersblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have traveled both professionally and personally a great deal, thus stayed in many hotels. I have never been treated by a manager as I was in this hotel. I was helped by a hotel employee to check into a room. The manager later calls me by phone and tells me that he was a trainee and the price is incorrect. The manager should be at the hotel to assist or honor what the employee quotes. I was in Dothan with a sick family member and needed some sleep, bath, etc. I got so upset, I just checked out and went back to the hospital. The manager was not there to discuss as I checked out about a hour after she calls (disburbs me). It was not the money, but the way I was treated. Is this the way a manager of Holiday inn and a representative of Dothan Al treats out of town people????

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjh8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear bjh8880,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
276 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have driven overnight from South Dakota and couldn't drive any longer, found this Holiday Inn express. We arrived very very late in the evening, got a room upgrade. The rooms were super clean, the hotel was quiet ( I was very tired). The breakfast lady did a great job making sure our food was hot and fresh and well stocked. It is a Holiday Inn and they met all my expectations for a good nights sleep. I would stay here again if in the Dothan Area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devilstowerwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed in Dothan while visiting my son at Ft. Rucker. It's a bit on the far end of Dothan from restaurants and shops which is the down side, but was more than pleased with the room, bed comfort, cleanliness of rooms and hotel in general. The people there were helpful and patient as I was at the office quite a bit with change of plans for our entire party of 3 families. All I can say is not once was I disappointed. Hot breakfast was great, the eating room was very nice with big screen T.V. a couch etc. so I could go down there very early in the morning and watch the news and not wake up my family. The coffee pot is always on there too, 24 hrs.so didn't have to bother making it in the room. The gym, although I didn't get around to using it, (but should have!) had great equipment. This is a new hotel and furnished nice, even a gas fireplace which made a nice backdrop for family pictures. We had a great time in Dothan, a surprise to me! This hotel is approx. 20+ minutes from Ft. Rucker. There are hotels a bit closer in Dothan but I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyWoodinvilleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dothan hotels
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dothan
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dothan
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dothan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dothan
Holiday Inn Dothan
#17 of 27 in Dothan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dothan
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Dothan
Comfort Suites Dothan
#6 of 27 in Dothan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North
Address: 4090 Ross Clark Cir, Dothan, AL 36303-5724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Dothan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Dothan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Dothan, AL near Dothan Regional Airport. Located just six miles from the Dothan Regional Airport, our choice Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North offers comfortable lodging in Dothan, Alabama. Guests of our hotel in Dothan, Alabama are sure to enjoy the convenient access our location provides to nearby Dothan attractions. Known as the 'Peanut Capital of the World,' the city of Dothan has more than 60 peanut sculptures throughout the downtown. Other nearby attractions include the world's smallest city block, the Shute Pecan Company and the famous Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail. The Wiregrass Museum, Dothan Botanical Gardens and G.W. Carver Museum are also nearby. Corporate travelers will find our hotel in Dothan, AL is located just six miles from the Dothan Regional Airport and is right next door to the Dothan Convention Center. Twitchell, Dunbarton, Southeast Alabama Medical Center, Michelin and Troy University are all close to our hotel. We offer high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center for doing business on the road. Unlike other Dothan hotels, our guests can take advantage of the complimentary hot breakfast bar and enjoy the pool and fitness center at our Dothan accommodations. We hope you will consider Holiday Inn Express for your next Dothan vacation or business trip. Make your reservations today for a great Dothan hotel deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dothan North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dothan North
Holiday Inn Dothan
Dothan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing